Dawlish

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Dawlish Sands Holiday Park, Dawlish

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Gosden on 10th April, 2013

Add your review
Site generally run down, gold standard caravan was poor in terms of general lack of maintenance. Staff don't seem to care about any customer concerns, just happy to take the money. Just check out the trip advisor reviews before staying here! The Welcome Family caravan park next door is far superior in every way.

Date visited: April 1st 2013

Review by Caravan holiday lover on 26th August, 2012

Add your review
Saturday night arrived. So Gold Caravan = no fixtures, no fittings, no pictures, no net curtains (everyone can see you inside) only the very basic things provided. Not even a quality door mat. Shower tray in bathroom dirty not to mention wall in the bedroom. It's the most basic caravan I have ever seen for this price. Wish we'd read reviews because they all seem to be damning this place. Not happy.

Date visited: Aug 12

Review by andy on 20th August, 2012

Add your review
Don't bother, the camp management don't seem to be bothered once they've got your money. Dirty, worn caravans, poor hygiene standards in the cafe/entertainments area, poor customer care from young inexperienced serving staff and generally substandard facilities on site suggest that very little has been invested in the park

Date visited: August 2012

Review by W Watkins on 10th June, 2012

Add your review
Booked a Gold Plus caravan. What a dissapointment, the matresses are so poor quality, really cheap and nasty. You would be very lucky if you could get a good nights sleep on them. The fridge in our 8 berth was very tiny and half of it was taken over by an icebox which we were told was not suitable for Frozen food? The park its self is very clean and tidy. The menu in the club only offers fried or fast food, no healthy options. The pool closes at 5pm so no one allowed in after 4.30pm, which is not great if you have been out exploring the area. Thw holiday park is really aimed at people who want to drink in thier tiny club, no gym, no evening swim slots. The small shop wasok but the local gerralds store was much cheaper and had lots more to choose from. would not go again, came home on day 4 of a 7 day holiday, missed my lovely comfy bed at home. When you consider you can book a family room at travel lodge for £19 a night and have the luxury of a wonderful bed, these holiday parks really need to sort out what they call Gold Plus.

Date visited: 4/06/2012

Review by Mark & Carol Terry on 8th May, 2011

Add your review
We originally booked into Golden Sands, of which we found the accommodation to be in an absolutely dire and shockingly poor state for our 2 Children and us to stay in. In my opinion the whole lot of the chalets at Golden Sands should be torn down. The staff did not seem to care at all and informed us they had no alternative upgrade path for us. So I begged the details of sister parks. Our first stop was Dawlish Sands. The reception staff and supporting were absolutely fantastic! They did their joint utmost to juggle bookings around to best accommodate us, albeit my needing to upgrade for a nominal sum to a Gold caravan. On opening the door, My advice is upgrade if possible.. It’s worth every penny! The accommodation was spotlessly cleaned, no damp or smell of animals or prior smoking, in great order and tidy. Park facilities and location is really good, the indoor pool was clean and well managed. The park is only a 15 or so minute walk to the beach. Local facilities and shops are great. It turned what started off as a nightmare on arrival into a great week enjoyable and relaxing stay. A Big thank you to the staff who helped us out on the 22nd April 2011!

Date visited: 22nd April 2011

Review by valerie prosser on 3rd May, 2011

Add your review
just come back after 3 nights at Dawlish Sands and had a great time! Caravan was nearly new and spotless. so much room ,lots of cupboards. We had 3 bedrooms and a lovely lounge.(THINK WE HAD AN UPGRADE )Reception staff were so happy and polite and very quick-no messing around .Would go again. Dawlish warren is so lovely-lots for the kids to do and the local shops have everything(and very cheep )Great holiday !!!

Date visited: 29th april

Review by Debbie on 24th April, 2011

Add your review
Arrived and the staff were pleasant and friendly. I had made a last minute booking and had acommodation for a bronze, staying with two children and two dogs. I was disappointed with the caravan and feel that because I have dogs that I am some how required to expect sub-standard acommodation and actually pay more for the privilage. The place was dirty, cushions stained and matresses well past their throwing out dates, really really uncomfortable and if you have already booked then I suggest a sleeping bag and your own pillows. I woke one morning and actually put it on a par with camping, so cold and uncomfortable, never before have i been able to count the springs in a matress, I felt bruised. The place also smelt of stale cigarett smoke. That said the weather was fantastic and so we didnt need to spend too long in the caravan.

Date visited: April 2011

Review by Joshua Beeston on 23rd April, 2011

Add your review
we first came to dawlish sands with bad images in our minds of what it could look like due to reviews, but when got there, we were greeted by lovely staff and shown where our caravan is. we first saw inside the caravan and thought how much it was not what some of the reviews say.. it was clean, no smell or stains... rooms were tidy and overall really good, the swimming pool was lovely.. and food was ok.. entertainment team was great and made our stay allot happyer.. on the downside there is a train track right at the back of the park where ihad stayed, but the train was not very loud, i am a light sleeper and i had a good sleep each night. i do suggest you bring small things due to room but its a great place, hopefully going to come again :).

Date visited: 23/04/2011

Review by d maddren on 8th October, 2010

Add your review
was a bit put off by some bad reviews before our one week visit to dawlish sands,but set off with an open mind.however all our fears were confirmed on opening the caravan door.the smell of damp dogs was overpowering,dog hairs on the carpet and upholstery,dirty douvets on unmade beds,broken windowledge,werent told we had to collect bedding from the camp laundrey etc etc etc. we were shown another caravan which was no better and reluctantly decided to stay where we were after a promise of a thorough clean and repairs.we were told by a rather curt receptionist that we should have known that dogs were wekcome at this park. i replied that had i wanted to stay in a dogs home i would have gone to battersea.on the plus side the entertainment team were tremendous, far too good for this dump.

Date visited: 4th sept 2010

Review by Peter on 5th October, 2010

Add your review
We stayed in a 2 bedroom caravan for four nights, the place seemed quite friendly & family run. The play area was fine, we didnt get round to using the pool, but partner did a recce & said it seemed ok. Clubhouse has late night food available, a bar & pool table, can't really comment much more on this as only went to it on way back to site a bit late at night...hic.. The caravan was clean, a bit worn perhaps. All fittings etc worked, except the knob on the grill kept falling off. Came with a microwave & toaster , a bonus at the cheap price we paid. Main gripe was that it was freezing at night after gone to bed & turned gas fire off. This common to all 'vans & due to low thermal mass, but meant a midnight loo visit was a very cold affair. Then again it was late in the season. The TV had no remote, & reception had run out of them, so had to change channel the old fashioned way. At the seafront the Boathouse pub overlooks the sea, & has pretty night views of Exmouth's lights, and an internal (free) childrens play area that was a real boon to give us a break from a hyper 3 yr old. It serves real beer too. The site is in easy walking distance of the Rail Station, & hence to Dawlish (nice), Teinmouth (nice), Torquay (Very Nice!) & Paington (Bit Chavvy)& Exeter the other way. There is also a flat level & quite spectacular walk into Dawlish from the 'Warren along the coastal railway. We'd happily go again, but a bit ealier in the season, or take a little electric heater with us.

Date visited: Sep/Oct 2010

Review by joyce seers on 17th September, 2010

Add your review
We were only staying for four nighs i am glad because i couldn't have stayed longer.The caravan smelt awful(damp dog smell) we had to get air fresheners!The carpet was stained and dirty and the soft furnishings (including beds) were no better.The cooker had grease all around the top and the cupboards over the cooker was grease laden as well.Some of these reviews state you had bed linen in your caravan although the bads were unmade...you were lucky we ALL had to collect our linen from the laundry room and it was handed to us to take and make up our own beds.The heater didn,t work neither did two of the hobs on the cooker which we tried to use to heat the caravan up because it was freezing.No one around to help after 6pm only one man who you have to call on a mobile no.then to be told he will leave a message for the staff in the morning.Didn't try the pool etc.didn't have any confidence in the hygiene of any of it!!Also have to pay deposit for a remote for the tv..we had two..again they didn't work!!!Sorry Dawlish Sands but NEVER again.

Date visited: 13/9/2010

Review by Adrienne Satterley on 10th September, 2010

Add your review
..Me, my mum and my daughter Carly have just returned from a 4 night stay at Dawlish Sands and we all had a fantastic time! the entertainment team were great with the kids and the adults. the food and drink was reasonably priced with great big portions. ALL the staff we spoke to were VERY helpful and friendly. the caravan was better than i expected and provided everything we needed. the swimming pools were a good place to spend time. A great place for a holiday and a BIG thank you to all at Dawlish Sands for a brilliant time x

Date visited: 6th Sep 2010

Review by Lucy on 21st June, 2010

Add your review
Well what can i say. Our holiday started off not good as we went to another park and we very unhappy. But then we found dawlish sands!! they were very accommodating as we arrived there at very late notice and were able to give us a caravan straight away. And then our holiday started and boy did we have a fantastic time. we were greated by very friendly staff who made us feel welcome as soon as we walked through the door. We were given the key to the caravan to have a look round first to make sure we were happy with the accomadation (which we were). we used all the facilities in the park. Everything was up to scratch. The entertainments team were fantastic they had us all up on the dance floor and knew us by name. They made my 6 year old daughter feel very welcome. The warren is only a short walk away which was nice as i took the dogs there every morning. So all in all we had a fantastic holiday and have already booked for next year. We would highly recomend Dawlish Sands to anyone that wants a fun filled holiday.

Date visited: 13 june

Review by Bubbles on 1st May, 2010

Add your review
On arrival we thought it would be very busy but were surprised to find check in really easy no long queue's of people not busy car park, i said to the lady i expected it to be busy and she repiled we let people have the keys to vans as soon as they are clean so maybe you don't need to wait till 4pm check in if you arrive to Dawlish Warren early it would be worth trying check in you maybe lucky and get your van. On entering our Caravan which was a Gold upgrade we were really surprised at how clean it was and we were lucky to have a 3rd bedroon as it was that was a total godsend note for anyone travelling and thinking you can get a travel cot in the main double bedroom you CANT, we have a 26 month old son and a 10 month old daughter, we had to stack one of the beds ontop of the other in one room to put up travel cot for our daughter which was no problem but if we had not beed lucky to have had the 3rd bedroom this would have been a problem, heating in each bedroom we had a tiny panel heater which to be fair did nothing! yes it heated up but you could not feel any heat in the room as you walked in but once tucked up in bed our children were ok. In the main living area there is a gas heater which works great but little fingers and gas flames!!!! so we only used this once the children had gone to bed we discovered a electric heater in the cupboard so used this while they were up and in the morning also had the gas rings on the hob going in the morings just to get the chill off before the children got up. One thing which bothered me but thats all part and part of a holiday, our van was next to the 2 vans used by staff so at 4am when they return it can be a bit noisy! I would have thought maybe they would know better. The shop is well stocked and the staff very friendly, i used the laundrette which was £3 for a wash and it cost about £3 to dry a full wash load saved me a job when we got home. Top chip shop was off site just a 5 min walk towards the beach on the right hand side not the one on the left which is really naff. There is a pub in the Warren massive can't miss it has a wonderful little soft play area upstairs and wonderful views over Lyme bay, just one draw back the play area was not as clean as i would have liked and my husband said oh bet we have a bug coming!! how right was he our son was first then went through the family as we got home so lasting memory of this holiday was the tummy bug we all had on the plus side i lost the weight i would have gained!! All in all a nice holiday and we would go again. Hope my review has been helpful to you.

Date visited: 19th -23rd April

Review by mrs j perry on 19th April, 2010

Add your review
This was our 1st visit to dawlish sands, the caravan site is not very big (we are used to going to haven sites) but we think it was ideal for a good friendly and more personal holiday. The entertainment staff were fantastic, with children and adults alike. We were a bit worried about the caravans after reading some other reviews, but what a load of rubbish....the caravans are well placed and were very clean. the site is in an ideal place just a 5min walk from the promanade with childrens rides and donkeys and a lovely beach with the boat house family friendly pub restaurant right by beach. I would also recommend the welcome inn pub, it has a great carvery. To have a rest from driving we caught the train from dawlish warren into torquay it was so easy and very cheap. We cant wait to go back to dawlish sands ...

Date visited: 16 /04/10

Review by D Burnitt on 16th April, 2010

Add your review
We have visited Dawlish several times over the years staying at various caravan sites. This sites grounds were clean and tidy, the childrens park and pool were well maintained and we had a concrete car port to park on. However we were dissapointed with a few aspects of our stay here. The caravan carpets were stained, the curtains did not fit the rails,width way and length way.We had no dining room table to eat from. The furnishing cushions and backrests did not match. The beds were all spotless and linen clean, very cold at night, just one fire in caravan.On our second night we went to the diner in clubhouse complex for our meal, which we ordered at 6.30pm, at 7pm we had not recieved our food - thought oh well they must be busy, at 7.30pm we still had no food asked waitress to be told i have no idea!!!! ten minutes later two meals arrived , followed by one more, leaving my 9 year old waiting. we were told by waiter I will be back with the cheeseburger, 8 mins later my son still had not got his food, we went down to the counter to be ignored by the waiter the cook came out thinking we were complaining again about the lateness of our order, we told her we were one meal short, she had completed our order, but the waiter delivered it to someone else!!!, our son had to wait a further 15 mins for his meal, we were promised free ice cream, never got it. We dont blame the cook, the poor girl was rushed off her feet clearly an understaffed kitchen.On the third day we opened the cupboard to get a saucepan and found our fruit bowl under the sinking catching water from a leak in the sink.... the bowl was full, water filthy obviously been leaking prior to our arrival. We reported it to reception, while we were out the bowl was replaced, but leak was still there !!! We again reported it and maintanence came round and sealed waste pipe. I find this not acceptable just 3 weeks into the new season caravans regardless of what standard should be tip top. The entertainment staff were good. Beautiful prime location for this park. we enjoyed the beach and local area. Sadly will not be returning to Dawlish Sands would not really recommend it.

Date visited: 12/04/2010

Review by mary irish on 7th October, 2009

Add your review
Dawlish Sands Bronze 4plus was old, not overly clean, basically I know we have a dog but felt we were put in very poor accommodation because so... And charged £70 for the fact. The sofas were grubby and in general the caravans are past there best, this may be due to need of scrubbing to clean some of the black parts of the metalwork/walls (dirt) infact I was afraid to touch the dirt by the toilet as it looked like poo splatters, the sink was loose and mastic was put around it to I think try and keep it in place. When booking I was told that the beds would be made up, the linen was in a bag in the living area next to the cots. The booking in time is from 4pm but the reception closes at 6pm, they did have a guy who was on call but I had to wait for him to arrive as we wanted to know if they had any child gates as we were worried about the girls falling out of the caravan doors (and very steep steps). It was put on the list for maintence the next day to see if they could help, but we were never contacted again. They supplied 2 cots, one smelt disgusting of smoke or something, and was put away the other was ok after cleaning, We think it should be pointed out that there is no room in any bedroom to put up the cot, we had to leave it in the living area of the caravan. Also heating is not ideal, one gas fire which our 15 month found the knob falls off (and they dont do fire guards/or bed guards so need to take your own), the first morning we woke we felt frozen, our temp was about 34 deg. and had our 2 1/2 yr old with us. Our 15 month old in the cot temp would not reg just said too cold. The rest of the 2 wks I slept on the grubby sofa with the fire on to be near to our 15 month old and my hubby in bed with 2 1/2 yr old. Reception did give us a electric fire, but it would have been helpful if it were left in the caravan due to the time of yr. The water was turned off for a repair, while my hubby was half way through shaving before his shower, I rang reception, to be told it was not a emergency repair it was supposed to have been done the day before and it was only going to be brief, we waited til gone 11.30 and went out, we were lucky as we had just finished showering my girls (and were lucky we had enough wet wipes to clean my hubbys face off). I suggested to reception to inform people on site when they are going to turn off the water... A sign out side of reception on a big board or even a note stuck to the caravan door.... There was a microwave, but in your brocher it said there would not be, so we arranged to take our own to heat our kids food. And it would have been helpful to have been told we would be so near the railway track. But you do get used to hearing them at nearly 1am. I would not recommend the site to anyone, a couple of the cleaners I would have sacked, I watched them go into a caravan look around put the linen outside sit down and eat crisps, little sign on cleaning, that is not all of them as I did see a some working hard cleaning windows hoovering etc. Ok the caravan may have been left clean by people who had left, but surely they could have got rid of mildue around shower or put their time into a caravan that needed it. OK when asked they will prob say they were on a break. We did not use the pool or club house so looks like we missed the best part. Back to the Welcome Family park next door in 2010...

Date visited: 19/09/09 2wks

Review by J on 2nd October, 2009

Add your review
Believe me there are chalets at Dawlish Warren. Right on the edge of the site. Dont book one.

Date visited: July 2009

Review by Kelly princes on 30th August, 2009

Add your review
just read the last comment and im a bit confused as me and my family have just returned from dawlish sands holiday park and as far as i could see, there were only caravans on this site, dawlish sands dont hire our chalets? but i do understand were your coming from with the steps they are rather steep and one of ours were broken, on reporting this though they were replaced so we needent grumble. all in all, we had a great time at dawlish sands,ive been before and this year was definatly no dissapiontment,on arrival we were greeted by a bunch of energetic friendly entertainers and a loopy rabbit! we had to wait a long time for our keys and when we got into our caravan the showers werent working. but hands up to the staff they delt with this very well our evenings were spent mostly down in the club house, my children dont usually join in with the games and cheering but toward the end of the week they were straight up on the dance floor during kids time and loopy rabbit show, and we were all out of our seats ..along with the rest of the room cheering people on and singing the ymca on our last night! the entertainments team were brilliant. always smiling and always managed to create an atmosphere that kept us dancing and cheering all night, personaly im not the type of holiday maker to make noise and clap along but i loved every minute and we will definatly return!

Date visited: aug 08

Review by david newby on 30th August, 2009

Add your review
just returned from dawlish sands.another cracking holiday already booked for 2010.each year we go it seems to get better and we have been going 10 years now.great entertainment team again hats of to them all.very pleasant welcome by the staff on arrival.the beech was clean travelled a lot on the train very reasonable.good luck to the new manager andrew hope he likes dawlish like we do the newby family

Date visited: 15 august 2009

Review by gordon johnson and family on 26th August, 2009

Add your review
During our family holiday at this beautiful 'holiday park' in a Silver Plus 8 berth caravan this is what we delightfully found: Lighting in the main circulation area consisted of many lights all working to a remarkable standard, upgraded anyway 3 days into our stay. Electric kettle had a fantastic power switch. Portable Appliance Testing labels were on every item of electrical equipment including the fantastic kettle so I assume much testing was carried out. Dining table could sit 8 instead of 4. Double mattress thick ,warm and sturdy, springs were completely covered by the luxurious mattress lining as all padding had extra "padding-padding". Bedding sexy and new. Sufficient crockery for 8 people. Seating and carpets were just seats, and carpets. Decor fresh, clean and inspired. Curtains closed fully on all windows. Blind was so adjustable I twisted it round the entire caravan...twice. Shelving trims not missing allowing no bare MDF to show through. Bathroom cupboard door glass completely there. Stools stable resulting in children and adults comfy on them. Shower drainhole clean, and entire bathroom smelled like freshly cut flowers. Gas boiler gave sufficient hot water. Loads of toasters in the caravan, and I love my toast! Waste bin suitable for 20 people not 8 so we never had to empty it! Wad of cash found stuck beneath the food preparation area. Caravan door locks on both doors working correctly giving relief to any paranoid concerns over the operation. In the slim chance of a case of fire in the caravan, would they open? yes! Power points in the childrens bedroom at waist height with blanks fitted to prevent ignorant children poking their grubby fingers or other unwelcome foreign objects in. Handle of the bedroom window didn't come off, the window locked and then opened. Complemented the site manageress and in writing to the main office and was gratefully thanked. The caravan bore exact resemblance to that in the brochure in the main reception, and I would assure anybody to feel confident concerning the brochure and what is actually there. The club house was nicely crowded with the tables and chairs together to create a lovely social atmosphere with lots of oppurtunities to get talking to other campers. For the exeptional price charged we expected a caravan fit for use, clean and in good safe order. We actually received a modern, spotless, classy, high standard caravan with the attitude of "You paid, now take advantage of our generous hospitality!!'. I will take my family to Dawlish Sands Holiday Park again, and again, and again every year until I die, and then my children will dig me up, and take me there for my ungrateful ashes to be spread lovingly into the beautiful sky blue swimming pool, and use any venues run by Park Holidays. I love you Dawlish Sands!!!!! (and the well known optimist, with polite children- John Gordon!) x

Date visited: may 2009

Review by J Davies on 22nd August, 2009

Add your review
. Think chalet must have come out of being "moth balled" just for the summer season. Upon approach to chalet I had a sense of foreboding....windows and front door peeling paint....a general overall shabbiness to the outside of the unit. Upon opening the door a stench of stale tobacco hit me...it was not previous occupant tabacco but many years of staleness. The decore was dated - yellow with paper dado rail....probably from the 80's. The furniture was soiled and had an overall appearance of many years user worn. The kitchen and bathroom...well let me just say I have seen better. The carpet was extremely grubby.....I would not have allowed my dog to lie upon it. My booking may have been last min and bronze....but the whole accomodation was appalling....I could not allow my son or elderly mother to stay there for 7 days. We left within an hour of arriving. The staff did offer us a caravan at their Golden Sands site. We had to pay £30 upgrade to silver as the bronze on offer was as bad as previous. We stayed Saturday and Sunday returning home Monday....my original booking I requested a flat approach - no steps and a quiet location (elderly mother). We thought she may cope with the caravan steps....she could not plus we were 2 rows from club house.....on relection we should have gone home within the hour on the arriving Saturday.....an absolute disaster.......and complete waste of £500.

Date visited: 25th July 2009

Review by chris on 17th August, 2009

Add your review
I absolutely LOVED it at Dawlish Sands, i cant wait to go back next year! The Entertainments team were brilliant, especially the gorgeous Romy! Swimming pool was lush, although packed most of the time! See you all next year!!!!

Date visited: august 2009

Review by Chloe Langdale on 15th August, 2009

Add your review
I Went To Dawlish sands Last Week And It Was Fukin Amazinn !!! Rusty Keith Romey Ben N Jen N Obv Dj Ste Omg Dey Wer Amazing !!! Especially Keith Romey N RUSTYY !! I Wundered Wat Romey N Rustys Real Name Is Coz Its Really Annoyin Me !!!

Date visited: 8th-15th of August 09

Review by Lucy on 18th July, 2009

Add your review
When we got there we were greated by friendly staff. The entertaiment was great thank you Keith , Ben , Rusty , Romey , Jenny and of course Dj Ste :). The swimming pool was a nice size and was very clean althought didnt have showers. The park has a good shop with everything you need also there is a crazy golf course, The beach is a 20 Minute walk but it is very stoney so wouldnt recommend going there. Over all had a great time and would recomnd the park :D

Date visited: 10/07/09

Review by John Gordon on 4th July, 2009

Add your review
During our family holiday at this so called 'holiday park' in a Silver Plus 8 berth caravan this is what we had to put up with: Lighting in the main circulation area consisted of one light only with none of the other working at all, repaired 3 days into our stay. Electric kettle had a defective power switch, relaced on complaining. Portable Appliance Testing labels missing on various items of electrical equipment including the defective kettle so I assume no testing carried out. Dining table could only sit 4 instead of 8,not replaced. Double mattress threadbare,worn and dirty, springs were only covered by the mattress lining as all padding had long disapeared, not replaced on complaining. Bedding dirty and old, notreplaced. Insufficient crockery for 8 people. Seating and carpets dirty,stained,old and dingy. Decor old, dirty and dingy. Curtains did not close fully on any window. Blind would not adjust, broken. Shelving trims had some missing allowing bare MDF to show through. Bathroom cupboard door glass missing. Stools unstable resulting in children and adults overbalancing on them. Shower drainhole blocked, had to clear it myself as no one came on complaining, awful smell then came from the drain. Gas boiler gave insufficient hot water. No toaster in the caravan, issued an old one 3 days later. Waste bin suitable for 2 people but not for 8, constantly overflowing. Wad of chewing gum found stuck beneath the food preparation area, not cleaned. Caravan door locks on both doors not working correctly giving rise to concerns over the operation in case of fire in the caravan, would they open or not? Power points in the childrens bedroom at waist height with no blanks fitted to prevent inquisitive children poking their fingers or other foreign objects in. Handle of the bedroom window came off with the window locked and unable to open. All of these points reported and some dealt with but not satisfactorily. Complained to the site manageress and in writing to the main office but totally ignored. The caravan bore no resemblance to that in the brochure in the main reception and I would warn anybody to be on their guard concerning the brochure and what is actually there. The club house was very crowded with the tables and chairs just pushed together blocking access to move around the seating area easily and in an emergency would prove difficult to evacuate. For the extortionate price charged we expected a caravan fit for use, clean and in good safe order. We actually received an old, dirty, worn out sub standard caravan with the attitude of 'we have your money now take it or leave it'. I will never take my family to Dawlish Sands Holiday Park again nor use any venues run by Park Holidays.

Date visited: May 2009

Review by amanda on 22nd September, 2008

Add your review
Have to say that my children loved it but for me it was a nightmare, despite an upgrade the caravan smelt of cigareetes , the furniture was old and threadbare , their was insufficent cutlery for the amount of people staying, the swimming pool had somuch chlorine in it that your eyes stung the minute you got in, however my 12 year old son and 5 year old daughter both enjoyed it, the entertainment was fair although you got the feeling that they wasnt very happy and just waiting for the season to end , the clubhouse was so badly planned out that how anybody could sit in it and enjoy theirselves is beyond me,the tables were tightly clamped together and the perimeter of the room had extremly loud slot machines going the whole time, not an experience i want to repeat and would not recommend it!!!!!

Date visited: 1/9/08

Review by Cliff Minors on 20th September, 2008

Add your review
Third visit to the wonderful Dawlish Sands, first for two years. Had totally new entertainment team, which was a worry at first. Thought it would take a strong team to beat the mad Matt Checketts, Rachel, et al. Guess what? Mark, the irrepresible Keith, Sean, Simon, Sam and Aimee were an absolute delight! Already looking forward to going again next year, really hope all the team are back. Caravan was well appointed, and equipped to a great standard. Hats off to you all, see you again next year! From Cliff (The Big Red Dog!) Minors.

Date visited: 13th September 2008

Review by Valerie Ley on 19th September, 2008

Add your review
We have recently returned from this site (we being self, husband, 3 year old daughter and elderly mother) and have nothing but praise for the site and the staff. At almost the end of what must be a long hard season the staff were friendly and professional and the entertainment was suitable for all of us and of a good standard. All the facilities that we made use of were clean and reasonably priced. I'm now waiting for next year's brochure to arrive to book up again and would recommend this site to anyone.

Date visited: Sept 8 - 12 2008

Review by DANE BENNETT-MORRIS on 9th September, 2008

Add your review
nothin but praise for the staff at dawlish sands. when we arrived the caravan was to small from our party, the site manager arranged for us to have a second van (for my wife and leigh (toddler) and my self). fantastic staff. i hope to go back next year (any of the staff that remnembers us will know why we may not get chance). my father-in-law enjoyed this holiday. thanks also to the maintaince lady that gave us the surf boards for the kids, thanks to the club staff. i am missing the place something terrible. i will be back soon.. cheers all at dawlish sands

Date visited: 23 AUGUST 2008

Review by julie on 1st September, 2008

Add your review
having booked a large caravan by the swimmimg pool,and being told i could book in from 12.30pm,i was given a very small caravan at the back of the park and could not check in until 2pm.i also had to be given a second caravan as the so called sofa bed was not appropriate for a couple to sleep on.the second caravan was just as tiny,had less cupboard space and was EVEN FURTHER BACK in the park.by this time my whole party were so tired and cheesed off we just took the keys and got on with it.i will not be going back to this place again and would tell people to avoid it.as a final insult the brochure does not make it clear that the beach is a good 15-20 minute walk away(very stony)and when you have kids takes even longer.overall a crap holiday all round.

Date visited: 23rd august 2008

Review by the newby family on 31st August, 2008

Add your review
we have been going to dawlish sands for 9 years we have just return home to yorkshire and are missing dawlish already.all the staff were brillbut the entertainment team were crackers.my two girls had a brill time hats of to mark;sean(sponge bob)sam;keith;aimee;simon for all the entertainment.booked next years holiday the park was clean and tidy carvan was good.hope the team are next year

Date visited: 16 august-30august2008

Review by Anon. on 30th August, 2008

Add your review
Booked holiday through internet and did not recieve welcome pack or any information regarding check-in. Upon arrival we were expecting to be in our caravan (paid for monday-friday) by 12 o'clock; we were not in until after three o'clock. The kids club was appalling; we were handed crayons and paper while the entertainers sat in their office. All caravans were smoking units (which we were not informed of)this meant our caravan smelt strongly of smoke, which is NOT suitable for three children under three. The caravan was booked for eight people and there was inadequate cutlery and crockery and despite requests for more, we received nothing. Within moments of entering the caravan, the bathroom light blew which also took out many other lights with it. Entertaiment staff were unenthusiastic, impatient and clearly had no experience interacting with children and the only exceptions to this were Mark and Sam. Communal rubbish bins were left to overflow and spill out, much to the delight of local gulls. Signs on the children's play park stated that it would open at 8am but staff did not arrive to open the gate until 9am and there was a lack of recreational space for children to play in. Insufficient parking spaces for guests. And our car, which was parked outside our caravan was 'keyed' over night. We will not return to this park and would advise others to steer clear. However, the location of the site was very good in terms of proximity to Devon's attractions.

Date visited: August '08

Review by kool bean on 28th March, 2008

Add your review
I Loved This Place. It Was Fantasic. I Loved All The Entertainers Espesh Sam Amy And KEITHH!! didnt wana leave. mazin place.

Date visited: 28 march 2008

Review by brad on 30th November, 2007

Add your review
the park was gr8 the swimming pool was nice arcade and go carts bout 5mins walk easier 2get 2 on train frm birmingham u get a train 2exeter st davids then 2dawlish warren park is 2mins frm train station friendly staff tilly gud friend of steve and andy the entertainment was the best especially steve stevens saw him loads i am now a gr8friend of his now and keepin contact with him now trulyexcellent he preforms there every year his websites www.stevestevens.co.uk and his other website is www.chucklechimp.com

Date visited: 3july to 18july

Review by anonymous on 29th August, 2007

Add your review
What on earth has happened to this holiday park?? I visited five times last year and it was fantastic! The current entertainments team has all changed completely and they appear inexperienced and disinterested and that is NOT what guests expect on a holiday park. For instance they tried to encourage guests to get up and party in the clubroom....and yet left all the lights on?!?! They really haven't got a clue. Whatever happened to last years great talents of Matthew Checketts and Jenni Cartwright....who entertained for all they were worth 24 hours a day! No matter what they were never off duty and they clearly loved it! Without commitment from the entertainments team, its never going to work as well as it did in 2006. Sorry but this park has seriously gone downhill, and what a shame.

Date visited: August bank holiday 2007

Review by pamela healey on 25th August, 2007

Add your review
we had 2 caravans, they were smelly and the furniture was worn. the pool was the only good thing about it, the club was busy and caotic. we will not be returning.

Date visited: 18/08/2007

Review by Chloe on 15th January, 2007

Add your review
Dawlish Sands Rocks!

Review by tina and gang on 24th September, 2006

Add your review
This is the second year on the run and the third visit with another one planned later in the year. Once again absolutely brill. The site is still very well maintained with some improvements ie: the park area. The club is very good and I am glad to say they have refurbished the toilets. The food available in the club is of a very high standard and very reasonably priced unlike alot of places that you eat out in. As for the entertainment I thought last years was excellent and unbeatable, butI can honestly say that the team this year are possibly even better. WELL DONE TEAM 2006. I cant possibly single one person out they were all fab. Cant wait to see them all again in October.

Date visited: august 2006

Review by Rachael on 25th August, 2006

Add your review
Well, we (my family and I) went back to Dawlish Sands this year during the first week of August and the entertainer’s manager said Nathan had been down to say “hello” about five weeks before we arrived – GUTTED, but has now gone back on tour! Anyway enough about Nathan – anyone would think I fancied him! The present holiday entertainers are fab too, a great laugh! All of the staff were great (not just the entertainers), and the park had everything my family wanted. - Indoor and outdoor swimming pools, A* entertainment for both adults and children, an onsite shop, restaurant/takeaway, close to the beach and other tourist attractions, the park was so lovely, clean and peaceful and the caravans were in very good condition! We as a family use to visit Lyme Bay and that was fantastically superb! Unfortunately it was taken over by some other company and there was no more children’s entertainment. So we too, moved on in search of other holiday parks and we hadn’t found anything as good as Lyme Bay until we came across Dawlish Sands and that is where we will return every year like we did when we went to Lyme Bay! I would greatly recommend Dawlish Sands to EVERYONE because it’s a truly amazing experience!

Date visited: 30/7/06 - 6/8/06

Review by Jade on 9th June, 2006

Add your review
I was told that I was going to be staying in a caravan with my parents for my holidays! how uncool but going to Dawlish sands was fantastic!! The caravans were really pleasant to stay in and the staff/workers were all really friendly. The entertainers were absolutely fantastic and each show put on was so much fun to watch especially their version of Grease! My friend Darren and me completly fell in love with Nathan! We both agree that he is a fantastic singer/performer and is obviously very good looking (we are 17 so looks help hehe) Nathan well and truly deserves a music career and he looked awfully like someone that was on the TV show X-Factor (you didn't see very much of him but you heard his audition, think he sang something like 'ive got the music in me') could have been him, i dont know! So basically i'm saying go to Dawlish sands because you will have a great time and get Nathan's autograph so you will have it when he becomes a superstar haha!! Jade xXx

Date visited: 1st July 2005

Anonymous Review on 24th January, 2006

Add your review
this is the best holiday park i have ever been to. the caravans was lovely and clean, the staff was very friendly this is including maintenance staff. the entertainers did a brilliant job especially becky and matt. and also vicki. c u all this year for many times to come

Date visited: many times

Review by Tina and kids on 3rd January, 2006

Add your review
This is the first time we have been to a site like this, we have always been to the larger Haven Parks. I can honestly say that this site was brill. The site and the caravan were both very clean. The indoor swimming pool was lovely and warm. As we had beautiful weather the weeks that we were there the only downside about the pool was that there were not enough sun loungers around the outside pool,but that is a very small moan. The entertaiment staff were excellent and worked very hard. I must mention the exceptional singing talent of Nathan, he so deserves a career in music and not just to sing in a holiday park. We would definately return there again.

Date visited: August and October

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I saw six men kicking and punching the mother-in-law. My neighbour said 'Are you going to help?' I said 'No, six should be enough - Les Dawson
More Quotes

On this day:
Trial of Oscar Wilde begins - 1895, Tussauds Finally Reopens after Fire, - 1928, Guernica Bombed - 1937, Chernobyl - 1986, Death of Jill Dando - 1999
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages