It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of George Inn, Lacock

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by dana on 30th March, 2010

Add your review
The food was absolutely delicious. I couldn't make up my mind about what to order, because the menu was so rich. I have tried even my friends' courses and they were all stunning. The inn looks very picturesque and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely go back again and also recommend everyone to visit. I enjoyed everything at George's Inn!

Date visited: 29.03.2010

Review by Caroline Minns on 3rd January, 2010

Add your review
Pub might be friendly but food was terrible. Boiled mushrooms that tasted tinned for starters and microwaved rack of lamb with sauce that had been so over zapped it had turned to teethpulling toffee.Enjoy a pint and eat elsewhere!

Date visited: 2nd Jan 2010

Review by paul smith on 2nd May, 2009

Add your review
i went to visit the scarecrow trail in the village of lacock i had a wonderful time at the george inn. we were greeted by a david tennent look alike! food was great very busy the service was very quick and the atmosphere rocked! rock on lacock

Date visited: April 2009

Review by Gary on 23rd September, 2008

Add your review
lovley pub and welcoming staff, have been there before and had a great meal on that visit, although went there on the 22nd sept 08, and the food was terrible, i will never eat there again after that the veg nearly broke my teeth and the lamb shank which my father in law had was so tuff we fed it to the dog (which we luckily had with us). so advice from me is to take your dog because there no way on earth the food is fot for humans

Date visited: 22nd september 2008

Review by Becky Newsted on 3rd June, 2008

Add your review
We visited the George Inn for dinner with our Tour group vising England, Scotland, Wales and Cornwall and found the atmosphere wonderful, food wonderful and hosts very very interested in our service, comfort and enjoyment. I would truly recommend the Inn and would love to return again. Thank you for a wonderful experience at your Inn. Becky Newsted Oregon, USA

Date visited: May 2008

Review by Brian Hart on 26th January, 2008

Add your review
We arrived at The George in the middle of a very wet and cold January day. The 'olde worlde' fires were so inviting we decided to stay for a meal. The menu is stocked with typical 'olde english fayre' but the one that stands out for me is the Lamb Shank .....The meat just fell off the bone and with a fab mint gravel it made a special day even though miserable outside. Great staff too.... Brian & Jackie

Date visited: 19th January 2008

Review by John on 14th June, 2007

Add your review
Nice friendly pub,Very disapointed with food i was expecting more than pub food from reading reviews, I would say it's only average. I would not go there to eat again.

Date visited: 08/06/2007

Review by Lisa McGlennon on 15th February, 2007

Add your review
Fantastic pub with great home cooked food. Nothing is too much trouble here and if the chefs can help in any way they will. If you are even luckier you will be waited on by Ang, who has worked at this pub for many years now. Would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a wonderfully rememberable meal.

Review by Helen Weaver on 28th October, 2006

Add your review
Wonderful pub a very warm welcoming atmosphere not many like this anymore, fabulous food my children were well catered for, we would return again and again to this pub ,all I can say is that a trip to Lacock isn't compleat without a visit to The George Inn

Date visited: Wed25th Oct

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Almost all crime is due to the repressed desire for aesthetic expression. - Evelyn Waugh
More Quotes

On this day:
The Houses of Parliament burn down - 1834, Jane Eyre Published - 1847, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe Published - 1950, First Edition of Blue Peter - 1958
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages