It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Whole Hog, Malmesbury

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Jacky Martin on 21st July, 2008

Add your review
This pub is divided into restaurant and bar. They have a good choice of beer and the wine is OK. It's a pub for ordinary folk and has a good local following. Many like to sit on high stools facing out of the front window and watch the world go by the famous Market Cross and up the High Street (there's plenty to watch in this town!). I've popped in many times and sometimes eaten there at lunchtime and in the evening as it's always reasonably priced. There's no garden but it's central and popular.

Date visited: 18/07/2008

Review by Paul Rispoli on 27th December, 2007

Add your review
We found The Whole Hog by accident looking for somewhere to eat in Malmesbury - and we are very pleased we did! One side of the establishment is a pub/bar the other a restuarant which is very simply furnished, clean and unpretentious. The menu has enough variety to suit everyone and it was clear that the food was home-prepared. Main courses cost about 9 including vegetables and that night they had gilt-head bream for 9.95!! Our main courses were superb - belly of pork and a steak pie. After this, followed an excellent cheeseboard and the best banoffee pie I've ever eaten. They also were serving 'Santa's Revenge' bitter which was just too easy to drink! The bill at 33.00 for the two of us was top value, bearing in mind the perfectly cooked food. Our waitress was efficient, friendly and went to a lot of trouble even though we were not regulars. It was a really good night out and we woudl highly recommend it. The only disappointment for us is that the Whole Hog is a long way from London!

Date visited: 14th December 2007

Review by The bearded wonder on 23rd July, 2007

Add your review
My first experience of the Whole Hog, was as deeply gratifying as all of the subsequent visits have been. I have always been greeted by very nice female staff and very miserable male staff, I find this a combination that works very well as I do not really want to talk to miserable men. The food gets better, the more beer you drink, the beer gets worse, the more cider you drink and the cider is awful!! At least it's not lager though. I feel that i will not be returning to the Whole Hog until Tuesday as I have a flower arranging course starting tonight. The locals are a bunch of social misfits with copious afflictions that mean they would not be accepted at any other establishment, without supervision. This, I love them for and can't stand 'stuck up' holiday makers who think it is their inalienable right to criticise all things that do not meet their own expectations. Long live the miserable barman, oh, and where's yer glass!!!!

Date visited: within last 24 hrs

Review by simon and caroline daye on 1st July, 2007

Add your review
The Whole Hog was recommended to us by some friends. We were on holiday in Malmesbury for six days. The first night we went there was wonderful. A very friendly young girl behind the bar and an efficient and helpful waitress in the restaurant. Two days later: what a change! We called in for lunch; the man behind the bar was rude and obstreperous; the waitresses appeared to be on a different planet and were either sitting about reading magazines or in the bar smoking. Apparently there were two chefs working, but our food (a breakfast and a jacket potato with tuna) took more than 45 minutes to arrive. The breakfast was colder than the tuna.

Date visited: 09/03/07

Review by Brian Connelly on 16th December, 2006

Add your review
This pub is in a wonderful setting in Malmesbury, Wiltshire near to the Abbey and the centre of the market town. However, on my visit, the food was of very poor quality and a number of items advertised were not avaliable. Additionally the bitter was not very good either, it made be wonder when they had last cleaned their lines. On mentioning this to the landlord, but not asking for a refund or anything like that, I was given a very rude reception. As such as a far better alternative I would recommend the Smoking Dog at the other end of the high street.

Date visited: 15/12/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
We cherish our friends not for their ability to amuse us, but for ours to amuse them. - Evelyn Waugh
More Quotes

On this day:
British surrender at Yorktown - 1781, North Sea Oil Discovered - 1970, Black Monday Market Crash - 1987, Guildford Four Verdicts Quashed - 1989
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages