It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Norman Inn, Barnsley

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Ralph Kidger on 12th January, 2011

Add your review
The Inn is pleasant enough, fairly recent refit but that is it. I had a 275ml bottle of lager - 3.10, at a cost of something like 75p not a bad mark up. As for the food, why do we put up with the garbage served up in pub chains such as the Norman. The menu was obviously for somewhere else since the food served to me bore no resemblence to the photograph. Not only that but part of the meal was clap cold. Now you would think that an educationally sub normal chimp could be trained to use a microwave oven. I would bet that the only piece of equipment in the kitchen is in fact a microwave which the staff have clearly not mastered. Give it a miss and all the other such esablishments, make portion control a criminal offence and then, maybe then, we could get back to getting passable food served up

Date visited: 12th Jan 2011

Review by alan farmer on 20th July, 2010

Add your review
WENT IN ON A QUITE AFTERNOON SO NO PROBLEM GETTING SERVED. I NOTICED THAT MEALS WERE TYPICAL "PUB-CHAIN" FARE,BUT LOOKED OK .I WAS NOT EATING.I CAN REMEMBER WHEN THE NORMAN WAS A PROPER LOCAL PUB WITH MANY "TEAMS" WITHIN IT.I REALISE TIMES CHANGE,BUT THE MODERN NORMAN CANNOT MATCH THE PURPOSE BUILT FAMILY PUBS IT IS TRYING TO COPY. IT SHOULD HAVE STAYED A "LOCAL"

Date visited: march 2010

Review by Trevor on 10th March, 2009

Add your review
As we live quite close we have visited the Norman on several occasions. Why I am not quite sure - it must only be because it is so close to home. I know what one of your other review people mean about the surly dark haired bar person. The majority of them are like that. I have heard on the grapevine that the couple who ran it have left - hope its true. Unfortunately someone mentioned the daughter might take over - not promising. Visited last night and the place was an absolute mess. Several tables had food all over, meat and gravy left on a shelf and food all over the floor. Staff just stood at the bar talking. Hope the new Managers are better at keeping the pub clean and are friendlier to their customers. This is part of what makes people come back. Take note.

Date visited: 9th March 2009

Review by Michael Smith on 17th September, 2008

Add your review
We are frequent visitors and enjoy a good atmosphere, good value food and a refreshing pint.My only critism is the extensive choice of meals.It must be hell in the kitchen.Food is served hot and we have never been disappointed.

Review by pat on 14th September, 2008

Add your review
visited norman several times usually good but today was dissapointed with lady with dark hair at bar everythig was too much trouble and she was even unaware they served childrens curry. Didnt like her attitude at all. my Barnsley chop was more like a lamb chop,good job the veg was nice. Will make sure that misery wont serve me again.

Date visited: 140908

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Happiness is not a possession to be prized, it is a quality of thought, a state of mind. - Daphne du Maurier
More Quotes

On this day:
Foundation of NATO - 1949, Microsoft Founded - 1975, First Episode of The Good Life - 1975, First Woman in the Boat Race - 1981
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages