The

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

February 2019: Islay

The Queen of the Hebrides takes some getting to but the effort is repaid a hundred-fold, and if you are hitting the island in the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Pyewipe, Lincoln

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Jo on 14th July, 2009

Add your review
Ordered a childs size portion from the menu board - 3 pieces of grilled chicken and a handful of "reheated" chips arrived - no fresh stuff. They charged 5.50 for this! Apparently most parents dont want fresh stuff they want plain simple and easy to eat food! The menu clearly states "comes with veg/salad" - when I asked after the veg, I was told I would have to order a side at extra cost. Staff not that helpful. Manager - not helpful.

Date visited: 05/05/09

Review by Anonymous on 19th May, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Good food Helpful cheerful staff Nice canal-side location Bad Points: Beginning to look slightly run down (but hopefully this improve under the new management) General review: Very satisfactory

Date visited: 2009-05-19

Review by mj mbond on 7th March, 2008

Add your review
my son and his partner took my wife out for a meal on mothering sunday. we booked a table for 2 pm. it was 2.45 when we finally sat down. it was 3.15 when someone came and took the order. 3.35, the soup came, 3.45, the bread roll came , the soup tasted burnt .we could,nt eat it . so we walk out ,and never shall we return. so we went to woodcocks and it was 1st class.

Date visited: 2.03.08

Review by Kathryne Bourne on 18th May, 2007

Add your review
I found the Pyewipe to be exceptionally good. The food we ordered came quickly and was beautifully prepared. The portions were generous although this not a 'cheap and cheerful' 241 type of pub, they are very serious about it, and the prices reflect this. The pub itsself was very welcoming with friendly staff and had very clean toilets. We stayed at the lodge - a seperate hotel block decked out very similarly to a Travelodge, but with a few more homely touches.The room was large enough and very, very clean. The pub has large grounds and althouh a bit difficult to locate (down a path off the A57) we walked along the river into Lincoln which took about 15 minutes, All in all, a great place and we will definitely be returning for a long weekend in the Summer.

Date visited: 19/5/2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
God never made His work for man to mend. - John Dryden
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Bramham Moor - 1408, Treaty of Westminster signed - 1674, First Man Utd Match at Old Trafford - 1910, 1st episode of Eastenders - 1985, Cocker's Contempt for Jackson at Brits - 1996
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages