Top Picks:

Hotel Otterburn Tower Otterburn Tower
B and B Aulden Aulden
Self-Catering Beacon Hill Farm Beacon Hill Farm
Inn Collingwood Arms Hotel Collingwood Arms Hotel

N'umbria
National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2014: York and Its Surrounds

This April is a great time to be heading for York. The major attractions are all open, with luck the weather will continue to be ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Snowy Owl,

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Paul Graham on 2nd May, 2011

Add your review
Three of us went to dinner here on a friend's suggestion this evening & found that the menu was rather expensive for some items. However, we ordered our food (Lamb Hotpot @ 10.00, Chicken Forestiere @ 11.75)& when it arrived at the table, the quantity on the plates was minimal to say the least. The quality of the food was okay (nothing more-nothing less)but the portion size was equivelant to a young childs portion - one very small chicken breast, a tablespoon full of mashed potato & a few spinach leaves - the lamb hotpot came in its own dish & consisted of a small lamb chop, a few small cubes of lamb & vegetales in gravy & 3 or 4 very small new potatoes served on top of the dish served with a small chopped up cabbage leaf. I've not got the biggest appetite in the world but it's worth mentioning that I've eaten starters bigger than this! When we enquired about the size of the portions with the staff (who were incidentally, very nice!) we were told that everything was 'weighed out & sent to the pub as it was part of their new summer menu!' If you like your food, this is one place I would certainly not recommend visiting, as you will come away still feeling hungry & also ripped off! I certainly will not be going back & will make sure that I pass this information on to anybody that I know that may be thinking of visting either this pub or one it's sister pubs in the chain!

Date visited: 02.05.2011

Review by ian forbes on 16th April, 2011

Add your review
We decided to go to the snowy owl to celebrate our grandsons 18th birthday as a family (8). We were very disappointed the food was unacceptable, the chicken was burnt on the underside and the peas were very overcooked, it looked and tasted like it have been reheated. The beef burgers were very dry and the buns were twice the size of the burger and the buns just fell apart ,once again the burgers were also burnt on the underside and the fries were no better then the value frozen chips from the supermarket. The lamb shank looked and tasted like the microwave ones again from the supermarked, in fact i think the food tasted liked it was all pre cooked and brought to the premises for reheating. I will certainly not recommend your establisement to any of my friends. The size of the bill was well overpriced.

Date visited: 14 april 2011

Review by TCS on 15th April, 2010

Add your review
We visited the hotel on the recommendation of our taxi driver and were not disappointed. We found a seat immediately, the menu gave us such a selection we couldn't choose, the staff were freindly, we were served quickly, plates cleared and next courses were prompt and the food was delicious! What more can I say. The place was very pretty, staff were very courteous, the food was good value and good quality and we can't wait to go again! Thank you for a lovely experience...

Date visited: 15/4/2010

Review by maureen mccourt on 15th July, 2009

Add your review
We recently visited the Snowy Owl for sunday lunch on recommendation of a friend.we found the staff to be most polite and friendly,especially the dark haired girl with glasses,she saw that we were seated quickly and explained the proceedure for ordering at the bar we ordered two lamb lunches which were served very quickly which was a pleasant surprise as it was quite busy.the meals were very nice and we cleared our plates of every morsel. then on to pudding,the selection was varied and we settled for sticky toffee pudding which was delicious.however I have one critisism I observed the afformentioned staff member whilst talking to another customer being rudely interrupted by a male member of staff who shouted at her across the pub,surely this is not acceptable given that she was only looking after her customers as any good waitress would. All in all a pleasant visit.

Date visited: 12/07/2009

Review by Anne Jones on 13th June, 2009

Add your review
We booked a family room which promised a sofa bed for the children, this turned out to be a mattress on the floor in a room which was no bigger than a single room. We had to check in at the bar where people were ordering food and drink, so we waited a long time to get seen. There was a problem with our reservation and it was hugely embarrassing discussing it in front of other customers waiting for their dinner. The only good thing about it was the rooms were very clean, the housekeeping staff were lovely.

Date visited: 22/05/09

Review by linda neil on 8th February, 2009

Add your review
We had heard mixed reviews about the Snowy Owl in Cramlngton. Some said food was good some quite bad but decided to give them the benefit of the doubt. We went for Sunday lunch and were very dissappointed. Not much food on the plate not very hot. baby carrots not been topped with black bits left in. The lunch had no taste whatsoever. Decided to have a pudding which i must say was very nice. Sunday lunch is not cheap so expected better. However this is a lovely pub with cosy areas with fires to keep warm on cold days like today. Very family friendly also. We will go back to try something else sometime but maybe not Sunday lunch. We spend 28 between 2 which is quite a lot but the 15 we spent on lunch was a waste of money. We hope for better luck next time.

Date visited: 08/02/2009

Review by Ruth Green on 18th September, 2008

Add your review
I live in London and came back to Newcastle to visit family and friends. My friends recommended the Snowy Owl as they had been there on several occasions. I must say I wasn't dissappointed. I had the Rolled Pork Loin stuffed with apples and wrapped with pancheta ham, mashed potato (an earlier review said they thought it was Cadbury's Smash). if it was, it was delicious, with broccoli, and accompanied by a beautiful sauce. The bill was also very reasonable. It was one of the best meals I've ever had, bearing in mind I live in London and have dined in the Savoy, Hilton, and several top restaurants. Highly recommended.

Date visited: 23rd August 2008

Review by malton on 26th May, 2008

Add your review
Having visited other Vintage Inns and enjoyed tasty food, we thought we would enjoy The Snowy Owl. How I wish I had read other reviews here first. Staters - ice in the mussels delivered late, a miniscule amount of chutney served with the briw. Main courses - pineapple served under the eggs when it had been clearly stated no pineapple with the gammon, overcooked duck in salad. No communication between staff who seemed very disinterested. We shall not return.

Date visited: 24/5/08

Review by michael on 14th May, 2008

Add your review
I only stumbled accross this place yesterday, I am pretty local and heard someone talk about the snowy owl and thought, why not Ill try it. Walked in about 130 on sunday and the bar was heaving and thought theres no wayI will get a table, stood for about 3 mins and a girl with dark hair with streaks of red asked if I was being served or if I neded something, She promptly sat us down, made a fuss of the kids, said we order at the bar but if we gave her the nod she would take our order. A few minutes later we nodded.Leanne was her name and she has either been doing this for years(doubt it because she looks so young) or has a young child, came straight over and if we needed anything there was no hesitation.She made such of a fuss of the kids, gave them lollys, hid behind the table of no.47(I think it was) entertaining the kids It is not very often that I find that people in this trade enjoy the job they do, but in the short time I met her I truly believe she enjoyed it. I have recently been back and Leanne has found pastures new, I would love to see her back to the place I have been recommending to my friends and family. 10/10

Date visited: 29/9/07

Review by Gary on 9th February, 2008

Add your review
I have been to the Snowy Owl on many occasions, unfortunately my last visit was not the experience that i had expected. The food was not as good as previous visits and the service was very poor. The waiter said that he would return to the table with mustards and sauces, but never did and after our main meal, the staff and one of the managers seemed more bothered with talking with their friends, than performing the service they are paid for. Our empty plates stayed on the table for 20 - 30 minutes ( in a relatively quite time of the day)and were only collected when we approached the main bar to ask if the table could be cleared and to order puddings.In the past we have had excellent service, but the standards seem to be slipping in the wrong direction.I approached one of the managers after our meal and he did apologize and said that he would speak to the person that was responsible, but i think this is to little to late.

Date visited: 8th February 2008

Review by katharine red on 3rd October, 2007

Add your review
the snowy owl is a lovely warm place to visit and very friendly the staff are extremely well trained and it is lovely for young children. the chicken pie is creamy and delicious go there IT'S GREAT?

Date visited: 02/10/07

Review by julie on 27th June, 2007

Add your review
we have visited the snowy owl on a couple of previous occasions and have been disapointed with the food but we were told that it has been refurbished and the menu had been changed so we thought we would give it one more try - unfortunately although the place had been done up the food had not changed - the menu has little choice and my pet hate they still serve instant mash (smash) instead of proper mashed potato,it seems when you look at the menu it takes little cooking more microwave, kettle boiling and boiling some veg so i presume that they cannot afford a proper chef (although they do charge you restuarant prices !) wont be going again

Date visited: 27/6/07

Review by Robert Bruce on 24th June, 2007

Add your review
My wife, son and I went for our dinner about 7pm. We ordered and paid for our food and drinks. After a wait of about 40 minutes I asked the girl if we could expect our food some time that night. She went and came back saying it would not be long Another 10-15 minutes elapsed before the food arrived. According to the waiter they were busy. But the man that ordered just before us had his meal long before. The two girls that ordered some time after got theirs before us. When the meal came my wife's fish was very oily and the pastry on my crust was hard (overcooked). The waitress then wanted us to pay the bill Robert Bruce

Date visited: 20/5/2007

Review by Caz on 19th March, 2007

Add your review
What can I say? Amazing!!! We are form the Middlesbrough area and had a family party to attend on the night of the 2nd. Me and my partner booked the room on a late deal for 29.95 so we weren't expecting the most out of our stay. My parents also booked a room but got theirs on the standard price of 49.95. We arrived early evening and when we stepped in to the bar it looked amazing, 3 open fires and a warm homely feeling. It was beautiful! We checked in without any problems, the staff were friendly and polite and explained a continental breakfast was included with the price! The rooms were clean, spacious and beautifully decorated and the breakfast had an variety. We had our own keys to the lodge where we could come and go when we pleased. This place was 10/10 in every aspect and I will definitely be back in the near future!

Date visited: 02/03/2007

Review by steve on 7th September, 2006

Add your review
Pity they've got no veggie menu to speak of. Won't be back.

Date visited: 06/09/06

Review by lisa davison on 2nd October, 2005

Add your review
me and my partner took his mam to the snowy owl for our lunch today. i have got to say we go out for lunch most sundays and had been reccomended this pub off a friend. it was probably the best meal i have had in 10 years of eating out, the portions were massive which pleased us as we're all big eaters i had the roast serloin sunday lunch i got three big slices of serloin beef served with yorkshire puds carrots broccolli, 4 big roasties and the most lovely cheesy mash.darren ordered steak and ale pie and when it came he nearly died at the size if it it came in an earthware dish filled to the brim with steak and a lovely brown pie crust served with veg and mash. my mother in law had a hugh gammon steak with 2 fried eggs pineapple chips and peas which she thoroughly enjoyed.then came the puddings mmmm they were the best part me and the mother in law had caramel apple granny crumble with custard and darren had choclate and raspberry brownie with ice cream we had a cold drink with our meal then a coffee afterwards and the whole lot was delightful and also very filling we were astounded when we asked for the bill and the whole lot only came to a total of 38.50p so needless to say we are going back next week

Date visited: 02/10/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Superstition is the religion of feeble minds. - Edmund Burke
More Quotes

On this day:
Start of the Easter Uprising - 1916, Glorious Glosters Stand at Imjin River - 1951, Official opening of the Pennine Way - 1965, Bishopsgate Bombing - 1993
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles