It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Millstream, Devizes

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Noel Bonner on 29th September, 2011

Add your review
Excellent lunch. Perfect liver salad, great fish cake and a real treat of fennel flavoured meatballs. Lovely sunny day. Stopped by purely by chance and it was fabulous. We're going to Cornwall soon and will take a detour via this place for lunch. Really impressed. And the Wadsworth Horizon? beer was excellent.

Date visited: 02/09/2011

Review by Alan Murran on 7th March, 2008

Add your review
Well, it seems there are many things to say about this restaurant, all good! As soon as i arrived, it was nice decor, and a fine smell of delicious food in the air, i could have sat there for hours, but alas, no, perfect timing i do say, the starter, which usually i can't eat but my wife Vanessa, wanted a starter, so i though why not, and it was a perfect size, and was if cooked by god himself. It was the mackerel fillet, with the walnut and stilton, devine, and perfectly matched aswell. We chatted for a while, drinking a superb, Medoc, 1924. Very good year. The main course, arrived on time, The best steak i had ever had, in my whole lifetime of restaurant dining. cooked fully to how i like it, Medium rare, superb cut, and juicy, moist, full flavoured and perfectly browned and delicious on the outside. Ive already booked this resteraunt for 4 times in easter, and i know everytime would be as exelent as before.

Date visited: Tuesday 12 February

Review by H Ghent on 2nd March, 2008

Add your review
My mother and I were very disappointed after our visit to the Millstream. We had really high expectations after n earlier visit to the pub for an evening drink. I took my mother to the Millstream to celebrate mothering sunday. The price of the food did not reflect the quality. My mother had 'pork' which consisted 90% of fat, which unfortunately she could not eat. My mother complained and the waitress returned a few minutes later with her meal and her response was ' the pork is from a saddleback pig it is meant to be fatty. We have had no other complaints'. The Millstream is a lovely pub in a beautiful setting but the food is very disappointing and expensive for what it is. My total bill came to 63.00f or two courses each and one soft drink and one glass of wine and a bottle of water. My family and I will not be returning.

Date visited: 2nd march 2008

Review by hilary antrobus on 9th July, 2007

Add your review
This was our second visit; on both occasions every dish was both delicious and beautifully presented. We were greeted warmly by very friendly staff and felt extremely comfortable in the spacious dining room. However, we felt the owners had not quite yet "got their act together". Lovely food and a beautiful setting doesn't compensate for the excessively long wait to be served. Nor should any restaurant in 2007 fail to provide a full range of truly vegetarian meals - true veggies don't eat fish, which means there was only one option on the whole menu. There were plenty of staff waiting at tables - but are there enough in the kitchen? We're not giving up yet - we'll give it one more chance, and I really hope it turns out well.

Date visited: 01.07.07

Review by Richard Ward on 1st July, 2007

Add your review
Visited on spec on the way back from Devizes - advised that Food would take circa 30 mins but shown to comfortable sofa with lovely 6X. Had Sunday Lunch, beef and Lamb, both very tasteful and absolutely spot on. Found the staff very helpful and the standard of service very good. Would go again. Very nice pub/restaurant. The food does take a little time - but then good food does.

Date visited: 1 jul 07

Review by Henry on 16th June, 2007

Add your review
Very disappointing. Everything Lord Howard has said I would echo. We had a very poor meal at this pub. We waited well over an hour between our starter and main course, and the food when it did come was average at best. My steak was overcooked, the 'home cooked fat chips' flabby and tasteless, and the green pepper corn sauce that I paid an extra 2.50 for was like water and pretty tasteless. In the end I complained, and absolutely nothing happened other than a muttered apology from the waitress - no offer to review the bill which was over 100 for two of, no offer of a free drink - nothing. At the table next to ours was a family with two teenage sons - they waited 1.5 hours for their food to come, the youngest child resortrd to reading his book to while away the wait, and was nearly asleep when the food arrived - again no real apology, just a very annoying waiter regularly offering to get more drinks for them - none of which were 'on the house' to try and make up for the disgraceful wait. All of this in a restaurant that had no more than 20 people in it, about half full - goodness knows what would have happened if the place was full? I expect I would still be there now waiting for my overcooked and wildly overpriced steak.

Date visited: 15.06.07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
It is the heart always that sees, before the head can see. - Thomas Carlyle
More Quotes

On this day:
British surrender at Yorktown - 1781, North Sea Oil Discovered - 1970, Black Monday Market Crash - 1987, Guildford Four Verdicts Quashed - 1989
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages