It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Bell Inn, Lacock

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by lois cater on 13th September, 2011

Add your review
Always good and friendly service. Excellent menu, and the BEST CHIPS in Wiltshire!

Date visited: frequent, last on 12/9/11

Review by Patrick gulliford on 8th August, 2010

Add your review
Yet again another wonderful visit to The Bell Inn at Lacock the food was great as always and the"real ale" a credit to the Landlord a big thankyou to you all for the welcomming and great service we had,

Date visited: 8th July 2010

Review by Jane Haffe on 18th March, 2010

Add your review
This has got to be the best place to refresh yourselves in lacock. The staff are so pleasant and the food is exellent. I nor my family have ever had a bad meal here. i can take anyone here and know we will leave happy and very content. Alan and Heather know thier job inside out. How can these guys win so many awards with out putting the efffort in. You and your staff are a credit to your peoffesion, Keep up the good work guys x x

Date visited: allways

Review by dan on 2nd December, 2009

Add your review
I enjoyed a perfect meal at the bell in the Sunday just gone, the staff were pleasant and the food was brilliant this Karen Seymore hasnít got a clue Becky was my waitress and I couldnít fault her in any possible way so dont listen to her comment its complete rubbish thank you again

Date visited: 29/11/09

Review by Mrs M Winston on 1st December, 2009

Add your review
I was shocked to read the review underneath and see someone single out a young girl in such a personal way, after visiting the bell i could not understand that comment, for all the staff were very friendly and happy to serve and i did in fact experience the service of the young girl mentioned below and found her to be a lovely and hard working waitress who i never saw without a smile. I find it unexceptible that a person would put a persons full name down in a review, and feel they owe this young girl an apologie. As for everything else i found the food, service and atmosphere in the bell to be excellent and i recomend it. I also recomend you request becky as she was brilliant.

Date visited: 22/11/09

Review by Jonathon Angel on 1st December, 2009

Add your review
What a gem! Friends had told us about the Bell but it's an 18 mile round trip so we had been putting it off I'm glad we made the effort. The real ale was amazing, excellent range and quality, while sat in the bar area I watched the barman flush at least a gallon of water through the pipes before putting on the next ale. No wonder the ales tasted fresh and flavoursome!! The food was superb and excellent value, the sizzling platter was particularly flavoursome and the cheese board was a delight. As with all reviews you have to make a decision on what you read but personally I would recommend the Bell to anyone, give it a try I doubt youíll be disappointed.

Date visited: 24th October 09

Review by Karen Seymore on 28th August, 2009

Add your review
I visited The Bell one Sunday of late July with my sister and her family expecting all the wonderful things I heard about The Bell in Lacock, only however to be greeted with the rudest staff I have ever experienced. I wouldn't usually name names, however I can only hope that something will be done in order to improve this situation through my saying so - the young girl's name is Becky, according to another member of staff, Becky Andrews. I was utterly shocked at how somewhere with such high recomendations could employ such a character. Minus this, I would further recomend The Bell, just ensure you ask for another waitress!

Date visited: July 2009

Review by Mrs. P Norris on 26th August, 2009

Add your review
Just to say what a superb pub, we were welcomed on the lunchtime, we had only popped in for a drink after visiting Laycock. The Bar Manager certainly knew his beers[my husband is a real ale freak], and was very friendly. We also had a snack which was very good. We were so impressed we returned in the evening. The meal we had was very good indeed, my husband had the Salmon Fishcakes, which he said were great, I had the Bacon covered Chicken with cheese sauce which was also lovely. Later I had a homemade White chocolate and ginger cheesecake with cream, which was a delight. THANK YOU Once again The Bell, for a lovely time.

Date visited: 24/08/2009

Review by Tamsin on 6th July, 2009

Add your review
It was my birthday lunch, a special treat and I received the most appalling service and had the most upsetting experience of my life. I waited for 20 minutes to place my order, which was fine, but when I started to order my food I discovered that one of the items one of my guests wanted was not available. I asked the owner for help - did he have anything similar he could recommend perhaps? I was curtly told to read the menu. The menu that was hidden behind a group of people and so I could not see it. After asking again for just a simple suggestion I had another board thrust in my hands. Was I given a moment to choose? Not on your life. Instead he started to serve someone behind me. I was carrying a tired and hungry toddler and was clearly struggling to read the board but was treated like I was an enormous inconvenience. I became irritated. I asked if he could please wait for me to choose so I can order my food. I got an another curt response. Finally I had ordered and walked away feeling extremely confused and upset only to have him stop me in front of the entire pub. He then called me the rudest person he has ever met, told me that all the other customers agreed, tore up my order and threw it in my face. My child started to cry, I was utterly humiliated and had to tell my friends we were to leave as we were now banned. I sat in the car crying while they finished their drinks (at my insistence). Thank you for such a memorable birthday experience.

Date visited: 05 July

Review by Frances Dewar on 21st March, 2009

Add your review
We have lunched at Le Manoir au Qat Saison, dined and lunched at Holmwood Park and one our favourite eating places in the area is The Angel at Upton Scudamore. Now we can add another favourite place to our list. We have just returned from having lunch at the Bell Inn with our grandaughter and her fiance and we really enjoyed our meal. I was concerned before we went because of the last review but I now assume that it was written by someone who either ate at the Bell on what was for some reason a rare bad day or they are quite simply pretentious or perhaps malicious. Please accept that The Bell is a very good pub and give it a try.

Date visited: 21.3.09

Review by Mark Ireson on 26th January, 2009

Add your review
The Bell Inn Lacock.... Well the place as soon as you walk in smacks of Fanny Craddock (And that's not a good thing!). The tatty walls in the so called restaurant area, the cheap paper tableclothes, the unmatched scuffed cutlery & best of all what looks like a blue urine vessel with 2 plastic flowers!!. I think the average age of the diners was 70 (i guess for the OAP special roast) @ £4. I wouldn't even inflict this food on my worst enemy. The chefs obviously have great skill in microwaving and deep frying as the air of the place had a lingering subtlety to it. The only way i can describe culinary talent like this is if Stevie Wonder, Steven Hawkin and someone whose tastebuds had been burnt off had a love child. The prices are extortionate for the quality (excuse the sarcasm) and also for the lack of care and attention. The roast potatoes were most definitely deep fried, the duck spring rolls again must be an iceland special microwaved and the artistic flare to put a cherry tomato & some rocket with duck spring rolls beggars belief. The plum sauce for the spring rolls (on the menu) was replaced (without telling us) with what my wife described as chilli sauce but it looked so pale and sorry for itself it was almost crying out for a visa out of there. God bless places like this. I'm not a food snob but considering you can eat cheaper on a Sunday at say 2A in Malmesbury, 3 crowns in Brinkworth or the Horse & Groom Charlton i feel that i need to express my anger. Make an effort and drive a few miles more to the 3 i mentioned then go back to the Bell and then tell me why this pub should even be allowed to serve "so called food"!!! the owners should be ashamed.

Date visited: 25th January 2009

Review by boden on 12th September, 2008

Add your review
a fantastic pub we visited every night of our short break,food to die for,staff very friendly,surroundings great,decorated the table for an anniversary,my little grandson had a small accident,& the staff were very attentive & kind,excellent all round.wish it was our local!!

Date visited: 7th-11th sept 2008

Review by Pamela Jefferies on 1st June, 2008

Add your review
We had heard good reports and this time was able to book a table. We did not have starters and went straight into the main course, and as I am a vegetarian was surprised to find I had more than six dishes to choose from as the average is three it was a struggle for me. The food was very good and I did manage to tackle a pudding a Red Berry Pavlova and I must say it was the icing on the cake. All four of us had a very enjoyable meal nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff who was all very friendly and approachable. Yes we would go back there again and as I live in Oxfordshire and go and visit my in-laws from time to time will be going back and recommend to others.

Date visited: 31/05/2008

Review by Robert Bromley on 3rd March, 2008

Add your review
I reserved a meal for four on Mothers day because I had heard such good reports. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Its with regret though that we were all left a bit dissapointed. The starter I had was Pate with toast and salad. The pate was low quality and there was no chutney. for main I had Lamb with mint sauce. There was no mint sauce and the meat was pre processed as were the accompanyments. The only saving grace was the dessert which was 'OK'. I had Apple Pie which was really a bit too sweet. Between courses we were kept waiting far too long wedged underneath the stairs by the Entrance which was the main thoroughfare to smokers corner 'the Cough Inn!'. For four this cost £90.00+, if I was to put a value on it it would be no more than £40.00 including drinks. Next time? -no thanks-

Date visited: 2/3/2008

Review by Mrs Kay Wakeley on 11th July, 2005

Add your review
My husband and i came out to the pub for a quiet dinner time meal,the first time at the pub for a dinner time lunch,but i must say the food was really nice,nothing was too much trouble, for any of the staff,we were made to feel very welcome,i also came out on another occasion with a group of friends for a birthday,this was a night time,and again the food was fantastic,the staff very friendly,even our waiter who had to deal with a big group of ladies,finally i must say your lemon and lime tart is to die for,i would recommend anyone to try this great pub for there selfs,it is well worth a visit,you will not be disappointed.

Date visited: June 28th 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Justice delayed is justice denied. - W E Gladstone
More Quotes

On this day:
Edward II killed at Berkeley Castle - 1327, Battle of Prestonpans - 1745, Tolkien Publishes The Hobbit - 1937, First Old Grey Whistle Test - 1971
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages