Bowood

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2017: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Bowood House and Gardens, Calne

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mrs Ward on 10th July, 2010

Add your review
It was a wonderful evening. I have never seen so many people in one place drinking alcohol and yet there was no trouble, there were people of all ages from very young to very old. It really is an event for all ages. There was a couple of brass bands - again very young and old. The worzels played and that was really good fun. The people of Cornwall were so very invitig and the ox roast was great. I have to say it was so great my husband and myself have booked our holiday to Cornwal around the ox roast at St. Keverne!! Its a real family day out, young peoples' day out, old peoples' day out...you just cannot go wrong by going. I loved it so much. We made arrangements to meet people there again this year who actually live there!!

Date visited: August 2009

Review by Jeff Edwards on 4th September, 2008

Add your review
We have been attending the ox roast for the last 5 years whilst on holiday - we look forward to it as part of our annual holiday - it was a great pity that the heavy rain this year put a bit of a dampner on proceedings - already looking forward to 2009!!!

Date visited: August 2008

Review by Jackie Bilsland nee Harris on 17th August, 2008

Add your review
This is more of an enquiry than a review, and I hope that you can help settle a question for me. I have always been told that I was born on a Fri (2nd August) 1962, and that it was ox roast day.By chance, I discovered that the 2nd August in 1962 was in fact a Thursday. My mother is definate about it being ox roast day. If you are able to tell me which day and date in August of that year that the ox roast took place, I will know whether I was born on 2nd or 3rd August. I suppose , after 46 years, it`s not really important, but I am curious! Thank you for your time. Yours, Jacqueline Bilsland nee Harris( mother Lois, father Arnold).

Date visited: August 1962 - jaxb0208@yahoo.co.uk

Review by arthur on 21st June, 2008

Add your review
"went a couple of years ago, very enjoyable day. The young lass who played the post horn solo was worth the whole event Had lunch in the local pub, also recommended. Pretty village. Have missed subsequent years as have missed the date being advertised. Date for 2008? The event raises money for the St. Keverne Brass bands, go and listen to them enjoy a nice day out."

Review by georgette James on 2nd June, 2005

Add your review
Fantastic place. I am going back there tomorrow with all my grand children - 7 of them. The rhododendrons were absolutely beautiful. I will recommend your place to many people. Regards Georgette James

Date visited: Monday 30.5.05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
No battle is worth fighting except the last one. - Enoch Powell
More Quotes

On this day:
Henry VI Crowned as Henri II in Paris - 1431, Oliver Cromwell becomes 'lord protector' - 1653, The 'Bill of Rights' established - 1689, Boston tea party - 1773, Battle of the Bulge Begins - 1944
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages