It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

November 2018: The National Forest

It may be stating the obvious, but the best reason for visiting the National Forest in October is what New Englanders call leaf-peeping. Stuck in ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Shire Hall Gallery, Stafford

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mark on 29th October, 2011

Add your review
The Daytime Attraction consisted of a 30 minute amateur panto. And that is it! It may be good value at night but during the day it is a rip off! This was felt by everyone who attended today with us all stood outside afterwards asking 'Is that it?' And it was. Children disappointed and adults felt ripped off. For £6 per person (no concessions)this is not value for money.

Date visited: 29/10/11

Review by Annalisa McKenna on 24th October, 2011

Add your review
aranged with some friends to take the kids. 4 x 10 year olds n 2 x 6 year olds and drove the 24 miles to get there. The website says will be suitable for 10 year olds, paid the £6 per person and entered what we thought was the start of the exciting afternoon out. spent 30 mins watching a kids show that even my 6 year old was bored with only to enter the cafe afterwards to ask what was next following which was nothing, nothing! nothing!! NOTHING!!! An absolute waste of money and definately not worth a visit during the day!

Date visited: 24/10/11

Review by H. Williams on 15th January, 2011

Add your review
I heard about Scare Kingdom at Hawkshaw Fold Farm from a friend and then saw them on Countryfile. I went with my family it was brilliant, the staff made the experience even better. We didn't have to queue and went to the maize where we were greeted by different characters like the mad scientist and people being electrocuted, after being chased out by a man with a chainsaw, we went into the toy factory with clowns and dolls, it got even scarier, then to Hell-fire hall which was the best of the lot with a cage and drop box thing. All the staff where brilliant really well run. Definably worth visiting, cant wait to see what they do next year

Date visited: 26th Oct. 2010

Review by aj on 29th October, 2010

Add your review
It was a really amzing experience, felt like you were living in a horror film! You get chased by a man with a chainshaw through cornfields, and get laughed at by scary clowns and dolls. It's really scary and thrilling. Would definately reccomend it, expecially for something to do on Halloween. Not for the light-hearted!

Date visited: 29/10/10

Review by emily on 2nd November, 2009

Add your review
Oh my god this was the best night out ever, me my husband and 6 friends came along and we did nothing but laugh and scream all night. I have even lost my voice, I throughly recommend this to any adults. We will defo be going back next year.

Date visited: 30th October 2009

Review by JAC on 26th October, 2009

Add your review
If you're looking for a Hallowe'en event that's fun and scary, well a trip to Scare Kingdom should be in your diary this week. We arrived at Hawkshaw Farm Park in the wind and rain and considering it was mainly an outdoor event I wasn't really looking forward to it. But the rain stopped as we stepped into the maze, set in a cornfield, and we realised we were in an amazing and unusual setting which just added to the atmosphere of what was to come. Dead Alive is the story of Strangleweed Hollow, a Goldrush town in the US, now a ghost town, where strange and terrible things have happened - and still are. We started off in old Mother Strange's cottage where she cackled her way through the story of her son never returning from the cornfields and her eternal wait for him. We were then sent on our way out into the cornfield, keeping an eye out for the Pumpkin Man who haunts the very place we were picking our way through. It was quite a walk in the dark through the rustling plants and along the way we came upon characters from the town who spooked and entertained us. There was a mix of screams, shouts and laughs from our party as we tried to keep our heads and not be too embarassing. The actors have to be admired for keeping up their American accents throughout (variable quality) and also putting up with the rain that started beating down again midway through. There were plenty of strange noises, and suprise appearances from between the columns of towering plants to freak you out. I must admit it was a relief to get out of the maze which was getting slightly claustrophobic for me. But worse was to come with the Blood Bath part of Scare Kingdom which was so creepy I just wanted to run out. I won't go into great detail as it would spoil the fun for anyone who goes. You're sent out into the maze in a party of 12 and the idea is to hang on to the shoulder or waist of the person in front. I'm so glad I wasn't at the end in the line in the Blood Bath! Some of Scare Kingdom will genuinely spook you out and other bits of it will make you laugh out loud, which is a perfect combination for a fright event like this. Don't forget your boots or wellies - you'll need them. And to help calm you down at the end you can grab a hot drink, soup, sandwiches and cakes at the cafe. It all lasted about an hour and is a very different way to mark Hallowe'en.

Date visited: October 25 2009

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
No one does anything from a single motive. - Samuel Taylor Coleridge
More Quotes

On this day:
Shakespeare marries Anne Hathaway - 1582, London Gazette First Published - 1665, Treasure Island Published - 1883, Britainís first female mayor elected - 1908, BBC begins Broadcasts - 1922, Coventry Blitz - 1940, NME Publishes First UK Singles Chart - 1952, First British Record Chart Published - 1952, Princess Anne and Mark Phillips Marry - 1973
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages