It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

May 2019: The North Cornwall Coast

For those who have decided for whatever reason green conscience, the dreaded credit crunch, or maybe simple curiosity to holiday in Britain this ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Lemon Tree, Tenterden

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mrs Anthony on 16th January, 2011

Add your review
First, let it be noted that I am no relation to Mr Anthony who has placed a previous review. Very dear friends of ours are moving to Tenterden in March so, as we (myself and my husband) were in the area, we decided to have lunch in what is to be their local town. We planned to have lunch in one of the local restaurants and particularly chose the Lemon Tree (over and above Cafe Rouge) because we wanted to support a local business. Sadly, this was a mistake! I ordered a chicken and bacon sandwich but unfortunately the bread was not at all fresh. I was absolutely starving so ate the meal anyway. It came with crisps and a very generous salad along with a side-dish of coleslaw (which I was delighted to see was homemade). However the mayonaise in both the sandwich and coleslaw was too rich and there was too much of it. The salad was great and so were the crisps but to be honest there was too much on the plate which served as being off-putting. I did descreetly mention to the waitress that the bread was not fresh and she said she would report it then immediately presented me with the bill. More disturbing than this was the state of the toilets. There was no soap to wash your hands (what do the waitresses do, I wonder?) and no bin to put waste toilet rolls or paper towels in. As a result, they were strewn all around both sink areas and and added to my concerns about hygiene. I also wonder if the ladies toilets are legal as my knees touched the door when I sat down and there was nowhere hygienic to put my bag (a hook on the back of the door was not feasible due to tightness of space). All in all a grave disappointment. I shall not return when visiting my friends to either the Lemon Tree or its Sister Restaurant.

Date visited: 16th January 2011

Review by gill swansbury on 15th January, 2011

Add your review
I would like to add to the reveiws of the Lemon Tree by saying that we enjoyed our vist very much, we arrived on a wet and windy November Sunday afternoon and we were glad to find somewhere warm and welcoming to have a pot of tea and a scrummy cake, the waitresses were very polite and helpful thankyou. We did buy a few early Christmas gifts and on finding that a vital part was missing on our return home the owners could not have been more helpful in ensuring that we received said item, which was so appreciated, many thanks guys keep up the good work.

Date visited: Nov 2010

Review by wendy on 26th September, 2010

Add your review
very disappointed that the sign outside clearly displayed ...open for teacakes , sandwiches etc. On sitting we were greated and asked if we wished to have the lunch menu, we declined and a few minutes later we were approached again and asked what we wanted. We requested 2 coffees and 2 teacakes, omly to be told lunch only !!! Why were we not told this on declining the lunch menu? The board outside clearly stated open for...teacakes. another board was specific in offereing breakfast only up until 11.30, which made the criteria clear, so WHY is this not made clear both outside and on taking seats ? We took photos of the boards to e mail but so far i cannot find an e mail address for them.

Date visited: 24.09.10

Review by Dr. Terry on 29th November, 2009

Add your review
Unfortunately we can no longer recommend or use The Lemon Tree in Tenterden. Having ordered cream teas and one warm meal, we were told it would take too long and that they weren't doing cream teas,they were too busy. Cream teas were clearly on the menu. We have previously always used The Lemon Tree on our frequent shopping visits to Tenterden,often with foreign guests,despite similarly gruff treatment with respect to larger orders last time - two orders arrived nearly half an hour apart. Moreover, we recently experienced visible impatience from a young lady serving table with respect to a visiting businessman's foreign accent. We seem to be either too slow, too foreign, or too cheap. We don't seem to fit in there. Things seem to have changed lately. Perhaps a search for a young clientele ?

Date visited: 28 November

Review by Mr. K.Osborne on 9th March, 2009

Add your review
What a delightful restaurant in the middle of Tenterden High Street; Although it was Sunday lunch time, we went for the snack menu which was well displayed and the food very good. However, I'm sorry, but the girls waiting clearly did nothing in your favour ? They were abrupt in their manner, and literally threw the condiments and food on to the table. Such a shame, when they were all very pretty, but had such attitude and hormonal behaviour. I have a daughter their age....Are they all like it ? Or are we getting too fussy to dine out ? It's not much to ask to be served with a smile is it ?

Date visited: 8th March 2009

Review by Steven on 9th January, 2009

Add your review
The Lemon Tree is a great place to sit and wait in the warm - lovely building. However, the filthy tables have been crammed in and you can hear other customers complaining about their meals very clearly. When you get fed up with waiting, you can go to a restaurant just down the road where, unlike in The Lemon Tree, you actually get served.

Date visited: 9/1/09

Review by mature older woman on 9th October, 2008

Add your review
the lemon trees is a lovley place i realy enjoyed my visit.... the food was great trees nan. te the staff were extreemly helpfull trees nan. i honestly could not find a single problem with the service and would recomend it to any one trees nan... one member of staff was very very nice. she was nice indeed but i can not remember her name.... may of been rachel overall a very nivce place 9 out of 10

Date visited: 3rd october

Review by Gordon on 24th September, 2008

Add your review
Please disregard the review (below) by the strangely sounding "Mr Anthony" as it is patently fake. I live near Tenterden,and was there on Sept 23rd 2008. They DO NOT serve Pizza OR Fish Fingers! We eat there regularly,and their food is always good and fresh,with pleasant service;and considering it's in the middle of the town the prices aren't bad either. So although "Mr Anthony" appears to know what the building looks like (has he been inside? I think not) he doesn't know much else. More like a professional cafe assassin than a reviewer.

Date visited: 23rd Sept 2008

Review by Gordon on 22nd September, 2008

Add your review
I can only say that Mr Anthony was obviously reviewing the WRONG restaurant. I say Mr Anthony was reviewing the wrong restaurant because in all the time I have eaten there,they have never had Pizza or Fish Fingers. We eat at The Lemon Tree frequently (we live not far away) and it has always had good food,pleasant staff,and reasonable prices. Now we have to try and work out WHICH restaurant(and maybe which town) Mr Anthony was eating in?

Date visited: Sept 2008

Review by david on 16th September, 2008

Add your review
i went with my mum. i enjoyed it. it was nice

Date visited: today

Review by Mr Douglas on 4th September, 2008

Add your review
I visted the Lemon Tree yesterday and enjoyed my visit greatly. The staff were friendly and helpfull, the food was brilliant and the setting was beautiful. I'd defo recco this place to anyone looking for a nice place to eat in Tenterden. A very enjoyable experience. Rach Moore

Date visited: 03 September 2008

Review by steve on 2nd September, 2008

Add your review
i am suprised about a review i have seen about the lemon tree as i had a lovley meal the other day. the staff were helpfull and gaging to the max.

Date visited: 1st september 2008

Review by Mr Anthony on 17th February, 2008

Add your review
At first glance this place looked pretty good, nice oldy worldy type place with plenty of seating spaces available. But for some reason my family and I were seated in a small corner. I ordered and paid for a pot/bottomless coffee I would expect to be asked or checked upon if I needed a top up, but NO they were still to busy slagging off the customers. My daughter had pizza and chips-the pizza was those nasty cheap ones you get at the supermarket 20 for 99p, and also burnt black on the underside. My wife had baked spud and salad - and not very fresh. My son had fishfingers n chips- all deep fried and greesy. I had pie n veg but again the veg was NOT fresh at all. The high chair i was offered for my son was wripped with sponge poking out of it and visibly dirty and could NOT be used. Staff left in charge that are too young and inexperienced to be in charge of a restaurant. I complained to the waitress who thanked me for letting her no,so they no where to make improvements for the future - was she taking the mick? I then took it to the girl in charge who said to me 'it was'nt me' - Shocking response what happened to customer service. so if want crap food,dirty cutlery,rotten surroundings and to be bitched about then go to the lemon tree. Im disgusted with myself for staying there and paying the bill in full but my kids needed feeding.

Date visited: 17-2-08

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Oh, to be in England now that April's there. - Robert Browning
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Nechtansmere - 0685, Major Earthquake Damages Canterbury Cathedral - 1382, Treaty of Troyes - 1420, Cooper Floors Ali - 1966, Cutty Sark Ablaze - 2007
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages