Villa Holiday Homes with a pool
National Trust
Black

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2014: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Black Horse,

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by nichole83 on 29th August, 2011

Add your review
My friends and I went to the black horse for Sunday Roast and were really surprised with the menu, it had something for all of us. 2 of my friends are veggy and they loved the pasta. and myself and one other had the roasts....they were brilliant!! The plates were full and everything arrived hot.....its too easy to get a roast dinner cold nowadays. The staff were friendly and fast. We had desserts too and loved them. exactly what you want for a sunday dinner....a full hearty meal with a nice sweet to finish. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and would recommend trying it. I will defo go again :)

Date visited: 28/08/2011

Review by Lexie on 28th August, 2011

Add your review
We had just been to the Foxton Locks, but wanted a quieter place to visit and have a family meal. On arriving in the Black Horse, the staff greeted us and were really helpful when arranging a table for six of us, even though we hadn't booked for Sunday dinner. Ordering Sunday dinner, the waitress mentioned that they had ran out of boiled potatoes and recommended the roast potatoes (which turned out to be some of the best I have ever had!) After ordering it took less than 15 minutes for all six of our meals to come out, each piping hot. Considering the Pub was busy and staff were rushed off their feet, they definately delivered! Very polite, very friendly, very, very delicious! Would DEFINATELY recommend this pub to a friend and will most certainly be returning in a week or two!

Date visited: 28/08/2011

Review by Rosie on 28th August, 2011

Add your review
We came across this charming pub whilst driving through Foxton and decided to call in for lunch. We chose the filled baguette which was served with salad and chips. Wow, it really filled a gap - afterwards we took a walk along the tow path by the canal which was easily reached from the gardens. So impressed by our first visit we returned for an evening meal on Friday with our daughter. We all ordered the Thai chicken curry and I must say it was delicious. The staff were very attentive and courteous. This pub is well worth a visit just to take in the glorious views, and with good food and attentive hosts its a gem of a find. Will definitely be going back again.

Date visited: 26.8.11

Review by Anna O on 25th August, 2011

Add your review
We went there for Sunday lunch and were MORE than dissapointed. (arrived 2:00pm) The dish arrived with 3 slices of beef 3 roast potatoes and a yorkshire pudding. The veg arrived in a mini bowl and that was for 2 people it consisted of a sliced up carrot and a parsnip and 2 minute pieces of leek...JUST about enough for one and deffo not for 2 people! and that was it that was the sunday veg! When I began to eat the food the roast potatoes were so hard I could not even get my knife into them, and the one my partner was able to get into was hollow! (overcooded and dried out). We send both meals back and asked for eadable potatoes but when the plate returned we had 1 tiny roast potato each (still hard) and were given and extra yorksire to compensate. So Sunday roast was 3 slices of beef 2 yorkshires and 1 tiny and hard roast potato. When the waiter came over and asked if everything was ok, I said no, not really, I began to tell him what was wrong, but he just turned and walked away...while pulling his underwear out of his backside! - charming. - Granted they are friendly but do not go if you want to eat! In fact I would go as far to say it was the WORST Sunday roast I have ever tasted!

Date visited: 21/08/2011

Review by sophie on 15th August, 2011

Add your review
Really friendly staff. Family run which makes it even more friendly. Beautiful food, the seabass was amazing! They even printed me off their details so that I could tell my friends....which I will most definatley be doing.

Date visited: 11/08/2011

Review by Alex on 20th August, 2010

Add your review
Two members of our party ordered 'Garlic Mushrooms' for starters and were basically presented with insipid mushroom soup - so back went that order. The offering of 'crusty bread' was blatantly from a stale, sliced white loaf. And that was before we even got to the mains..... Two members of our group ordered 'Steak and Ale Pie' which seemed to comprise a bowl of no more than three pieces of meat and about 15 mushrooms with a load of Bisto poured on top. At least the puff pastry was ok although, as a mushroom hater, I most certainly wouldn't have ordered this if I'd known it was basically mushroom pie! The broccoli in the accompanying vegetables had clearly only just seen the water as it was incredibly hard. A truly disappointing meal, with only one main meal being knocked off the bill. The only saving grace was the trad jazz band.

Date visited: 18/08/2010

Review by Simon & Donna on 31st January, 2010

Add your review
I actively encourage visiting the Black Horse pub in Foxton. It has an element of nostalgia in the heart of the building which is hard to find in pubs nowadays and is located in the most beautiful of settings. I find it difficult to find how any person could _not_ feel welcomed by the Landlady Vicky and observing her at work you will see she chats and laughs with all of the customers. The food is spot on and well priced and IPA was top notch. I would recommend this pub to any visitor of Foxton.

Date visited: January 2010

Review by Fiona on 23rd December, 2009

Add your review
Lovely pub - really welcoming atmosphere and lovely staff. landlady was lovely too, made the effort to go round chatting to people etc. great food, wonderful views. can't fault it really.

Date visited: 15th November 2009

Review by Colin Parsons on 15th October, 2009

Add your review
Mediocre food and average beer. Overpriced. The surly landlady doesn't help matters. Shame because the location of this pub is wonderful and the views tremendous.

Date visited: October

Review by Brian Whittick on 14th March, 2009

Add your review
WOW. great pub great staff great food. We enjoyed the whole evening start to finish, the gorgeous vicky met us on arrival she was very friendly and welcoming very much one of the old school of landladies! Sam her husband and land lord of the pub was not far behind pouring us an excellent pint of IPA and a lovely crisp pinot. the menus were terrific and we found that thursdays is there steak night, 2 perfectly cooked rumps and a bottle of house wine for 17.95. There conservatory restuarant is geogeous and i can only imagine the views in the summer time. alex their young waiting philly could not have been more efficient and ensured the view in the restuarant is just as nice at night!! After the meal we had a drink at the bar with the land lord and lady and two of the locals introduced to us as will and turnip! I will say no more than my head thumped for a week afterward perhaps as much to do with the laughter as the 3 "ones for the road" we had. In conclusion we had an excellent night and we will be returning if only to sample the homemade rabbit pie which promises to be excellent which i am assured is caught by Sam on "turnips" farm which encompasses Foxton and which i was assured by "turnip" has not been remunerated for. i still smile thinking about the night. thank you all. Brian

Date visited: 5/ 3/09

Review by suzy frith on 6th January, 2009

Add your review
Vicky and Sam have transformed this pub. It's really welcoming, the food is fantastic-exactly the right pub menu and the service is warm and speedy. It's made a real difference to Foxton-and the chips are handmade! Check out the live band on the last Sunday of every month-excellent covers of 80s classics and current chart hits. The singer has a fantastic voice!

Date visited: many!

Review by gaynor on 8th November, 2008

Add your review
vicky and sam are great ! wednesday night jazz is a must, great band , great crowd best it's been for a long time.

Date visited: every wednesday

Review by jeremy woods-flack on 5th October, 2008

Add your review
the pub has recently changed hands and this is immediatley obvious once you arrive. The gardens are immaculate and worthy of a visit alone. To sayvthey are large is an understatement, there are in fact four separate gardens which back down onto the canal only yards from the famous foxton locks. The food is reasonably priced and the quality is excellent . It is so refreshing to find a good honest English pub with great food, good beersnd a friendly warm welcome from the locals and the landlady and landlord. In summary get down there if you like going out to eat and fancy a wonder by the canal. oh yes the Friday night fish and chips special is worthy of an award in itself something evengirdon ramsey word be hard pressed to swear about! Well done the foxton we will be returning with more friends.

Date visited: 1/10/08

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
My family pride is something inconceivable. I can't help it. I was born sneering. - W S Gilbert
More Quotes

On this day:
Henry II Crowned at Westminster Abbey - 1154, Dickens Publishes 'a Christmas Carol' - 1843, BBC World Service Begins - 1932, Penlee Lifeboat Disaster - 1981
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles