National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

August 2014: Cardigan Bay

Cardigan Bay as a destination would be a tester for a professional explorer. Not in terms of terrain, though the Cambrian Mountains backing much ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Cart & Horses, Kings Langley

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by alan taylor on 5th November, 2011

Add your review
visted the pub for a booked table and to our surprise only two more couples,were having meals.this was 8.30pm. I ordered pork with crackling,and my wife a chicken meal.My pork must have been cooked about 5hrs beforehand it was terrible,my wife said her chicken was burnt underneath.We have been going to this once great pub for some 7 years now and have noticed that things are not the same with the food. There was no point in complaing to the owner Ian because he nowdays is never there,we will go back but will properly stick to the fish and chips surley that safe?

Date visited: 29/10/11

Review by Apsley ladies walking group on 14th November, 2010

Add your review
The Cart and Horses was our lunch stop for our annual Sunday walk and we were not disappointed. We arrived in the rain and stripped off and dried off and were given a very warm welcome. The staff were very helpful and attentive and the food they served us with was delicious and terrific value. The portions were very large with lots and lots of meat but even our vegetarian member enjoyed her meal. The pub may not be 'posh' but it had a very homely, cosy feel and staff who helped to make our day. Thank you very much. We will definately be back and will be recommending you to friends.

Date visited: 14.11.10

Review by mrs J Tack on 6th June, 2010

Add your review
What has happended to the cart & horses restaurant food? Usually in the past I have had a good experience regarding the food which has been very good but last night that all changed.Baring in mind that this was a Saturday, a lot of the menu was not available, there were four of us,two of us ordered thai fish cakes for a starter, when they came they were actually more like potato cakes the fish part was no more than a teaspoon size portion so the only thai bit must of been the chilli sauce! Then three of us ordered beef wellington but they only had two in the kitchen,so I ordered the black and blue steak, the last person in our group ordered the fish platter. The steak when it came was awful, very bloody and sinewy quite inedible my serrated knife couldn't cut it!I ended up with the steak pie but everybody else has finished by then. The staff offered me a free dessert, I chose banana banoffee ice cream but guess what after a while they came back and said they had no bananas!I just had ice cream which was like mr whippy and totally tastless. Whoever is managing this pub now is going to loose so many customers we all noticed that there were lots of empty tables, in the past it was always full, the atmosphere of the pub has completely changed, yes the staff were apologetic but unfortunately I will not be going there again,so many things missing off the menu, meat my dog would have trouble chewing, what a shame now another restauant is off my menu!

Date visited: 05/06/2010

Review by Henry Thomas on 20th October, 2009

Add your review
Having been to Cart & Horses many times since moving to the area 5 years ago. I can honestly say it is the best propper pub grub I have ever tasted. Every year me and a group of 20 of my best friends descend on the C&H for a slap up meal of the highest quality and we have never been dissapointed. I also walk there in the summer and even the salads are good.However for the meat lovers among you... the Lamb on a Sunday is a no brainer.

Date visited: Many many times

Review by LYNNE O on 30th October, 2007

Add your review
We eat here regularly and we have always found the food to be excellent, especially Sunday roasts. The lamb is legendary and now available as a smaller portion which is still very generous. The staff have always been very friendly and attentive. We are looking forward to our annual Xmas meal. Thank you and keep up the good work!!

Date visited: 7TH OCT 2007

Review by John Baxter on 4th September, 2005

Add your review
Pleasant enough pub in beautiful location, ideal for walkers. Ample portions of food, but an excess of petty rules and notices. You can't ask for an extra plate (why not?). The management will run a tab, but not if you sit in the garden. They don't take credit cards or cheques for small orders. And DON'T try and feed scraps to your dog. If you are the sort of person who has a "No Turning" notice at the top of your tiny driveway, this is the pub for you. I found it unfriendly, and won't be going back there.

Date visited: 3rd Sept 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
All men would be tyrants if they could. - Daniel Defoe
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Lostwithiel - 1644, Battle of Dunkeld - 1689
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages