It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Flowing Spring, Reading

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Chris Jacobs on 27th January, 2010

Add your review
Hi My name is Chris Jacobs and I am the new Landlord of The Flowing Spring. I took over the pub on the 30th November 2009. There have been some poor reviews of this pub over the last few months prior to me taking over, however it is my intention to overcome the pubs past issues. The new menu is now running in full with a new full time chef. The pub was my local for nearly 20 years and I remember "the good old days". It is my intention to bring the pub back to its former glory. In my opinion this beautiful pub is one of the last 'true pubs' in the area and boasts one of the best beer gardens I know. Honestly put, there are evenings when the pub is quiet, however I have already seen an increase trade, during the two quietest trading months (Jan and Feb) a pub faces. Most of the locals I remember from the past have now returned and the atmosphere in the pub is great. Why not pay a visit and see for yourself. Regards Chris

Date visited: Every Day

Review by Mark on 14th November, 2009

Add your review
We visited the Flowing Spring for Sunday lunch and, I'm sorry to day, were very disappointed. While the staff were friendly, the service was slow and it took 30 minutes for our starter to arrive. More importantly the food was well below average for what we were paying. Most of the food tasted pre-prepared and not fresh. The lowlight of the meal was the 'homemade chocolate cheesecake' - I joke not that this consisted of a McVities Digestive Biscuit with a large blob of whipped cream with bits of chocolate mixed in! I might not be a chef but this is pushing the trade description of cheesecake a long, a long way! We won't be going back in a hurry.

Date visited: October 2009

Review by William on 23rd July, 2009

Add your review
Over-expensive food that doesn't deliver what the menu promised. Price of wine is extortionate - Sorry but I won't be returning.

Date visited: 12/07/2009

Review by Mark Phillips on 27th May, 2008

Add your review
I like this pub as the food is nice and there is plenty of spaces to sit outside in a pleasant garden. However I agree with the earlier review. Why does the service have to be so poor. It was incredibly slow (with only 10 customers or so there) and after 40 mins of waiting I was told my starter wasn't available. Since I didn't want an alternative and I had already paid I was told I would be given the money back. It wasn't until I had finished 60 mins later that I had to go to the bar myself to ask for the money. This was handed over by the girl there (the same one who had promised me a refund) with not a word and a surly look. Was it somehow my fault???? I have been here a number of times and have never noticed the service being good. This is the first time though that I had particualarly poor service. Sort this out and its a winner in summer. A smile and freindly service is inexpensive and staff are plentiful so if your staff can't provide this then replace them immediately.

Date visited: May 8th

Review by Paul Cooke on 4th December, 2006

Add your review
I have been to this pub a few times after reading of their friendly attitude to Bikers and I must say their Sunday roast is wonderful and the pub is well situated with plenty of parking BUT I am so disappointed at the extremely poor customer service shown by the staff/management, if you are not a regular then the response to questions are monosyllabic (if you get any response as they take your money )...Maybe I am being hypercritical but eventually the good food doesn't excuse this level of dire service. Paul

Date visited: 26.11.06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Most people perform well in a crisis - when the spotlight is on them; it's on the Sunday afternoons of this life, when no-one is looking, that the spirit falters. - Alan Bennett
More Quotes

On this day:
Paradise Lost Published - 1667, First Benny Hill TV Show - 1951, Marchioness Disaster - 1989
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages