National Trust
Boars

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2014: The Forest of Bowland

Is it sad that so few Britons know the Forest of Bowland, or great for those of us who do? Bowland covers a huge area, ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Boars Head Hotel, Ashbourne

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Richard Owen on 10th July, 2009

Add your review
An excellent stay, with very well appointed rooms, excellent food and staff whose service was of the highest standard. Very well placed for Abbotsholme school. Thank you for making the stay so pleasurable.

Date visited: 2-5 Jul 09

Review by Pat O on 12th July, 2008

Add your review
We have often driven past and wondered what food at The Boars Head would be like as the carvery advertised outside seemed remakably cheap. Well this evening we decided to find out and we are so pleased that we did. The seating areas were all comfortable, the staff were polite and friendly and the food was excellent. If the lady who was sitting poised at the bar reading her newspaper is the manager we hope that she appreciates her hard working staff.

Date visited: 12/07/08

Review by Mike Barnfather on 20th June, 2007

Add your review
What an excellent hotel, the food was first class, as was the accomodation . The staff were really friendly, and I can recommend the weekend break offer as particularly good value. I shall certainly be visiting the Boars Head again.

Date visited: 8th June 2007

Review by Maureen Crofts on 28th April, 2007

Add your review
FANTASTIC. AS GOOD AS ANY OF THE TOP LONDON HOTELS FOR FACILITIES AND SERVICE. WILL CERTAINLY GO AGAIN.

Date visited: 20th and 21st April

Review by I W M RATTRAY on 21st March, 2006

Add your review
Dear Mr. Crooks, I am writing to you to thank you and your staff for a thoroughly enjoyable weekend . Try as we could, we found nothing to complain about . The premises were spotlessly clean , warm and very comfortable ,the food was excellent and the staff was highly efficient and charming . Where did you manage to find so many charming and pretty young girls? I would to think that the special offer would be available in the summer when the weather would be more sympathetic .I could recommend your hotel to anybody without hesitation! Many thanks and we hope to return in the not too distant future . Yours gratefully, Ian W M Rattray .

Date visited: 17/03/06-19/03/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
It only takes a room of Americans for the English and Australians to realise how much we have in common. - Stephen Fry
More Quotes

On this day:
Edgar the Peaceable Unites English Kingdoms - 0959, World's first railway inaugurated - 1604, First edition of the News of the World - 1843, First British Cable Car Opens - 1894, Kipling publishes Kim - 1901, Lawrence of Arabia Takes Damascus - 1918, 1st McDonalds opens in London - 1974, Toxteth Riots - 1985, Durham Pioneers Congestion Charge - 2002
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages