It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

June 2019: The Resorts of North Devon

Devon is the only county in England with two separate coasts, north and south. It is the latter that is perhaps better known and more ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of L'artista, Letchworth Garden City

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Nicole on 7th May, 2010

Add your review
Came here with a party of 8 adults and 7 children. The place was busy even at 5.45pm- which shows the popularity and that booking is a good idea! I had a great meal, the best pizza I have had in the UK and the Tiramisu is DIVINE! With our huge group that consisted of many young children- it was perfect. The noise was enough for our kids to blend in but not so much as to be intrusive. It was a fun, inexpensive and yummy eat out. I would- and will return.

Date visited: 1-5-2010

Review by dominique on 15th February, 2010

Add your review
best food in the world !!!!!!!!! love this place its all about ravioli l'artista you have to try this !!!! yummmmyyy xxx

Review by lisa on 24th July, 2009

Add your review
fresh food good vino cheap price great service what else would u need!!!!

Review by Alan on 12th May, 2009

Add your review
Took our Son Daniel here for an 18th birthday meal, 10 of us in all. The food is superb, the service is second to none. You can take your own cake along and they bring it out during your meal. Italian beers and wines are very good and reasonably priced. The atmosphere is just like being in Italy, full of life and very noisey!! Everyone in our party had a very memorable and enjoyable time. This restaurant is a jewel in Letchworths crown, long may it prosper. See what you think, if you like good Italian food, reasonably priced, with great service, you can't lose. This ias where you'll find it.

Date visited: 9th May 2009

Review by chris and clare on 26th August, 2008

Add your review
WOW! what a fantastic restaurant, the food is to die for, if you like italian food you are gonna love this place, the service is outstanding, and the price is very reasonable, we are definately gonna be returning to this restaurant, i have enver orgasmed without having sex before, but i did tonight eating the paradiso dessert, thank you for a very enjoyable evening l`artista.....this place is highly recommended!!!

Date visited: 26/08/08

Review by mike on 22nd July, 2008

Add your review
One of the best resteraunts in Letchworth, a great atmosphere which is not noisy because of kids, but because of people having lots of fun, drinking and eating good reasonbly priced food. Went there for my 19th - good times.

Date visited: feb 08

Review by Sarah on 19th July, 2008

Add your review
The staff would not leave us alone (a table of girls). It really put us off wanting to go back there. Was also very noisy.

Date visited: 26-07-08

Review by Alec on 24th June, 2008

Add your review
L'Artista is probably one of Letchworths's best restaurants. The staff are always helpful and the menu varied. As I am half Italian I know what good Italian food should be like and for the UK L'Artista is up among the better ones. It is also excellent value for money. The protions were once ridiculously large and have now decreased to just large. It is noisy as the floor is hard and reflective of sound. It is laso popular - I wonder why? Could it be good value and good food?

Date visited: various

Review by Madeleine on 9th June, 2008

Add your review
There is one thing I love about that place and that is everything! The service, the price!! and not to mention the food. Prior to moving to letchworth i confess i was a tad snobbish when it came to Italian food. I thought nobody could produce fine Italian food at a low price. Most chains of Italian Restaurants are very microwaved pre-packed style - but low cost. L'artista is Fresh, Delicious and home cooked food and AT LOW COST. It can be a little noisy in the restaurant but i think this just shows the scope of how successful the restaurant is. If you go to any large restaurant you get a lot of noise if it is popular. My Boyfriend and I often eat there and manage to have a starter each and a main course for roughly 23 between us! really not bad at all! The only downside of this place is that the side dishes are a little bit too buttery (carrots, potatoes etc) but apart from that it is great. I would recommend L'artista to anybody - especially if you like shell fish, pizza, Pasta or meat (so basically anyone!!) Bon Apetite!

Date visited: Twice Monthly

Review by R. White on 8th March, 2008

Add your review
How anyone can go to L'Artista and not enjoy themselves I don't know. My wife and I eat there regularly, and take our children occasionally. Nothing is too much trouble for the waiting staff, portions more than enough, food always excellent and prices reasonable. No, I don't work for them. Would recommend to anyone.

Date visited: 01/03/2008

Review by lei on 21st December, 2007

Add your review
After reading reviews of L'Artista in Letchworth posted on internet sites such as this one, i looked forward to eating somewhere where the portions were large, the service friendly, and the food good quality. I took the advice of other reviews and went on a weekday night. Perhaps it was because it was so close to Christmas, but the restaurant was crowded and noisy. Just trying to talk with the person sat opposite me was like being in a pub, when we had to shout at each other in order to be hard. I had gone with colleagues from work for our Christmas meal. Along with them I had chosen one of the Christmas menus. I am vegetarian and it seemed to make a difference. After what seemed an interminable wait a very small starter of a few mushrooms in a very acidic tomato sauce was hardly an appetiser. Then after what seemed another interminable wait came a dish of filled pasta, the number of which i could had counted on the fingers of my two hands, in a weak tomato sauce. Then after another interminable wait the dessert arrived, an ice cream. Then yet another lengthy wait until the coffee in a small cup. Was it me? Is it because i am vegetarian? A colleague had also ordered the vegetarian option from the menu, and her comment was that she could buy a packet of filled pasta from the corner shop at home which would have contained more pasta and cost 1.99 instead of the 16.95 the Christmas menu cost. My colleagues who had ordered meat received a roast dinner and a side plate of vegetables. The portions were mean, and the wait between each course was unacceptable. I know the restaurant was busy; but more waiting staff should have been hired. A couple of the waiting staff were surly and i suspect that was because they were rushed off their feet. Even the beer was disappointing. I'm not a fan of Italian beers, which i was told was all that was available, and even they were served in 300ml bottles or a half pint glass. All in all a disappointing visit to this restaurant. The compulsory service charge of 1.90 per person which was added to the bill was the final straw for me. It was undeserved and gave me no opportunity to express my dissatisfaction. I don't know whether it was because the Christmas menu is a rip-off. Perhaps if you go to L'Artista you simply shouldn't order from a set menu. My colleagues commented as much. The garlic bread was nice: it's a shame that the best dish from the evening was the complimentary one....

Date visited: 20/12/07

Review by E Harris on 19th November, 2007

Add your review
Food is better than most places where I have eaten in Italy. Short but decent wine list Helpful staff, friendly without being "matey". Worth a visit any time of day.

Date visited: 4 times this year

Review by Serie on 23rd July, 2007

Add your review
Fabulous food

Review by Helen Allwynn on 1st June, 2007

Add your review
Definitely the best place to eat in Letchworth. The food is fantastic, you get more than enough of it and the prices are great too. The atmosphere is really nice, I could eat here every week!

Date visited: 05/05/07

Review by Sam on 2nd November, 2006

Add your review
Went here for the first time last week ! and am going back again saturday for a birthday. Absoloutley loved it..food was gawjus.. at well good prices..DEFFO GIVE IT A TRY !! :)

Date visited: 1/11/90

Review by Ashleen on 3rd October, 2006

Add your review
Love the food, friendly staff and venue. This is a superb Italian restaurant with a bustling atmosphere-ideal for any occasion-especially birthdays!!!

Date visited: various

Review by Carla on 21st June, 2006

Add your review
Yum Yum Yum!!!

Date visited: Not long ago

Review by Emily Amphlett on 11th March, 2006

Add your review
Fantastic restaurant- the best in Letchworth! Fantastic, friendly service, delightful italian cuisine at respectable prices. I have been back numerous times, often in groups of about 10 and still I am yet to be disappointed.

Date visited: numerous!

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Talking is the disease of age. - Ben Jonson
More Quotes

On this day:
Oxford University Chartered - 1214, First Municipal Fire Brigade Forms - 1726, 1st Paddleship steamer crosses Atlantic - 1819, Death of William IV - Victoria becomes Queen - 1837
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages