Royal

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Royal George Hotel, Birdlip

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Cotswold Way walker on 1st October, 2011

Add your review
Can't be relied on, sadly. Our group of walkers on the Cotswold Way had planned our lunch stop at the Royal George and checked the website for opening hours etc. On arrival, some tempting-looking menus were available and our selections were made. But on coming to order our meals, we were told that food was not being served - they had a wedding party and couldn't cope with additional passing trade. Nearest pub would have involved a big diversion on foot and no shop in village, so we had no choice but to carry on for the remaining 8 miles on empty stomachs. These things happen, but an establishment with greater concern for its reputation might have offered some sort of assistance. This one sadly didn't. Walkers beware!!!

Date visited: 30 September 2011

Review by Mr & Mrs Russell on 26th August, 2009

Add your review
Unfortunately my aunt chose Royal George for a meal to celebrate her birthday. The meal was poor - soup cold, hard pastry on pies, scampi hard, soggy creme brulee obviously reheated in microwave, poor quality wine. But the worst thing was the terrible service and after settling the bill we were asked if we wished the meal to be added to our room account! We didn't complain as this would have upset our elderly aunt. Perhaps we should have done but we have now left it too late. We would not recommend the restaurant to our worst enemy. Still may be the usual staff and manager were all on holiday!

Date visited: 17 August 2009

Review by Cook on 16th October, 2008

Add your review
I live in the village and have visited this pub and restaurant many times over the years. Sadly a village pub atmosphere does not exist. Juke box, pool table, sticky bar counter, food not great. Most of the bar staff are young foreign students who don't speak English, and don't know how to welcome regular guests. Very few villagers frequent the place. The place needs a make over. Until then I'll stay at home thanks.

Date visited: 07.07.08

Review by Clive Mackinnon on 7th October, 2008

Add your review
We must say we were very impressed with the Royal George. Friendly staff, great decor and a very well-appointed room. We would strongly recommend this Hotel to all.

Date visited: 5-10-2008

Review by Anonymous on 6th October, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Staff, Food, location. General review: Good value for money, clean and efficient.

Date visited: 2008-10-06

Review by stuart on 30th May, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Excellent facilities,all staff extremeley friendly and helpful.Hotel very clean. Bad Points: Room very basic for price. General review: Our overall stay at the hotel was excellent.Although i considered the rooms to be quite basic for the cost they provided all the facilities we required and were of a high standard of cleanliness. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the place felt quite homely.The bar and resteraunt were very good and the food was of a high standard.

Date visited: 2008-05-30

Review by Anonymous on 23rd November, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: setting: in a pretty village with beautiful walks at hand Bad Points: juke box and pool table General review: Good value for money

Date visited: 2007-11-23

Review by Anonymous on 19th July, 2006

Add your review
were great - it was a pleasure to enjoy a pint in the bar garden after a long drive! Bad Points: The furnishings were OK, not great quality. And the bathroom walls were peeling, the restaurant ceiling was leaking into buckets! General Review: Clean, comfortable rooms in a nice hotel. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was OK, grounds are lovely. It's not a top class hotel, though it isn't priced as one either! So you get value for money. Some hotels in Gloucester itself cost the same/more and are horrible!

Date visited: 2006-07-19

Review by Paul, Blackburn on 2nd June, 2006

Add your review
Bad Points: Cleanliness of room General Review: Staff not overly helpful except the manager I think. Bedroon not spotless.

Date visited: 2006-06-02

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
There is only one religion, though there are a hundred versions of it. - George Bernard Shaw
More Quotes

On this day:
The Bangorian Controversy - 1717, Poll Tax Riots - 1990, Teletubbies First Broadcast - 1997
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages