National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2014: Regency Brighton and Hove

The plurally-named City of Brighton and Hove rather fittingly is a holidays Ė plural - destination. Itís modern, historic, cultural, sporting, happening, a seaside resort ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Piccolinos, Alnwick

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Julie Dawson on 5th September, 2010

Add your review
Before we opened the door we could hear the shouty little man. and this was just the start of what was to come. He sat down with us for 10 or 15 mins being very annoying and shouting at his staff from the otherside of the restaurant.. The food was ok.. a bit cold and not the most authentic italian we've ever had. The man, Lino i think his name.. Was just unbareable.. If i can recommened you to do one thing, it is to ring up and ask when his days off are.

Date visited: Jul '10

Review by L Robins on 31st August, 2009

Add your review
A cosy restaurant on the main street in Alnwick. Staff very accomodating and friendly, the proprietor Lino recommended wine. A few complaints about the food - no bread was brought with the soup. The chicken was a little underdone, and left with quite soggy skin. The 'rosemarino' sauce was very bad - it tasted and looked like it was from a packet, and when I asked the waitress how the sauce was made, she didn't have a clue! We were not approached after our meal and asked if we'd like coffee/dessert, in fact the staff were being told to go home, this was at 10.15pm. Overall though, good value for money and very friendly.

Date visited: August 2009

Review by K. Aslett on 10th March, 2009

Add your review
I visited piccolino on a saturday night, it was freezing outside but as soon as we walked upstairs we were made to feel welcome and quickly warmed up. The staff were very friendly and the food was extremely good and we didnt even have to wait long. I have no complaints at all infact i would recomend this place to anyone. Its a little gem of a restaurant and with a steak for under a tenna we will definately be back.

Date visited: sat 7th march 2009

Review by jon buckler on 10th March, 2009

Add your review
I went on valentines night with my girlfriend. We had never been before and after great food and service we will back. Cheers Lino for a great night see you soon!!! Jon and Steph

Date visited: 14th feb 2009

Review by louis sara on 10th March, 2009

Add your review
had a cracking night enjoyed the food and the wine exactly what we need before a 250mile bike ride for comic relief. Thanks for the donation lino see you next year!!!

Date visited: 9th march 2009

Review by Frank and Di Eliel on 21st September, 2008

Add your review
A very nice cheerful little place. The proprietor is a larger than life character, so all who want to sit in charmless, empty eateries, should stay away. If you want a typically cheerful Italian restaurant, with noise, music a characterful proprietor and good cheap food and drink, it stood out from other meals in the town for us,

Date visited: 20th September 2008

Review by Ashleigh Billingam on 18th September, 2008

Add your review
I am i Ex memeber of staff and know matter what anyone has to say about Lino, it should be ignored he is the most kind hearted man and liven ups the place, so if you don't appreciate that fact then go elsewhere and take your nasty comments too ! The food is always lovely and out in a quick and pleasant maner by all of the staff ! I Strongly Recommend Piccolinos ! Thank Youu !

Date visited: 18th September 2008

Review by paul williams on 1st July, 2008

Add your review
A place to avoid, previous correspondent described the proprietor as obnoxious, I think he was being generous, say no more.

Date visited: june 2008

Review by Sam on 18th April, 2008

Add your review
Lovely little Italian. Comes highly recommended to anyone especially families. We went with our 18 month old little boy and they were very accommodating to our needs. Didn't have to wait long for food at all, and the very friendly Italian man even brought a toy for the baby to play with. Superb food and wine and yet another very enjoyable night at Piccolinos!

Date visited: FEB 2008

Review by piccolinoshelp on 15th November, 2007

Add your review
please ignore the last comment from dave smith. it was written by a disgruntled employee, who was sacked because of her incompetence and lazyness. thank you

Review by Patricia Allan on 5th October, 2007

Add your review
A friendly informal restaurant, Lino the proprietor is a wonderful character, welcoming and entertaining. He has an impressive collection of good music which he will play to suit the clientele. An excellent meal, (we chose items from the Specials of the Day menu) accompanied by good wines, and real value for money. We would certainly recommend.

Date visited: 26 September 07

Review by dave smith on 16th April, 2007

Add your review
this was probably the worst italian meal i have had the service was abysml the food was below average and the noisy very small italian owner was obnoxious and overbearing.i would not eat here again even if it were free.d.s blackpool

Date visited: 7.4.07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Some folk want their luck buttered - Thomas Hardy
More Quotes

On this day:
First Formal Sculling Race - 1715, Rule Britannia First Performed - 1740, Priestley Discovers Oxygen - 1774, Battle of the Nile - 1798, Regentís Canal Opens - 1820, Britain abolishes slavery - 1834, First Bank Holiday - 1871, First Mars Bar Made - 1932
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages