Villa Holiday Homes with a pool
National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

October 2014: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Trattoria Siciliana, Edinburgh

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Lynda on 27th March, 2009

Add your review
As all the restaurants in Edinburgh were full to bursting we had no choice but to go here despite the fact there were only 4 others dining...bad sign.We all had second thoughts about eating there once we walked in but the owner soon had us seated and menus thrust in our hands.He offered us some bruscetta to start and as we were hungry we said yes.Next we knew the bread was on fire and as the smoke filled the restaurant the waitress opened the door on what was one of the windiest and coldest nights of March.When the brushetta arrived it was soggy and tasteless and cost us a tenner!We thought the safest option would be pizzas but he said it had been busy all day and there was no pizza dough left , we all found that hard to believe!.At this stage he tried to get us to order lasagne and chicken I think this was all he had left.In the end we got food of his choice pretty much as there was nothing available that was on the extensive menu.Despite the chaos and the pushy owner we had the best laugh at just about everything and the food was ok.When we asked for the bill we got a piece of torn paper with handwritten prices on it and we were well and truely ripped off.We wouldn't go back to this restaurant but we have great memories from our trip of the Italian Fawlty Towers and we lived to tell the tale. Tip of the day avoid this place unless you're blitzed and go to Tiger Lily absolutely fab!!!

Date visited: 7/3/09

Review by A Fyall on 26th March, 2009

Add your review
This place is dreadful and should be avoided. The only good thing is it is convenient for the Playhouse Theatre but please, go elsewhere. Unfortunately we were with another couple who lived in Edinburgh and had chosen it. We were conned into 2 large "platter" dishes for starters - rubbish and charged 10 for each. They also charged 10 for a plate of inedible vegetables. Glad to escape to live another day.

Date visited: 7 March 2009

Review by Mr Alan Briggs on 23rd April, 2007

Add your review
I dined at the restaurant with my wife and must say that I found the service to be slow the food cold and when it was refered back to the kitchen I was faced with a rude owner stating that was how the food was meant to be. As it was a chicken dish I found this very strange in deed. My advice would be to avoid this place should you actualy wish to have an enjoyable evening.

Date visited: 20/04/2007

Review by Massimo on 20th May, 2006

Add your review
I come from Sicily and, as it happens, I came across this restaurant and wanted to try the food together with my British girlfriend. Unhappy choice: nothing there can claim the right to be called Sicilian (or even good food...). The chef was busy microwaving pasta and other pre-cooked vegetables and we could perfectly see all this. He was indeed very quick and efficient and perhaps that is why you have to pay about 8 pounds for a tasteless, uninspiring for "Involtini" or "Pollo alla paesana", although they resemble more a badly cooked Chicken Burger than anything else. The house wine was rough. I think it is a crime to pretend your food comes from a certain place without even making an effort. Avoid that place.

Date visited: 19/05/2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
For all right judgment of any man or things it is useful, nay, essential, to see his good qualities before pronouncing on his bad. - Thomas Carlyle
More Quotes

On this day:
Scilly Naval Disaster 2000 Drown - 1707, First Plastic Surgery in Britain - 1814, Blantyre Mining Disaster - 1877, Crippen convicted at Old Bailey - 1910, George Blake Escapes from Wormwood Scrubs - 1966
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages