It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Boat House Surgery, Pangbourne

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by B Sanke on 19th October, 2010

Add your review
Although I belong to the so-called epedemic in Pangbourne (working-class scum) I have nothing but praise for the staff and the doctors of Boat House Surgery. I am really amazed that I do not have to wait much longer than a private patient and that I am getting pretty much the same service. Well done for a surgery, which is operating in such a hostile area.

Date visited: 01/09/10

Review by stephen frankling on 4th March, 2008

Add your review
My wife required to see her Dr. We noticed that at 10:45 A.M. the surgery waiting room was over half full. At this time in the past this would have seemed as though an epidemic was sweeping the area. A large amount of sheltered and other types of elderly housing has been built in Pangbourne in the last decade or so. Also a great increase in normal dwellings being built within 1 mile of the practice...yet the surgery still pertains a peaceful and because it over looks a stretch of the Thames which is good to just look at still a village atmosphere. Yet it is business like, calm telephone manners have greeted me when I have had to ring up. And I have a very special reason to be grateful for it's being there, because almost a year ago I suffered a complete failure of breathing across the road and Dr's and Nurse brought me back from the brink! Sure the pressure is on now days, and we expect everything to stop and race towards us when we are ill...but this practice which I have now used and observed for 27 years at this and it's former home does more than cope, it's friendly, it has nurses and Doctors who are worth their money, ( for years I as an Accountant in London earned far more than GP'S who we used to treat as referal units to their mates the consultants ) but times have moved on, so many treatments are now done, so many, many more of us are older with the ensuing "Senior Persons Ailments" but now that they have got decent salaries and funding I suspect that there is an under lying envy and that this projects onto more complaints. If you are very ill you call an ambulance, if you make an appointment to see a Doctor it's because you wish to be reassured and pointed towards the best treatment...so it's just that a surgery..not a first class hotel where you press a bell and a flunky comes running..so you may wait for an answer, or the phone is engaged...that may be someone as important as you think you are, also trying to see the Doctor or Nurse. It's a great surgery, a friendly surgery, and those of you who have only just arrived judge it over a period of time not first visit or request.

Date visited: 04.03.08

Review by miles anderson on 18th December, 2007

Add your review
I have been with this practice for one year and have found it to be exemplary in its conduct. Reception is calm and polite and the care I have received from all the doctors and nurses that I have encountered has been wonderful. What a great practice!

Review by lyn haigh on 23rd October, 2007

Add your review
I had the exact same thing happen to me on more than one occassion. I rang several times during supposedly open surgery hours and ended up with a recorded message which was not helpful. If your phone system can't cope with your business demands, then get an update.

Review by Duncan Stocks on 17th October, 2006

Add your review
I have tried calling in numerous occasions to arrange an appointment and on every occasion the call diverts to an unhelpful recorded message. All I want to do is arrange an appointment - how difficult can that be? Answer the phone.

Date visited: tbc

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Instead of this absurd division into sexes they ought to class people as static and dynamic. - Evelyn Waugh
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Ashingdon - 1016, Chewing Gum first goes on sale - 1911, BBC Formed - 1922, First Brit Awards - 1977
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages