It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Feughside Inn, Banchory

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by J Bain on 8th January, 2012

Add your review
i have been to the Fueghside for a few meals and just was there this evening to eat and have to say,had a lovely meal as always and had a really nice and enjoyable time,,staff nice,food good and was made most welcome even by the 2 dogs that were there,10/10 to the Fueghside.....

Review by Mrs C on 12th November, 2010

Add your review
I live in this area and have visited this place several times. I am compelled to write due to the negative response the poor Angus Team received from 'regular diners'. Against common advice I first went to the Inn for a family sunday dinner for 4 in 2004. The food was slow, the service was slow , the bread was mouldy. When I brought this to the attention of the waitress I got attitude. It was unpleasant to be treated as if I was in the wrong. After that friends have told persuaded me to attend various functions and each time I have enjoyed the company but once my red wine was served with a straw?? My rare steak came after my party of 13 had finished their main course and the steak was cold and well done. Various other niggles which I have put up with and not said anything till now. I hope the management has improved because I am going again next week and will write another review.

Date visited: various

Review by James Lovet Mcleod on 1st May, 2010

Add your review
The Feughside is one of the best places i have ever been for a meal. The staff are so friendly and helpful.The food menu has a wide selection of diffrent mouth watering dishes. I would recomend this establishment to anybody who has a little patients. What people do not understand that everybody can not be accomidated for service at one time. Dave and Rose are one of the best hosts i have ever come across.I have also stayed there many times and service is one of the best.

Date visited: 19/4/2010

Review by Julie & Roy Trevor on 1st May, 2010

Add your review
What on earth are the classic car team on about - we have eaten, stayed and NEVER had any bad experiences with the staff or Management of the Feughside Inn in fact quite the opposite, I find it quite difficult to comprehend! We have taken fellow guests to the Feughside Inn and ALL have agreed that hospitaility provided by Rose and Dave was A1. They have good sense of humour and nothing is too much trouble and are always willing to accomodate. The house-keeping in the bedrooms is also first class. They have at this moment in time a good team of staff and would have no hesitation in recommending or staying at the Feughside Inn again.

Date visited: 26 April 2010

Review by MR C burton on 4th April, 2010

Add your review
after our meal on saturday night wanted to tell some friends about the feughside inn found this webpage just to say what a lovely time we had found the staff very friendly and the food was excellent ps the wife recommends the risotto.

Date visited: 04 april 2010

Review by G Murray on 13th January, 2010

Add your review
I have taken friends and family to the Feughside for meals and drinks on several occasions and always found the service good and friendly. I would also recommend that you visit for your self as I have never regretted a visit. I would question the negative reviews with the suspicion they deserve every business has its share of undesirable customers who have nothing good to say!

Date visited: 22/12/09

Review by Shaun Smith on 13th January, 2010

Add your review
Recently stayed here as I was working in area...found it to be good quality reasonably priced local inn, room was comfortable, food was good and the owners were very freindly. Will def stay again when I'm next back in the area. Would recommend.

Date visited: 9/1/10

Review by Karen Barbour on 12th January, 2010

Add your review
Beautiful setting, friendly staff and excellent food. We were all delighted with our menu choices and portion size. Would definitely recommend and we will be returning to sample some more of the appealing menu, which was excellent value for money.

Date visited: 04/01/10

Review by J Brown on 12th January, 2010

Add your review
The Feughside Inn is a great place for a drink, a blether and something to eat. The staff are all very friendly, and the service is excellent. Great location. Highly recommend this place. Thank you all for a lovely meal. Will definitely be back next time I am in Banchory.

Date visited: 9th January 2010

Review by Liam Murray on 11th January, 2010

Add your review
IF ONLY ALL PUBS WERE LIKE THIS! Came home to visit the folks at new year and the old man suggested we visited his local for a meal and spent hogmany the bar...had my doubts... Canít praise this place enough! Had a fantastic meal then a fantastic night! Maybe itís just coming from town, but this is surely what local pubs are about...the atmosphere was great, the local couldnít have been friendlier...in short I havenít celebrated the bells like this in year...obviously what I thought was a dying tradition is alive and well in the better of our local pubs! Big thanks to Dave and Rose the owners for a truly wonderful night...you really made a stranger feel welcome!

Date visited: 31/01/09

Review by j samson on 2nd September, 2009

Add your review
My wife & I are regular diners at the Feughside Inn,and have always had a good service from the waitresses. The food has always been to a high standard and a good price. With some of the reviews I have been reading there must be two sides to every story. A lot of my friends who have dined with us can also vouch for this. Mr & Mrs J Samson

Date visited: 1/08/09

Review by JJ Brown on 10th June, 2009

Add your review
On visiting feughside inn (or hotel) i was slightly appalled by the level of service that i received while dining. It seemed as if the waitresses had no idea what their menu was! After what seemed to be several hours (10 minutes) my food arrived. I had been told by others who had been before that their meals were substantial, however this was not the case. upon inspection of my baron plate of scampi I found there to be no chips or salad, i was confused to the point i questioned one of the waitresses on this phenomenon, just in case my chips had been lost in the vastness of the kitchen, where i was informed i would have to pay an extra £5 for the salad and chips that i had assumed would be free. I WAS OUTRAGED. i miss the times of old where a plate of scampi was given chips and salad as standard, has it finally come to the point that it is no longer financially viable to give a full meal to the customer, but now sell it in parts like some sort of mecano set.

Date visited: Saturday 6th June

Review by J Inglis on 25th May, 2009

Add your review
We were also part of the group that visited with G Smith.What an apalling show from this establishment.The hostess/waitress was rude and short from as soon as we arrived and lacked the basic social skills one would expect from someone doing her job. It seriously would not have taken much for her to be slightly more accommodating!! I have travelled all over the world in all types of establishments and have never encountered a person less suited to working in the hospitality industry!!!The food service was notably slow, however, if we had been informed of their situation we would have possibly been more understanding and patient, as it was they seemed to just be preteneding we hadn't been there waiting for our meals all that time! The icing on the cake had to be when they asked US not to return!!! As if we were at fault? As G Smith stated - none of our party had been drinking or caused any upset during our visit and the treatment the group received was completely un-acceptable and shocking!I would not reccomend this place to anyone! They do not know how to host a restaurant and the attitude of the senior staff is terrible.Such a pity as the Inn is in such a beautiful setting. However if they continue this approach to customer service, the next time I happen to be in the area it will be under new management!!

Date visited: 17/05/2009

Review by G Smith on 18th May, 2009

Add your review
Prebooked outing at Feughside Inn by an Angus Classic Car Club. Member,s arrived 12.30 for lunch, staff kindly showed us to our tables, 16 in our party. Menu,s handed out then orders taken, We were all looking forward to a lovely three course lunch, We always have a day out like this once a year. The first course took an hour to come to the tables, the second course took 80 minutes, Fish and Scampie arrived on cold plates, salad and chips came 20 minutes later after staff being promted, Steakpie and veg served to table on hot plates, potatoes came 17 minutes later. A member had a word with Manager about poor quality of service, and was told we would get our meal for free and please dont return. Nobody in this party was drinking alchohol nor was anyone creating any disturbence, we are a quiet lot. The whole episode ruined a lovely day out for all members and we WOULD NOT recomend Feughside Inn for any club or other organisation,s to choose as a venue for eating out. None of us even had our sweet.

Date visited: 17 MAY 2009

Review by Jim Strachan on 15th March, 2008

Add your review
What you would expect in a country inn, and VERY good value for your money! Has restaurant and pub with good food, and excellent pints. What makes this place so special are the owners (Dave & Rose), and how accomodating they are. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED if you would like to stay in Strachan, or in or near Banchory. Mill of Strachan is just across the main road, and has wonderful fishing, which compliments a relaxing day.

Date visited: May 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A good book is the precious lifeblood of a master spirit. - John Milton
More Quotes

On this day:
Boston Massachusetts Founded - 1630, Operation Market Garden - Allied invasion of Holland - 1944, Lord of the Flies Published - 1954
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages