It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of The Old Brewhouse, Arbroath

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Keith on 6th September, 2010

Add your review
Could not believe last orders for dinner was at 8.45 pm. When I walked in at 8.10 and asked for a table the first thing that was consulted was the clock on the wall before I was told that they could take me. The food was basic but OK. However I think they should recosider their haggis starter and the way it is served. For my main course the haddock and chips was reasonably good but the prices for steaks was not. Thanks but won't be back either to Arbroath or the Old Brewhouse.

Date visited: 01-09-2010

Review by lucy on 16th October, 2008

Add your review
Driving down from Aberdeen to Edinburgh with my two children, we decided to take the coastal route for a change and stop off for lunch and a bit of fresh air. We parked in the free car park and walked round the corner to see the Old Brewhouse and wandered in with no expectations. The staff were polite and friendly, the service was speedy and the meals were excellent. I have so often been disappointed by poor quality food and service that this was a refreshing change, and I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Date visited: 16.10.08

Review by Gemma Cargill on 10th March, 2008

Add your review
Will have to say we had to wait on are table but was very kindly squeezed in only that afternoon so expected that. But while we were waiting had drinks at the bar and a good banter with the lady owner. When we got are meal will have to say everything was perfect would recommend there cullen skink and mushrooms for starter. As for main i had steak and the meat was cooked perfect and very tasty. Would highly recommened this place for a lovely meal.And will definitely be back when im up in July.xx

Date visited: 16/02/2008

Review by Miss Susan Dye on 5th December, 2007

Add your review
when i was recently visiting family i took them for a meal. we had to wait on our table for over a hour. None of the staff made any effort to get us seated or made any apology. When we evently got our table we had to wait a futher hour before we recieved our meal. I have never been so disappointed in my life it was a total disgrace.None of the staff seemed to bother about it and i did complain a few times. I certainly will not be back there again

Date visited: 10.11.2007

Review by Peter H on 8th November, 2007

Add your review
I must contend to what is being said here! When I visited I found it to be a very friendly place and the meal was excellent. While no doubt sometime things can go wrong, and this happens to many all place, I was very pleased with what I got. The decor is pleasing and staff friendly. My point in year only a very few people have complained on this site would suggest not many ara displeased by this place and most find it an excellent wee resturant.

Date visited: 08/10/07

Review by Ian on 31st July, 2007

Add your review
Another good restaurant ruined by chain ownership. 2 hours for 6 of us to be served with our starters and main courses - lost interest by dessert time and gave up. Poor quality meat, fries not cooked properly (some barely defrosted), seasoning heavy-handed. No one in authority to speak to about dissatisfaction. No response to complaints to staff apart from apologies from waiting staff. recommend Fish and Chips from one of the nearby Chip Shops.

Date visited: 30/07/07

Review by disapointed on 9th July, 2007

Add your review
If there are any chinese goths you'll love the new look, if you know and love the "old" brewhouse prepare to weep. Its awful; I'm sorry but is all I can say. I could have survived the bad taste in decor if only there were some staff available to look after us, unfortunately not. The foods still ok but thats about it. Its now part of Punch Taverns I believe, you can always tell where theres no direct personal owner involvment.

Date visited: 12th June 2007

Review by hamish on 21st April, 2007

Add your review
need more staff . the meals size have decreased

Review by patrick anderson on 17th October, 2006

Add your review
Excellent meal and so friendly staff and so nice owner lady as well . In other words excellent

Date visited: 17 Oct 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Nothing builds self-esteem and self-confidence like accomplishment - Thomas Carlyle
More Quotes

On this day:
Boston Massachusetts Founded - 1630, Operation Market Garden - Allied invasion of Holland - 1944, Lord of the Flies Published - 1954
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages