The

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Boot and Shoe Inn, Newark

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by S. Kirby on 30th June, 2009

Add your review
Had a lovely stay here. really quiet location in a sleepy village 10 mins from Newark town and 1/2 hour from Nottingham. Hosts were wonderful and really made us feel at home. Food great. Would definitely recommend.

Date visited: May 2009

Review by jen morris on 20th April, 2009

Add your review
Lovely quiet village location. Mark & Naomi were fantastic hosts and made us feel at home for our 3 day stay. We asked to check in early (normally 6pm as that is when the pub opens) and were told all guests can check in early by prior arrangement and also have access during the day by arrangement. Food great traditional english fayre and open log fire was a bonus on the chilly evenings.

Date visited: jan 2009

Review by Matthew Johnston on 20th April, 2009

Add your review
Great little pub in tiny rural village, friendly locals, great food, real ales and atmosphere. Would definitely recommend as an alternative to chain hotels/b&bs as service was friendly and personal. Also, fantastic full english breakfast!!

Date visited: march 09

Review by I & S Hymers on 14th August, 2008

Add your review
Nice location but surprisingly for being in a village, noisy road just outside. Could also hear noise from pub below in evening. I feel the owners would be more suited to running just a pub, as we felt as though we were imposing staying in the B & B. Mark seemed a natural behind the bar, however, from the moment we arrived Naomi's unwelcoming attitude made us unwelcome. Food mediocre, bed hard. Also dont forget anything when going out for the day as once your out, your locked out for the day, until 6.00pm. As we were not told this, it spoiled our break, as I have an illness where I need to have a lie down in the afternoon, unfortunately when we arrived back at 3.15pm we could not get in, 3 hours driving around meant my being rather ill next day so we had to cut the visit short and to cap it all we were then charged an additional nights accommodation for having to leave early. Would not stay here again.

Date visited: August 2008

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Who's ever going to write a film in which I get the girl? Me! - John Cleese
More Quotes

On this day:
First True King of England Crowned - 0973, Becket Becomes Archbishop of Canterbury - 1162, Army Seizes Charles I - 1647, Battle of Lowestoft - 1665, Evacuation of Dunkirk ends - 1940
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages