It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Middlewood Farm Holiday Park, Fylingthorpe

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Sue Thompson on 12th August, 2012

Add your review
Upon arrival this place seemed great. The staff were pleasant and the check in process was quick. Maps were provided and information was clear. But, the campsite was so overcrowded the facilities could not cope with the number of campers. There was NEVER a time when people were queueing for toilets or showers, both morning and evening. Also, it was very expensive for a campsite. Another two shower blocks at least need to be provided to cope with the number of campers that they shove on the their fields!

Date visited: 10 August 2012

Review by J & P Mawdsley on 19th August, 2008

Add your review
Bkd this campsite at the last minute after Pickering folk festival was cancelled after wet weather. Efficient booking system but over priced for basic facilities and overcrowding. Good location - 10mins walk to Robin Hoods Bay and convenient for nice local pub although hard to get a table at busy times.

Date visited: 8th & 9th Aug 08

Review by Richard Stooks on 20th July, 2008

Add your review
The campsite sits in a great location and could be fantastic, but it isn't. The toilet blocks and showers were clean and the washing up facilities almost adequate for the number of campers. The field was level (although a little muddy - it did rain a lot!) Robin Hood's bay is also a lovely spot to visit - great for rock pools and messing about on the beach - as well as having some quaint local pubs that weren't ridiculously expensive. However: We paid 31.50 PER NIGHT (63 for the Friday and Saturday) for the 5 of us in a large tent - double what we usually pay for a weekend. For this we expected a 5 star site with 5 star facilities. Instead we were marshalled to a small spot in the middle of a field already full to the brim and we were crammed in like sardines. No space for the children to play without aggravating the neighbours; very little space to sit and eat breakfast - we had a great view of tents and cars in all directions; probably a fire risk due to the closeness of the tents to each other (our guy ropes overlapped the guy ropes from the tent behind us). The children's play area was in a different field to us and had no equipment suitable for anyone under 5. It was not big enough to support the number of campers. So we couldn't and didn't use it. The noise of people talking went on to at least 3am both nights we were there (including shouted "Just bl***y shut up" exchanges). To say this is not the owners' fault is letting them off the hook. Many campsite owners patrol at "quiet time" and enforce silence (or evict the offenders) as a matter of course. Whilst we would love to go back to Robin Hoods Bay, we will never go to this campsite again.

Date visited: 18 July 2008

Review by pete on 26th August, 2007

Add your review
very expensive. 3 huge pitches totally cram packed with only 5 toilets and 5 showers for all the women. queues of people. sites nothing special. wil not be going back here again. some other lovely campsites nearby. must say though that the toilets were kept very clean.

Date visited: bank holiday weekend 07

Review by David on 5th November, 2006

Add your review
Brilliantly effecient management, clean tidy and quiet site, competively priced, beautiful vans with everything from wine glasses to towel warmers, compared to stays in other well known local sites the vans are luxurious and managed spotlessly, My partner isn't a keen walker but the small easy walk from the park to Robin Hoods bay via a beautifull footpath is easy going and short, the bay taxis will take you from robin hoods bay to whitby for �8. there is a 93 bus every hour to whitby or Scarborough, what more could ou want. Planning to go back for a week next year!

Date visited: 01/11/2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Advertising is the rattling of a stick inside a swill bucket. - George Orwell
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Nechtansmere - 0685, Major Earthquake Damages Canterbury Cathedral - 1382, Treaty of Troyes - 1420, Cooper Floors Ali - 1966, Cutty Sark Ablaze - 2007
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages