National Trust
Elms

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2014: The Forest of Bowland

Is it sad that so few Britons know the Forest of Bowland, or great for those of us who do? Bowland covers a huge area, ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Elms Hotel, Retford

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 12th September, 2009

Add your review
Bad Points: We felt that we were put amongst the staff, and in the staff accommodation, a lot of loud door banging, very creaky stairs, the stable block where we were put has a view of the kitchens at the back, the net curtains were filthy, the shower tap came off in my hand. There were no curtains at the bathroom window, so couldn't put the light on, the bathroom window wouldn't shut. General review: It was a disgrace. We had alovely time visiting family, but the Elms was terrible! We would have left after the first night, had we not been visiting family. When you book into a Hotel, you expect to be staying in the Hotel, not put around the back, in the stable block, with the staff and bins!!!!!

Date visited: 2009-09-12

Review by Anonymous on 12th September, 2009

Add your review
Bad Points: We felt that we were put amongst the staff, and in the staff accommodation, a lot of loud door banging, very creaky stairs, the stable block where we were put has a view of the kitchens at the back, the net curtains were filthy, the shower tap came off in my hand. There were no curtains at the bathroom window, so couldn't put the light on, the bathroom window wouldn't shut. General review: It was a disgrace. We had alovely time visiting family, but the Elms was terrible! We would have left after the first night, had we not been visiting family. When you book into a Hotel, you expect to be staying in the Hotel, not put around the back, in the stable block, with the staff and bins!!!!!

Date visited: 2009-09-12

Review by Geoffrey on 1st May, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Sorry was not there long enough Bad Points: The vanity light would not go off. reported this to the young lady in the morning. General review: Good if we are in the area again we will make use of your hotel.

Date visited: 2009-05-01

Review by Geoffrey on 1st May, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Sorry was not there long enoughBad Points: The vanity light would not go off. reported this to the young lady in the morning.General review: Good if we are in the area again we will make use of your hotel.

Date visited: 2009-05-01

Review by Anonymous on 14th August, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Large room in an annexe, quiet, everything worked. Tea, coffee etc all ok. Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast very good. Good choice of evening meals, reasonable prices. Beautiful building and grounds. Bad Points: Wrong room type booked but able to give us family room at last minute. Check in slow as single person being barman, waiter and receptionist. Hotel breakfast offered from 7am but hotel still locked up next day. Breakfast not served till 8am "on Saturday". Electric light in bedroom very gloomy, hard to read by. General review: If booking on internet check with hotel by phone that booking is per confirmation. Each negative easily had a positive to redeem it. Overall would recommend this hotel and return myself.

Date visited: 2008-08-14

Review by Anonymous on 20th April, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: spacious room Bad Points: stairway not clean; room not cleaned one day - had to go into bar and ask for toilet paper; squeaky floorboards.

Date visited: 2008-04-20

Review by Joanne Claire on 21st November, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: Clean and comfortable Bad Points: Lack of soap in the bathroom

Date visited: 2007-11-21

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
You want to be foretold the weather? it is bad enough when it comes without having the misery of knowing about it beforehand - Jerome K Jerome
More Quotes

On this day:
The Battle of Myton-on-Swale - 1319, Vegetarian Society Formed - 1847, Jack the Ripper Kills twice in one Day - 1888, The discovery of penicillin - 1928, BBC begins TV Transmissions - 1929, Chamberlain Proclaims Peace for our Time, - 1938, Bourne End Rail Crash - 1945, Thunderbirds Are Go! - 1965, Radio 1 goes on air - 1967
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages