It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

June 2019: The Resorts of North Devon

Devon is the only county in England with two separate coasts, north and south. It is the latter that is perhaps better known and more ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Waggon & Horses, Ware

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Perry Ward on 6th February, 2012

Add your review
Will not be going back. Overpriced menu. beer off. No atmosphere in the place whatsoever. Miserable staff. Overall a terrible experience.

Date visited: 05.02.12

Review by Judy heilpern Brown on 10th June, 2011

Add your review
Very disappointing!! I had booked and confirmed in advance that lobster was on the menu. What was served as Lobster Thermidor was a cold half lobster swamped with a sort of Marie Rose sauce! I have tried to contact them without success only to try to give helpful feedback because last year it could not have been better

Date visited: 10/06/11

Review by liz braithwaite on 12th May, 2010

Add your review
my husband & I visited this pub on monday My husbands meal was fine but I had a "ceasers salad" with chicken. It was a huge dish with just a whole lettice value 75pence choped up with little chicken on top and half a handfull of crutons with ceaser dressing that was it. I dont know how they can justify charging £8 + for this meal I felt like a rabbit when we left & never want to see lettice again and wont be going back.

Date visited: 10 may 2010

Review by Jane Rance on 29th December, 2009

Add your review
Yes the food is good but unfortunately for a country pub dogs are not welcome. They have a great big garden out the back and even a water bowl for dogs but we were told dogs were not welcome.

Date visited: Dec 2009

Review by Andy on 31st July, 2009

Add your review
This is now called Choppys and is superb. If you havent been since it became this then go, great local;y sourced food

Date visited: 25th July 2009

Review by Malcolm A on 8th July, 2009

Add your review
Wonderful food, happy staff, this is a great restaurant! Don't look at any review before Summer 2008 - it has a new manager/owner and the food is Superb. We've been 3 times from Sep onward and we're going again. PLEASE take this off this old review (before 2008) because it's wrong. Try it again and you will amazed!

Date visited: 3 times Sep to Dec 2008

Review by Debbie Wilcox on 4th January, 2009

Add your review
Had a lovely meal today to celebrate my birthday. The new owners have created a varied fish and meat menu and my lobster thermadore was very good. Also there was had a local celebrity from Eastenders in there today so what more could you ask for?

Date visited: 04/01/2009

Review by Annie Brown on 31st December, 2008

Add your review
New management. Inspired new chef.........Move over Ramsay...this one is the future. Fantastic locally sourced meat, fish and shellfish. Don't miss this place the food is to die for!!!

Date visited: 30.12.08

Review by Olivia Tramontano on 19th April, 2008

Add your review
Having had no luck finding somewhere to eat last night, my friend and i decided to try the Wagon and Horses near Van Hagues. With hindsight we should have known it was going to be awful when there was only two other tables in the restaurant and as my friend pulled the chair out it fell apart. We ordered Pizza garlic bread. This tasted over cooked and stale. My friend had sword fish which should have been served with a steak knife cos it was so tough and rock hard! I had a pasta dish, in which the pasta fell apart each time i poked it with a fork cos it was so overcooked. When the scuffy waitress took away our plates, she begrudgingly asked if everything was our reply was that both dishes were a little overcooked, to which her reply was "I only serve the food, I dont cook it". I think that totally sums up the attitude of the staff and it is evident in the food.

Date visited: 19th April 2008

Review by Anon on 6th March, 2007

Add your review
I wish I had read the previous review before I went. Things havenít got better in the last 10 months. 4 of us ate different dishes, all were below average. I had prawns for starters (there were 2 !). The pizza had egg (hard boiled !) on & the spinach leaves were thrown on top. What made it worse was it was a special event & they even charged us for 2 drinks we didnít have (even though we were the only people eating there). It will be Pizza Express next time.

Date visited: 05/03/07

Anonymous Review on 5th May, 2006

Add your review
My mums friend had recommended this place to us and I think she was having a laugh. We arrived and was ignored for about 10 minutes until a scruffy girl wearing jeans came over and got us some drinks. We were then seated in the restaurant and had to ask if we could order about 20 minutes after that, as it was taking so long. 45 minutes after ordering my Dad got his starter and main at the same time while the rest of us had nothing. We asked the waitress where our food was and she said it would be another 10 minutes. 20 minutes later our food arrived and it was DISGUSTING!! Pizza was too doughy, carbonara was off and the other pasta dish was so over cooked and just tasted of wine. We complained to the owner, because we did not eat any of the food, and said that we were not going to pay. She was very rude and ordered us to pay half the bill. On the way out we got chatting to two men. They said that they were not suprised that the food was so horrible! DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE!!!!!!!!!!!

Date visited: 4/5/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Do not try to live forever. You will not succeed. - George Bernard Shaw
More Quotes

On this day:
Oxford University Chartered - 1214, First Municipal Fire Brigade Forms - 1726, 1st Paddleship steamer crosses Atlantic - 1819, Death of William IV - Victoria becomes Queen - 1837
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages