Black

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

It’s illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Black Boys Inn, Hurley

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Peter on 29th January, 2008

Add your review
We had a super Sunday lunch at the Black Boys Inn. There was a complementary glass of the “house aperitif” when we arrived, and the service was attentive. The beef was sweet and juicy, and the portions were generous. We had a decent bottle of wine between us (the wine list is huge!) and it only came to £75, good value for money would recommend.

Date visited: Sunday, Jan 2008

Review by Mr P Gallimore on 19th September, 2007

Add your review
On booking a table on Saturday night I was told that on Saturdays we don’t generally take tables larger than 4. Although I was quite surprised by this I think it is a very sensible thing to do. The table was ours for the night, we were not rushed, there was a great atmosphere, but because it was not full of large rowdy parties dominating the restaurant it was very civilised. My wife and I as a table of two didn’t feel shoved to one side and could hear each other across the table, a novelty in some restaurants. The black boys got the perfect balance between a buzzing atmosphere and somewhere to go for a relaxed civilised meal. I was told that “we are not greedy and don’t try and turn tables over” and how refreshing it was to see a genuine interest in looking after the customer rather than trying to cram as many bodies in to one room as possible in money making exercise! Well done black boys.

Date visited: 15th September

Review by Howard on 11th September, 2007

Add your review
Food and service as it should be! Excellent restaurant and it isn't pretentious, all the buzz about this place is well justifyed. Rooms look very good as well.

Date visited: 11th September

Review by Chris Mayo on 17th August, 2007

Add your review
I have always used the AA guides before staying any where it was with great trepidation that I kept my reservation after reading these reviews, but what a surprise! professional, polite and a fantastic dinner. I will defiantly be back

Date visited: 12th July

Review by Raymond on 15th August, 2007

Add your review
We stayed for three nights, the food was superb the service was excellent and the rooms were great value for money. We had a view over looking the valley, and enjoyed walks along the River Thames which was just a couple minutes away. The restaurant was busy but as we were residents we were given priority and they managed to squeeze us in. The staffs were friendly, efficient and made us feel very welcome. We will defiantly be making another trip!

Date visited: 8th August

Review by Dan Powell on 13th August, 2007

Add your review
The service was professional, friendly and fast. The surroundings were very stylish and a refreshing change from the standard branded high street restaurant. The food in particular the fresh Crab was beautifully clean and simple, letting the fantastic raw ingredients speak for them self. Any one with a true appreciation of good food will love the black boys as much as I did.

Date visited: 11th August

Review by Colin Barnes on 24th June, 2007

Add your review
What nice rooms and what enjoyable food. By why oh why the awful service? Having stayed at the inn for 2 consecutive nights and dined on both evenings we found that spending in excess of £70 a head does not seem to impress the owners. Far from it, we were rudely told to move away from the bar, take our seats at the table in fact everything except ‘get a move on!’ although the tone and manner made this message very clear. On our second night the menu offered to us was restricted as we were a party of 6, as, apparently they do not normally take bookings of more that 4 on a Saturday night (something they declined to tell us at the time of booking). Breakfast was somewhat smaller on the second morning too (another unsubtle hint perhaps?) Although the food and surroundings were very good, the bitter taste of poor service purveyed through our brief stay, we won’t return.

Date visited: 22/06/07

Review by Oliver McCarthy on 7th June, 2007

Add your review
We stayed at the Black Boys Inn on June 6th as we had travelled from London to have dinner at the Fat Duck at Bray. I had been recommended to stay at the black boys Inn by a friend, and we had a great stay. The Black Boys was only a 10 to 15 min taxi ride to the Fat Duck, and was obviously very popular with Fat Duck guests as there were two other couples staying who were also going there for dinner. The rooms were spotless and carefully decorated and a couple mins down the road there was the river Thames. The rooms were only £85 which was very reasonable, and they all had their own access separate from the main restaurant. We also went to the Black Boys for lunch the next day which was fantastic! The wine list was extensive and had similar options, dare I say some more interesting options to the Fat Duck at about half the price. The cooking was seasonal and beautifully fresh, I can’t recommend the Halibut enough! Overall the Black Boys was genuine value for money, and if sources are to believed may soon be swapping their bib gourmand for a well deserved Michelin Star!

Review by Alexandros Kateifides on 19th April, 2007

Add your review
Very enjoyable experience! Although if you are a vegetarian (who doesn’t eat seafood!) there is a slightly restricted choice, never the less my risotto with fresh truffles was spectacular! The restaurant was very attractive with a boutique feel, and although quite small was very busy.

Date visited: 17th April

Review by Anthony Hay on 23rd March, 2007

Add your review
My girlfriend and I ate at the Black Boys inn Wednesday 21st March, the food was excellent we had the home made foie gras, and the Monkfish to follow. The service was very pleasant; having eaten out in many places in the area the Black Boys seemed one of the busiest and for good reason!

Date visited: 21st March

Review by Louise Taylor on 1st March, 2007

Add your review
We booked to stay at the Black Boys through LateRooms.com, and got a large double room for £85, a great rate! The welcome we received on arrival was very friendly, and were helped with our bags to the room. All the rooms have their own access, and ours was set back on a small side road. We live in London and found the Black Boys was great for a week end get away as it was just over an hour form London but felt a million miles away from all the hustle and bustle! The room was large, spotless, tastefully decorated, and had a fantastic double shower! We had rooms over looking open countryside, and were just a three min walk from the river Thames. There was tee and coffee making facilities in the room and the King size bed was one of the most comfortable I have stayed in. I had seen the Jan Moir review in the Telegraph, one of the most positive reviews I have ever read by her before my stay, and I was not disappointed. The food was fantastic! And there was something for everyone. The Wine choice was huge and had some really interesting wines by the glass, so you can experiment with out having to get a whole bottle. The atmosphere in the restaurant was very busy, and relaxed. We had a faultless stay and can’t recommend the Black Boys highly enough. The accommodation was fantastic value for money! And the food was something special!

Date visited: 1st March

Review by Mark Hudson on 28th February, 2007

Add your review
My Wife and I recently went to the Black Boys for Sunday lunch by chance. The beef was fantastic and the best any of us have had in a long time! And there was lighter options on the menu such as fresh monkfish with scallops, Halibut and Turbot all of the 24 hour day boats, and beautifully presented! The restaurant its self was very attractive, with polished oak floors comfy upholstered chairs and an open fire. The service was professional, and there were no screaming kids in sight!

Date visited: 28 Feb

Review by Hannah King on 23rd February, 2007

Add your review
I visited with my husband for our anniversary, the place was heaving and there was a great atmosphere. Although we had read good reviews in particular the Sunday Time review! the whole experience surpassed our expectations! The food was great with some interesting dishes on the menu! And the service was professional and very knowledgeable! There were over 40 wines available by the glass and their home made bread was fantastic! Overall it was fantastic value for money, and we have already booked to go again!

Date visited: 21 Feb

Review by ben on 19th December, 2006

Add your review
I have never left anywhere with such a negative feeling. Don't get me wrong here though, the food was ok but what absolutely ruined everything was the attitude of the owner and the poor service. When we spoke to the owner to say that we were not happy with the service we recieved, she simply replied "I don't want to hear it and in fact I want you to leave". She then returned with the bill, demanded payment and stood there waving us to the door! I have never been so shocked by such unjustified rudeness. I would have had better service at a motorway service station, and with hindsight, I would rather have gone to one.

Date visited: December 2006

Review by Angela Beresford on 18th December, 2006

Add your review
Our food was reasonable, although the main courses arrived too quickly and the pudding (apple tart) was a touch burnt. 16th December 06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Health is the state about which medicine has nothing to say. - W H Auden
More Quotes

On this day:
First Non-Stop Transatlantic Jet Flight - 1950, Launch of ITV - 1955, 10 Soldiers killed by IRA bomb attack in Deal - 1989
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages