Top Picks:

Hotel Foxhills Club & Resort Foxhills Club & Resort
B and B Sarumdene Sarumdene
Self-Catering Swallow Barn Swallow Barn
Inn Wheatsheaf Inn Wheatsheaf Inn

Surrey
National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

August 2014: Cardigan Bay

Cardigan Bay as a destination would be a tester for a professional explorer. Not in terms of terrain, though the Cambrian Mountains backing much ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Half Moon, Charlwood

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Rita Hodgson on 21st February, 2013

Add your review
Visited my daughter and family in Newdigate and went to Half Moon for a family meal. The food was delicious - best meal I have had for a long time! Service was good and there was a nice atmosphere in the pub. Would definitely recommend it and we will most certainly be going back the next time we visit our daughter.

Date visited: 20/2/13

Review by Jennie Dada on 22nd November, 2009

Add your review
We had reserved a table for 6. When we arrived there was another couple having a drink, apart from them the pub was deserted! This should have been omen. We were the only diners for the whole evening and every so often a bell kept ringing - quite irritating to say the least. Our meal in general was very mediocre and luke warm. My husband's Thai curry contained very sparse and minute pieces of chicken and my daughter's boyfriend's meal was not good value for money either. When I asked Eduardo (the waiter) why there were no diners except us, he stated that the bad weather had prevented them venturing out. We were then informed by Eduardo that the pub/restaurant usually closes at 10.00 p.m. it was already 10.30 p.m. We felt obliged to leave rather promptly. I don't think I have ever visited a country pub where it closed at this time. My husband went to pay the bill and was told by Eduardo that the card machine was out of order and that the bill had to be paid for in cash. He was not pleased. My husband persisted with Eduardo. Eventually, he produced the card machine, which miraculously worked first time - very strange don't you think? Both my husband and I and other members of our party were not overwhelmed by the quality or quantity of the meal. Such a shame as the restaurant had some very redeeming features. The experience at The Half Moon was a very average one and I certainly would not recommend it.

Date visited: 21.11.09

Review by Dean on 5th May, 2009

Add your review
There was twenty of my family and friends booked in for a meal prior to my wedding the following day. Firstly, the décor is very modern and refreshing which compliments the village setting. As for the food and service, this was simply 1st Class and as such would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone. Have now booked up for my Birthday celebrations too. Take my word and find out for yourself!!!!

Date visited: 27/03/2009

Review by Oliver on 7th May, 2008

Add your review
Service left a lot to be desired; we walked in and the bar lady didn't even raise a smile. Long waits for everything; food, menus, drinks. Either a poorly designed restaurant, not enough staff (struggle to believe that given it was almost empty), or ghost staff. I walked up to the bar to order desserts (table service non existent); a gentlemen at the bar also commented on the service (or lack of) to a colleague. On the plus side, the pub is in a beautiful location, with modern decor and the food was excellent. Our waitress was also friendly. Regards.

Date visited: 07/05/2008

Review by Louise on 29th November, 2006

Add your review
We had a great meal here the other evening. The food was excellent, with seasonal recipes which promote the use of local produce. They also serve a good choice of wine and ales. I'd recommend you visit!

Date visited: 26/11/06

Review by Alex on 9th April, 2006

Add your review
Highly Recommended! The Half Moon is a Lovely Village Pub set in a splendid location next to St Nicholas Church in Charlwood. We visited following a friend’s glowing praise of the recent refurbishment and the High standard of food. Glad we did because our dinner was superb! The Menu offers a broad selection of fresh and local recipes, and they have an equally good wine list to match. This is one of those great village pubs to know about, whether you fancy a quick relaxing drink or an impressive meal with friends. We’ll definitely be visiting again!

Date visited: 08/04/06

Review by PAUL on 31st March, 2006

Add your review
First Class! We had a fantastic meal and are very impressed with the new refurbishment. The Half Moon is tucked away by the village Church in Charlwood but definitely worth looking up!

Date visited: 15/03/06

Review by Trudi on 12th March, 2006

Add your review
A couple of weekends ago we enjoyed a superb Sunday lunch at the Half Moon in Charlwood. I am delighted to be given this chance to say how superb we found the food, the staff and the atmosphere. We hadn’t visited the pub for several years but heard about the new refurbishment and thought we might check it out. We were slightly reticent to see how it might have changed, thinking it may have been moulded into another bog standard chain restaurant. Far from it! The fantastic refurbishment has managed to successfully mix the old with the new. A lot of thought seems to have gone into respecting the pub's architectural history and its significance to the village and surrounds, whilst also introducing a modern fine dining atmosphere. I am certainly going to be recommending The Half Moon to all my family and friends! This Pub/restaurant has to be the best-kept secret in Horley - if not in Surrey. *****

Date visited: 26/02/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The fact that logic cannot satisfy us awakens an almost insatiable hunger for the irrational. - A N Wilson
More Quotes

On this day:
Great Fire of London begins - 1666, The Ashes Legend Begins - 1882, Battle of Omdurman - 1898, Japan Signs Surrender - 1945
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages