Ness

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

February 2019: Islay

The Queen of the Hebrides takes some getting to but the effort is repaid a hundred-fold, and if you are hitting the island in the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Ness House, Teignmouth

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Ann Burnham on 16th December, 2009

Add your review
Beautiful location, which is what you're paying for. We had stopped to eat at the Ness in the past and thought it would be a nice place to stay for the night on our way down to Cornwall. We had booked a room with a sea view, and were given a room at the side of the building, you could get a glimpse of the sea if you went outside to the end of the balcony. The room was a bit shabby and the bathroom tiny, with a cracked toilet seat. We asked for the manager, who did change us to a much nicer room but had a lot to learn about customer relations, with a very defensive attitude. Which was a shame as when we checked out, he took 25% off the bill. In the end we had a nice stay and the breakfast was good. It's just a pity they don't concentrate on the rooms as much as the restaurant, they seem a bit of a sideline.

Date visited: 12/12/09

Review by Dr Graham Oliver on 26th March, 2009

Add your review
This hotel has been a favourite of mine for years, in fact over 20, however it has changed hands and has fallen into the hands of a brewery, we over the last couple of years have seen the standards fall, however we warn any potential customer beware that at the time of my last stay they imposed a levy of 25 per room per night for a sea view, the sea view was not asked for or required, and to be factual it is a view of the estuary. On trying to rectify this charge the litigation was rude and un professional from them to the point that we have taken our trade else ware The food in the restaurant is also losing its appeal, fast, tasteless chain pub food, and served with out a smile or a care. Very very disappointing

Date visited: 28.10.2008

Review by Jason on 18th March, 2009

Add your review
I went for an evening meal, with 3 close friends and were not too sure what to expect, first impressions were very good, as it was a clean but busy place, the meals were expensive at first look, but after seeing the size of the meals were very happy with the Meal. Would definitly recommend the Ham and Chicken pie, excellent dish, the staff were very pleasent. Overall out of 10 I would give a 9.

Date visited: 17/03/2009

Review by Mike on 15th September, 2008

Add your review
Sept 2008. I had a meal at the restaurant, with friends, the food was fine if slightly overpriced, the service however was very poor, we were never asked if we would like to see a desert menu, I believe this was because the kitchen closed at 3pm and the staff appeared to want to leave rather than provide a service. I was considering booking a room and the restaurant for a Saturday evening as it is my wife's birthday soon. Having read the reviews I have changed my mind! If the owners, manager or staff ever bother to read reviews maybe they should put an entry on this site to give their views/opinion and assure potential customers that there will be an improvement.

Date visited: recent

Review by Reed Family on 12th September, 2008

Add your review
Thankyou very much for giving us wonderful time in your beautiful Hotel.We stayed in room 4 the food was excellent the room was lovely the views were fantastic we were made very welcome the staff were very pleasant and helpful especially at Breakfast time the following morning we would certainly recommend you and look forward another time hopefully. Our room was spacious and bathroom clean.

Date visited: 11/09/08

Review by Sarah & Steve Willoughby on 26th August, 2008

Add your review
Stumbled accross the Ness Hotel late on Saturday afternoon after spending most of the day travelling along the coast line from Lym Regis. We had not pre booked but the staff could not do enough to make us feel like welcome guests. Room No 3, 'excellent' facilities and view. Restaurant food 'excellent' and good value for money. We will definately be coming back. Well done to all at the Ness Hotel.

Date visited: Saturday 23rd August 2008

Review by local resident on 9th August, 2008

Add your review
Not the best of evening dining. This was supposed to be a celebratary 65th birthday treat and turned out to be a disappointment. The crayfish cocktail which was served in a stemmed glass,was very poor, had non existing cutlery until 2 waitress came up with a soup spoon with which to eat it Rib eye steak, disappointing. Fish overcooked. Cheese board was very sparse cut in wafer thin slices. The overiding theme seemed to be rocket covering everyones plate. Overall it is over priced for what it delivers. Not to be recommended.

Date visited: 02 August 2008

Review by Ann Hall on 16th May, 2008

Add your review
Too expensive.A meal for 3 with one bottle of wine was over 100.

Date visited: 4 May 2008

Review by Mrs Leadbetter on 18th February, 2008

Add your review
I booked a table for 4 on Saturday 16th February 2008, having visited the restaurant many times during the week and always been very pleased with any meal I have had...so we were all dissapointed with our meals on Saturday! We felt it was poor value for money and of poor quality...having sent my meal back twice I was still very dissapointed...when asked by the waitress is we were enjoying our meals I said no that the food was over cooked and cold and not very much of it apart from handfulls of salad leaves...she appologized and said that the kitchens were very busy...were you therefore overbooked or under staffed...to save anymore dissapoitment to my guests I paid the bill...we were then presented with 3 roses!! I feel that we should have been offered some sort of compensation...and ask that you now consider offering us a replacement meal when your kitchens are not so busy...and able to cook our meals as they should have been...I live in Teignmouth and often have guests througout the year and always hoped I could rely on The Ness as a good place to eat...lets hope you can restore my faith in your restauarant...one very unhappy diner...

Date visited: 16/02/2008

Review by Mr & Mrs K.A. Whitmore on 20th September, 2007

Add your review
The Bar area & Restaurant food very good considering number of people who visit. Accomodation was very poor. Our first room No4 in the main building had tatty furnishings,cobwebs on the wall,the carpet was disgusting and the bathroom a disgrace. The only people we could find the following morning to ask about a change of room were the breakfast waitress and the cleaner, who I must say were most helpful. We were shown Room 12 in the annex.This was slightly larger, but not much better, apart from the lovely views across the garden to Teignmouth. The shower curtain was hanging off and the carpet again was dirty.This room I would say had not been updated since the 70's, unlike the Bar and Restaurant.The general cleanliness was not good. The rooms were not cheap and we were extremly dissapointed. We would not reccommend the accomodation.

Date visited: 2/3/4 th September 2007

Review by jon on 2nd September, 2007

Add your review
stunning location and building. Unfortunately, everything else poor : unusable bath and ludicrously comlicated tv and lights. No light by bed. No broadband. Poor food. Most - not all -staff ok, but appear to have received no training. What a shame. Regrettably seriously over-priced.

Date visited: 20 aug 2007

Review by Mike Smith on 26th June, 2007

Add your review
Just visited the Ness Hotel and stayed for 3 nights, this was for a friends wedding. I cannot fault the hotel, nice rooms, nice food and amazing staff. Will definately be on my "got to go back" list Well done to all the staff for making the weekend so memorable. Mike Smith ( Stoke on Trent)

Date visited: 22nd July 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
God could not be everywhere, and therefore he made mothers. - Rudyard Kipling
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Bramham Moor - 1408, Treaty of Westminster signed - 1674, First Man Utd Match at Old Trafford - 1910, 1st episode of Eastenders - 1985, Cocker's Contempt for Jackson at Brits - 1996
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages