Top Picks:

Hotel Blue Hayes Private Hotel Blue Hayes Private Hotel
B and B Elms B&B Elms B&B
Self-Catering Wooda Farm Park Wooda Farm Park
Inn Cornish Arms Cornish Arms

Cornwall
Villa Holiday Homes with a pool
National Trust
Tinhay

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

October 2014: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Tinhay Mill Guest House & Restaurant, Launceston

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Dave & Chris on 13th October, 2010

Add your review
Having worked away from home for 45 years, both overseas and in the uk, I felt that when working in Plymouth, I needed a place to stay that was more like home than the usual "iffy" places. Once I had discovered Tinhay Mill, I stayed (with colleagues) on several occasions - not once being able to fault anything. I recently retired, and thought that this was the one place I would like to take my wife. Whether on business or pleasure, staying at Tinhay Mill is always a great pleasure. Both the food and the accommodation are of a very high standard and are therefore highly recommended. It was a pleasure to meet with Paul & Margaret again. We will be back!

Date visited: 7th to 12th October 2010

Review by Kevin Thomas on 29th June, 2009

Add your review
A short businees trip and a significant drive from Wales. I had read the reviews on the quality of the establishment and that of the food, so my expectations were raised. I need not have had any concern, the welcome was indeed very friendly as was the remainder of my stay, and the food, the food was fabulous! My only regret was that my stay was so short. Thank you Paul and Margaret for you welcome, attentiveness and delivery!

Date visited: 25th June 2009

Review by Gill & George Powell on 5th August, 2008

Add your review
After hours driving towards St Ives, tired and thirsty in need of a Gin and Tonic, we pulled off the A30. We had no idea what we would find, we were just following the suggested brown signs for accomodation. What a gem! we stopped and enquired as to whether there was room at the inn, and there was. We were immediately offered the required G & T and relaxed in their garden, only about two miles from the A30 butwhat a little haven. We both enjoyed a fabulous Dinner so well cooked by our Host who has in fact written books on the subject, and the Room was delightful. Breakfast the next day was also wonderful, and when it was time to say cheerio, it felt like we were leaving friends of long standing. I wish all B & Bs were this good. Paul and Margaret made us so welcome we will certainly return.

Date visited: 26.7.08

Review by Sheila Brown on 2nd June, 2008

Add your review
We were made very welcome at the Tinhay Mill Guesthouse. The room was very large with a super kingsize bed and plenty of storage for clothes etc. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we were doing a fair bit of sightseeing, leaving early in the morning and returning quite late. However, there was a good choice and tea/coffee was avaiable at any time. Would definitely recommend.

Date visited: 26.-31.5.2008

Review by Andrew Asprey on 2nd June, 2008

Add your review
Tinhay Mill provides very clean and comfortable accommodation and Margaret and Paul are very welcoming. The food is excellent and great value for money. If you can't stay it's worth eating there in the evening, but I'd stay over just for the breakfast itself! Great location for fishing local rivers.

Date visited: 26th May 2008

Review by RH on 26th May, 2008

Add your review
We celebrated my dad's 50th birthday at this fantastic restaurant where nothing was too much trouble. Our mixed party of dietary requirements (meat eaters, vegetarians and one vegetarian who could not eat wheat) were extremely well catered for with a wide range of choices for everyone. The service was outstanding and we felt so well looked after. A really enjoyable evening and recommended highly. Can't comment on the accommodation but if the restaurant is anything to go by then it'll be fantastic!

Date visited: 24/05/2008

Review by Annie & Harvey Barnes on 16th May, 2008

Add your review
We visited the Tinhay Mill Restaurant for a meal and had a wonderful time. I have a condition called coeliac disease which means I require a gluten-free meal. Margaret's home cooking meant that I was able to eat soup in a restaurant for the first time in 30 years and it was accompanied by a bread roll which I was also able to eat. I didn't need to worry about the brandy sauce on the steak and the chocolate pudding and sauce was a gorgeous treat. Nothing was too much trouble and I genuinely believe the owners derive a great deal of pleasure in pleasing their guests. The waitress was lovely too. It's well worth a visit.

Date visited: 15th May 2008

Review by Pearl & ChrisS tacey on 5th May, 2008

Add your review
To keep it short. Accomodation, Food,Service and Hospitality were all excellent. Our room was comfortable, spacious and very well equiped We wished we could have stayed longer and are sure we will return. We would certainly recommend Tinhay Mill to anyone looking for a relaxing stay with a freindly atmosphere.

Date visited: 02/05/2008

Review by Ann and Barry Smith on 20th February, 2008

Add your review
It was a miserable wet weekend in January whilst on a walking holiday with a twisted ankle that we came across Tinhay Mill Guest House. We received the most courteous hospitality, cuisine to die for, and a log fire with the proprietors charming company to warm us body and soul. We cannot recommend this venue highly enough and will make the trip again to have our taste buds excited as soon as we can. PS Hope the huskies didn't run off with you!!

Date visited: January 2008

Review by Stephen Cox on 12th February, 2008

Add your review
The booking was made over the internet, on our arrival we had a warm welcome, the room was spacious and very comfortable. Tea was served in the lounge when we were ready. Breakfast the following morning was exceptional. Overall the hotel was good value for money and I would consider using it again in the future

Date visited: 1st December 2007

Review by Simon Robinson on 1st January, 2008

Add your review
I had this B&B booked on my behalf by company travel department therefore not knowing what to expect. When I arrived Margaret welcomed me with a pot of coffee and home made mince pies in the lovely lounge. The evening meal was superb all freshly cooked and with a delightfull home made ice cream assortment for sweet. Very friendly and homely - would love to stay again if I travel to Launceston area again.

Date visited: 13 December 2007

Review by Miao Yu on 20th December, 2007

Add your review
I had a great time there again. Thank you very much for all your kind helps and services. I feel your love through food and every warm word and smile. Wishing you have a great Christmas and successful New year!!! Love from Miao

Date visited: 15/12/2007

Review by Miao Yu on 25th November, 2007

Add your review
I had a great time at Tinhay Mill. The food is the best food that I have ever had in Britain. The room is clear and nice. The most important thing is that they treat people like their own family. They do care about people by doing the caring things for all the visitors. Thank you very much indeed.

Date visited: 22/11/2007

Review by Mr K. King on 4th November, 2007

Add your review
A warm welcome, excellent accomadation and a breakfast to keep you going all day. Well worth a stay if only to try the superb evening meals, which are second to none. We'll be back for more.

Date visited: 02/11-04/11/2007

Review by Tina & Bob Rouse on 7th October, 2007

Add your review
This was our first visit to Devon, and what a visit it was. Margaret and Paul made us feel as if we had known them all our lives! The accomodation was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. Margarets cooking is beyond belief, and nothing was too much trouble. You should visit this wonderful Guest House yourself. We've already booked again for next year, and can't wait. Thankyou Margaret and Paul!

Date visited: 23rd September 2007

Review by Bob Rouse on 7th October, 2007

Add your review
This was the first visit to Devon for my wife and I, and Margaret and Paul certainly made it a memorable one. We were made to feel like old friends from the moment we arrived. The accomodation was extremely clean and comfortable, and the food sublime. We booked for next year as we left, and forsee this as a regular haunt for some years to come. Thankyou so much for everything!

Date visited: 23rd September 2007

Review by Adrian Williams on 1st October, 2007

Add your review
My wife and I spent 3 nights at this wonderful guest house. Margaret and Paul made us feel welcome and at home. Margaret's cooking is just fantastic and extremely moreish, especially the sticky toffee pudding. Our room was spotlessly clean with a very large comfortable bed. Don't be put off by the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room as Margaret will happily make tea and fresh filter coffee, served with her homemade biscuits or cake - yummy! We will most certainly book again and have already recommended Tinhay to several friends.

Date visited: 25 September 2007

Review by Tina & Bob Rouse on 29th September, 2007

Add your review
This was our first visit to Devon, and what a first visit it was! We discovered the Tinhay Mill Guest House through researching this website, and decided that it looked attractive. That was an understatement! On our arrival we were welcomed by Margaret and Paul, and served our first cream teas of the visit. It was just like meeting old friends. The building, decor and ornaments are full of character. The premises is spotlessly clean. The food was exquisite, and the hosts very, very friendly and obliging. The room was delightful, and the kingsize bed just out of this world. Both Margaret and Paul put there guests before anything else, and you will want for nothing. We were so impressed that we've booked another week next year!! Margaret and Paul, thankyou for a wonderful introduction to Devon!

Date visited: 23rd September 2007

Review by Colin & Pauline Prince on 18th September, 2007

Add your review
The Tinhay Mill Guest House is a wonderful find ! We stayed for 5 nights and were sad to leave.Guests are made to feel very special by the hosts Paul and Margaret who are very friendly and helpful people ; nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are beautifully presented, very comfortable and well maintained. Margaret is a wonderful chef and although we booked to stay B&B we could not resist eating in the restaurant every night of our stay as the food is exceptional, using fresh local produce which is presented by courteous and polite staff. The food and service is certainly 5 star. We would not hesitate to recommend this superb little Guest House to anyone who is visiting the area. We arrived as guests but left feeling more like friends and we certainly hope to visit again in the future.

Date visited: September 2007

Review by Ray & Val Carr on 16th September, 2007

Add your review
A few days in the "Indian" summer visiting old haunts in Devon & Cornwall we hadn't been to since the kids were small. A search on the internet uncovered this fabulous guest house and restaurant.What a find! A really comfortable King sized bed together with everything you need in a bedroom and a breakfast to die for.We were made very welcome by Paul & Margaret Wilson with fresh coffee/tea on request and a well stocked bar. Top all this off with dinner from the cordon bleu menu in the restaurant and you have everything for the perfect retreat.

Date visited: 10th-13th Sep 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm. - Winston Churchill
More Quotes

On this day:
Scilly Naval Disaster 2000 Drown - 1707, First Plastic Surgery in Britain - 1814, Blantyre Mining Disaster - 1877, Crippen convicted at Old Bailey - 1910, George Blake Escapes from Wormwood Scrubs - 1966
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages