Crown

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Crown Inn, Lewes

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 3rd September, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: relatively clean Bad Points: no soap, basic breakfast, bed was creaking - really poor mattress, appearance hall way poor, General review: I would not stay there again. Misrepresented on website. Not good value. Would not use this website again.

Date visited: 2009-09-03

Review by christine on 11th April, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: pleasant breakfast lady and good full english breakfast.Room was large ,bed was comfortable. Bad Points: Lack of staff and information around,even after ringing bell at reception desk to check out,waited 10mins,still no one came,looked around no one in sight so left key and went! General review: Very tired looking rooms but clean.

Date visited: 2009-04-11

Review by David Abel on 17th January, 2009

Add your review
My wife and I booked the Crown Inn for its location to where we were exhibiting at the Corn Exchange. The property is in major need of a make-over. The entrance, via the bar, with swearing and drunk patrons was not to our liking. The carpets leading through the Inn to the bedroom were dirty. There was a musty smell of stale beer. The bedroom was clean and the bed very comfortable. Temperature was -9 and this place has no central heating. Hot water was cold. Towels are dark in colour - you can't tell whether they are clean or not. The breakfast room was freezing cold. Night time: Lots of noise (footsteps and doors banging) until the early hours. We were awakened by loud footsteps from above the wooden ceiling to our room. Seconds later our bedroom window was being forced open from the outside - this was REALLY frightening. I shouted out and the window slammed down. Telephoned the hotel and got an answer machine. Called 999 and the police arrived within minutes. Fortunately we survived the experience, yet had very little sleep that night!! No refund provided.

Date visited: 10 January 2009

Review by Anonymous on 31st August, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: friendly reception. Good breakfast Bad Points: Too many stairs. Too few staff. Telephone not working. No biscuits with tea/coffee.shower/toilet too small. No instructions on how to work television- no remote control. Used unfresh toiletries. Stayed at an inn in Dorset a month ago and the facilities were far superior at £10 a night cheaper. had to request another set of towels as only one set given. General review: Hardwork!I felt like requesting a refund, but just decided not to stay there again. A pity, as it had much potential, but minimal staff and general unclean and rundown appearance spoilt it. We hd just attended my best friend's funeral and it wasn't a relaxing experince after that.

Date visited: 2008-08-31

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I can always tell when the mother in law's coming to stay; the mice throw themselves on the traps. - Les Dawson
More Quotes

On this day:
Edward II killed at Berkeley Castle - 1327, Battle of Prestonpans - 1745, Tolkien Publishes The Hobbit - 1937, First Old Grey Whistle Test - 1971
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages