Hotels in Scunthorpe
The existing house dates from the 16th century and all of the rooms are named after former owners, residents or local dignitaries. The old beams, the sloping floors and sunny rooms speak of many centuries filled with happiness and laughter. The Main House is where the restaurant is situated. The building dates back to 1540 and it has lots of authentic character with original oak beams and sloping floors. It includes four rooms; the Robert Marmiam, the Lord Fitz Hugh, Thomas Westoby and Gilbert de Gant. The Courtyard adjoins the Main House. There are 3 tasteful rooms which have been converted from original old barns; the Burkhill Suite, the Richard de Rivars and the Henry Kirke White. The Dovecote and The Cottage are located 200 yards from the Main House, roughly a 2-minute walk. There are three charming places to stay: the Harlequin, the Columbine and The Cottage. The Dovecote, Harlequin and Columbine have access to kitchen facilities located on the lower floor, with tea and coffee making facilities. Both the Dovecote and the Cottage have access to a private car parking area with lockable gates. Our restaurant is justifiably world-renowned. You will always enjoy discreet and understated service from attentive, knowledgeable staff and a range of superb dishes to satisfy the most discerning palate. Local produce is featured very strongly in our menus. Fresh fish is delivered daily from Grimsby, game in season from local shoots, and vegetables and herbs grown in Winteringham Fields own gardens, plus an abundance of fresh fruit from around the world.
This page viewed on 2,347 occasions since 2nd November 2009