Plough

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Plough Inn at Kelmscott, Lechlade

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by L Clifton on 2nd August, 2010

Add your review
Out walking we planned our route to arrive at Plough Kelmscott for lunch. Beautiful setting looked promising. The 3 of us ordered the burger, chips and salad. When they came they were very fat homemade burgers which had blood running out of them and soaking into the bread roll - yuk. When cut open they were only cooked on the very outside surface and literally raw inside. All three meals were sent back and a request for them to be cooked through. The replacement meals were cooked better but very poor taste wise. The salad was just a few limp lettuce leaves and some slices of cucumber. The chips were OK. We had three soft drinks and the meal cost 36 - absolutely appalling and will never go there again. Waitress just said on delivery of 2nd meals that every one likes things different and at no point after (considering there had been problems) did any staff check that we were happy with out replacement meals. Beware!

Date visited: 2.8.10

Review by Tom Marshall on 3rd January, 2010

Add your review
The Plough was a woderful suprise, not just because of the willow tree that has been bolted in place in the dining room, appearing to grow out of the stone cobbles and right across the ceiling (I'm told it has to come down in spring because it starts budding)! While I was expecting typical lunchtime local pub grub, we were served with top quality gastro pub food. The venison wellington contained one of the best cuts of meat I have eaten in a long time, cooked to absoloute perfection. The pastry was divine, although I must give a fair review and say that while the outside of the Pastry was perfect, the very inside of the pastry may not have been quite fully cooked in places but this was only the smallest amount which was easily left to one side and with the flavours of the rest of the meal wasnt worth lingering on. The rost potatoes were cooked in goose fat, as they should be and were golden and fluffy. My company for the day Also enjoyed their meals which ensured that my Beef wellington wasnt a "one off". The dessert of white chocolate bread and butter pudding was scrumptious although after the decent portions of the main course, we had to share this between 4 of us. The beer was very good and food prices were not too expensive for the quality (the majority ranging from 8-15 for a main course) The barman/manager was great company, spending as much time as was needed to make you feel welcome. Best of all the Plough has managed to keep its local small pub feel (the bar is very small!) while delivering high quality restaurant food at an affordable price.

Date visited: December 27th 2009

Review by Paul Winch on 14th September, 2009

Add your review
HI ALL AFTER TWO YEARS I CAN FINALLY DECLARE THE PLOUGH INN AT KELMSCOTT IS FINALLY OPEN FOR FOOD AND DRINKS THE PUB IS OPEN TUESDAY THROUGH TILL SUNDAY FROM 11AM TILL 11PM AND WILL BE OPENING MONDAYS TOO IN THE NEXT WEEK OR SO WITH A VIEW TO OPENING ACCOMODATION THEN SOON MANY THANKS FOR YOUR PATIENCE PAUL

Date visited: 14th sept2009

Review by Jackie Harrison on 11th August, 2009

Add your review
We spoke to the owners on 8th Aug who were hoping to maybe open the pub for drinks on 12th Aug 2009 and then fully open the following weekend.

Date visited: 08th Aug 2009

Review by Jo Whittaker on 2nd September, 2008

Add your review
Have been camping in Kelmscott for some years now and have become increasingly dispondant at my last few visits, when is the pub re-opening? there is no web site and no one ever answers the phone, things look as if they are happening but each time we come it still is not finished. Do we risk the end of September or go elsewhere with a local pub.

Date visited: 27th July 2008

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Honest people don't hide their deeds. - Emily Bronte
More Quotes

On this day:
Sacking of Berwick upon Tweed - 1296, End of the Crimean War - 1856, Airey Neave assasinated - 1979, John Major gets on his Soapbox - 1992, 1st Broadcast of Channel 5 - 1997, Queen Mother Dies - 2002
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages