Down

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2018: Starry Starry Night, Look You Dark Skies Tourism

What do the Brecon Beacons, NambiRand Reserve in Namibia, Mont Megantic in Quebec, and Aoraki Mackenzie in New Zealand have in common? At first glance ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Down Inn, Bridgnorth

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Margaret Harman on 7th February, 2015

Add your review
Stayed one night for family christening close by. Sister also stayed and had stayed previously. Lovely rooms and very clean. Great atmosphere and lovely evening meal on the Friday - well patronised by locals. Great value for money with B&B - great breakfast. Will certainly stay again.

Date visited: 23 Jan 2015

Review by John Tapper on 25th January, 2014

Add your review
Put a review on trip advisor and it never appeared so this makes me think that their reviews are fixed and biased Had a terrible cold meal immature chef carving the meat fairly young didn't want to be there, it was like a Sunday food factory! The pub looks tired and is in need of TLC it may have a strong reputation for carveries but I would drive another 15miles and go to the plough in Bewdley. That's a proper carvery for the price, the Downs charge over a tenner! Too expensive for sub standard food, average service and dated decor. Also check your tyres when you drive off their Carpark as the pot holes full of water are not good thankfully I've got a 4x4 sports cars watch out! Please will the proprietor invest in upgrading the facilities for the prices they charge, I'm failing to understand why they are so busy?? Maybe there is little competition in the area

Date visited: 19/01/14

Review by christine hateley on 26th April, 2011

Add your review
It was my 65th Birthday we were very welcomed and had great reception the carvery was excellent and they all sang happy birthday to me very embarassing!!!will definatly be visiting again Thanks

Date visited: 25.04.2011

Review by S & G Cartwright on 5th March, 2011

Add your review
Four of us had a lovely evening at the Down Inn. The carvery was excellent, nice, hot and tasty with plenty of vegetables and meat. Didn't need a starter but did manage to finish the meal with a lovely sweet and a floater coffee

Date visited: 4th March 2011

Review by Lynne and Brian Lewis on 26th October, 2010

Add your review
Cannot believe some of the comments!!?. My husband and myself stayed at the Down Inn for 3 nights.Decor and cleanliness throughout second to none. Could not fault any of the staff. The young waitressing and bar staff were a credit to the establishment, courteous and helpful, way and above their duties. Very good choice of breakfast, well served and presented. Carvery excellent and tasty. The whole feel about the place was of one of homely, warmth and friendliness. The Down Inn is situated in an excellent area for exploring the surrounding tourist routes. Cannot praise this accommodation highly enough. Thank you all for a wonderfull break away.

Date visited: 23rd October.

Review by Richard & Joan Gould on 24th July, 2010

Add your review
Excellent accomodation and welcoming, polite and helpful staff. Facilities in Wet Room excellent for any people with mobility issues. Bar and Restaurant ambience very lively and well patronised. A monumental Breakfast to set you up for the day. Would like to think that we'll pass this way again.

Date visited: 30th June & 1st July 2010

Review by Nigel Ballard on 16th March, 2010

Add your review
Lovely Carvery but the management are rude, very busy pub but the owner needs to sort out the staff if they want my custom again.

Date visited: Mothers Day

Review by MIKE JOHNSON on 5th February, 2010

Add your review
My friend and I visited the Down Inn,after a recommendation from a friend, on a Thursday lunchtime we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff we saw.We were very impressed by the Views we had from our table. The Carvery is probably the best we have had,the meat was cooked perfectly and we were given plenty.The range of Vegatables was excellent, 8 in total I think, and they were all cooked perfectly. All in all I couldn't think of a better place in the area to go for Lunch. We can't recommend the place highly enough!!!

Date visited: 4th February 2010

Review by Jean Radley on 8th December, 2009

Add your review
I had a very warm welcome from the Deputy Manager and, as a lady on her own, did not feel out of place or awkward. The room was superb; clean, warm and comfortable. The cravery was execellent and the local people very sociable. I would certainly recommend anyone to stay here in such a beautiful part of the country.

Date visited: 7th December, 2009

Review by Roger & Louise James on 27th July, 2009

Add your review
We stayed in the excellent accommodation at the Down Inn and can thoroughly recommend it. The food and service were first class and will definatley return if we are looking to stay in the area again. We used this as a base for a canoeing trip on the River Severn,and enjoyed the lovely views of the Shropshire countryside from our room.

Date visited: 24/07/09

Review by R.Garbett on 30th January, 2009

Add your review
we visited the down in a party of 13,everyone was delighted with the place itself and with the excellent food.i recommend everyone goes there to try it.

Date visited: 25/01/09

Review by val davey on 26th December, 2008

Add your review
This is my 4th visit to this fantastic eatery and it just never disappoints. Today I took twelve family members for our annual Boxing Day meal and it was superb. What a choice of meats and veg,and all piping hot too,and the sweets are a treat you have to make room for. The service is second to none,staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Believe me you will not want to miss out on this wonderful family orientated inn. Well done Steve and all your staff . Happy New Year and long may you prosper.

Date visited: 26.12.08

Review by C SKINNER on 25th November, 2008

Add your review
ON BEING A BIG LOVER OF SUNDAY LUNCH I WAS WELL IMPRESSED WITH THE WHOLE PACKAGE. THERE WAS AWARM WELCOMING AND FRIENDLY STAFF APPOINTED A TABLE STRAIGHT AWAY.THE MEAT CAME IN A GENEROUS PORTION WITH A LARGE CHOICE OF VERY TASTY VEG.OF COURSE THE YORKSHIRE PUDS WERE TO DIE FOR. I MANAGED A PUD SO I WENT FOR THE SYRUP SPONGE WITH CUSTARD AND CREAM DELICIOUS........NO DOUBT THE BEST CARVERY EVER

Date visited: SEPT 08

Review by C CURRIE on 11th September, 2008

Add your review
BEST CARVERY EVER. SUCCULANT MEATS WITH A LARGE VARIETY OF YUMMY VEG. THE ROASTERS TO DIE FOR.PROPER OLD FASHIONED SWEETS WITH THE BEST BRULLE EVER TASTED.IT HAS A WARM RELAXED ATMOSPHERE AND FRIENDLY STAFF. NOT TO GO A MISS.

Date visited: MARCH08

Review by richard couchman on 15th February, 2008

Add your review
it must be the best most consistant eat as much as you like carvery ever. The meats and choice of veg is good with real roasted potatoes with crispy edges abd fluffy inside and home made yorkies not to mention the range of gravies. So many so called carverys only give you a set ammount, not so at the Down, congratulations to Steve his wife and their staff for several excellent meals long may it last

Date visited: january 2008

Review by M McQuade on 24th August, 2007

Add your review
The meal was extremely good, the carvery was excellently cooked and with a good variety of vegetables. My only gripe was the greeting by the bar staff,well one in particular, sullen and unwelcoming and as we bid our farewells was returned with a grunt. If it was not for the customers, the owner would not have anyone to cook for, maybe a smile and a warm greeting and an amenable farewell wave, as people leave, (as he is counting the pound notes we have put behind the bar), would go down well with all, and a return visit could be on the cards.

Date visited: 23/8/07

Review by J. Bloore on 6th March, 2007

Add your review
Excellent food, friendly atmosphere. Staff made us very welcome. Very good value for money, ample portions even for a healthy appetite!

Date visited: 06 Mar 2007

Review by Paul Turner on 21st February, 2007

Add your review
This must be the best carvery in Shropshire. We went to a Christmas dance and carvery at the Down and the night was a roaring succes. Well done to the owner, his wife and their staff, ps. What a pleasure to find a genuine family run pub/restaurant these days!

Date visited: Xmas 2006

Review by jo davies on 28th July, 2005

Add your review
Fantastic Carvery do visit!

Date visited: 05/07/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Man is the creature of circumstances. - Robert Owen
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Poitiers - 1356, Great Plague of London at its Height - 1665, 'Lord Haw-Haw' sentenced to death - 1945, First Traffic Wardens in London - 1960, First Glastonbury - 1970, First Episode of Fawlty Towers - 1975, Murder of Carl Bridgewater - 1978, Southall Train Crash - 1997
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages