Drumchork

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Drumchork Lodge Hotel, Aultbea

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Margaret on 3rd January, 2011

Add your review
Unfortunately, despite being in such a beautiful part of the world, there is very limited choice of places to eat and drink. We stumbled upon this hotel looking for some food and wish we had been brave enough to just walk out the door and leave. I first made a dash for the loo and wish I hadn't bothered. They were disgusting and smelly. The place stunk of wet dogs and the decoration was tired and tatty. There was absolutely no atmosphere and the food was over priced and unimaginative. It was a very awkward meal. My husband had a very over cooked steak with disgusting frozen chips that were difficult to swallow and soggy over cooked veg. I had a cheese burger which was dripping with grease with no garnish. The burger bun was obviously dirt cheap which is more than I can say about the bill! Avoid at all costs.

Date visited: August 2010

Review by John on 17th October, 2010

Add your review
Phoned to see if we needed to book - Ha ! Ha ! When we arrived the hotel was in semi darkness and we were the only people there. Obviously not attracting customers at this time of the year. We had to sit with our outdoor jackets on, in front of a portable gas fire with one bar lit. When the food arrived the waiter/owner ? put on another light. The food was less than mediocre, un appetising going on unpleasant, poor portion size, with extortionate prices !! The frozen chips were the best part of the meal! The waiter/owner ? tried to be chatty but at times he verged on the aggressive with intemperate language. We were glad to get out of the place and will never return.

Date visited: October 2010

Review by Patricia Arthur on 6th June, 2010

Add your review
Had a wonderful stay at the small hotel in the Scottish highlands recently, rooms over the loch were beautiful in the sunshine. Was too nice weather to be inside so the Scot owners hosted a BBQ for everyone, wonderful food and atmostphere.

Date visited: 4 June 2010

Review by Susie on 19th May, 2010

Add your review
Dreadful food. I agree completely with the previous reviewer. We live in Scotland and were appalled at this travesty of Scottish catering and hospitality. One small scallop each, hacked up, fried with mixed herbs, put on a small slice of buttered brown bread and sprinkled with paprika. There was a small side salad/garnish and vinaigrette was generously poured over the whole plate - scallops et al. The price for our two scallops and a pint and a half of beer - £17.50.

Date visited: May 2010

Review by Mags on 22nd September, 2009

Add your review
Was enjoying a great week in the Scottish Highlands until we paid a visit to this Hotel!! Hotel is in need of a good clean, staff not very professional. Food - don't even go there! None of the food was fresh, surround by lochs & farmland. No fresh fish or fresh veg, salad limp and turning brown. Some of the food had been re-heated. None of us could finish our meals and they still had the cheek to charge the full price. I am ashamed to be Scottish if this is whats supposed to be good Scottish food and hospitality. I pity any tourists visiting this hotel. What a bad reputation to give to the Scots and the hotel industry. Were's Ramsay or the Hotel Inspector when you need them?

Date visited: sept 09

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Talk that does not end in any kind of action is better suppressed altogether. - Thomas Carlyle
More Quotes

On this day:
First Atomic Explosion - 1945, Stirling Moss is first Englishman to win the British Grand Prix - 1955, Helicopter Crashes off Scilly - 1983
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages