National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2014: The Forest of Bowland

Is it sad that so few Britons know the Forest of Bowland, or great for those of us who do? Bowland covers a huge area, ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of King's Head, Market Rasen

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mrs. Lesley Featherstone on 13th October, 2013

Add your review
As a party of six, we called, without pre-booking, on a Saturday afternoon, & couldn't have received a warmer welcome. Service was both friendly & professional & the food was excellent! We waited some little time for the order, but every meal was different, &, obviously, freshly cooked. It was beautifully presented & even a 'problem' (the quibbles of a fussy 10 year old) were dealt with quickly & without question. Excellent coffee with top-ups offered, rounded up a first-rate meal. It's very rare for us to rate a meal so highly. Thank you!

Date visited: October 12th. 2013

Review by Paul & Lee on 23rd October, 2012

Add your review
Excellent, delicious food. Very good service, friendly staff. The pub has so much character & charm. Very good value , delicious food

Date visited: 19 October 2012

Review by Abilenabalerina on 18th March, 2012

Add your review
We celebrated mothers day here today and we were very disappointed! We felt very rushed for a start and then the food was very poor! The sloppy pt came with only some limp chewy toast, no salad. The tiny prawn cocktail was waterlogged at the bottom of the wine glass it was served in (very 70's)! The mushroom risotto had two mushrooms in it! The pan seared salmon came with soggy skin and some hideous sugar pink foam on top of it! The roast pork was dry and tough! The eten mess (as they spelled it!) looked almost liquidised! And then the the creme brle no burnt sugar on it?!? All that for 16.95 a head?? They need to learn to walk before they can run!

Date visited: 18/03/2012

Review by Toni on 15th November, 2011

Add your review
Since the new owners have taken over this pub is a hidden gem! The food is absolutely beautiful, the staff are all so friendly and I always recommend to family & friends when visiting. The chef is so talented and will happily cater for allergies etc. Visit now, you won't be disappointed!

Date visited: 13.11.11

Review by Andy and Joyce on 26th August, 2011

Add your review
We regularly go to the Kings Head,although it is not on our doorstep. We are guaranteed a warm welcome and fabulous food, and we haven't been let down yet. We recommend anyone go if you want good food and very well presented.

Date visited: 26 August 2011

Review by Di and Jim on 19th January, 2011

Add your review
Thankyou all especially the hosts Brian and Brenda and chef Ian for a wonderful evening had to celebrate Jim's 62nd birthday. The lovely warm welcome we received from you was very much appreciated as was the exceptional service from waiting staff. We return to your restaurant whenever we have a reason to celebrate or even just for sunday lunch as the quality and presentation of locally sourced food is exceptional and guaranteed to please. We look forward to our next visit in February!!.

Date visited: 18th January 2011

Review by Helen Kitchingham on 19th August, 2010

Add your review
We visited Tealby for the first time and enjoyed a fabulous meal at the Kings Head Inn. The staff were all very polite and friendly and the food was outstanding. We would recommend the pub, food and surroundings without hesitation to all.

Date visited: Friday 13 August 2010

Review by Steve Mazingham on 11th August, 2010

Add your review
Fabulous food and a lovely pub. Great service, very pleasant and efficient. Super menu and excellent value. Will definately be returning lots.

Date visited: 11/08/10

Review by Kylie on 2nd August, 2010

Add your review
When visiting the kings head for lunch we tried the set lunch menu, 3 courses for 9.95. We all had a great experience. The food was fantastic, definitely one of the best meals we have ever had.For the quality of food we received, i think 9.95 is very cheap, and would of been more than happy to pay more.The kings head is a great example of how a pub should be! Will definitely visit again. lovely pub, great location, friendly staff, good service, good quality food, great atmosphere.

Date visited: 30th july 2010

Review by Charlotte McFarlane on 25th July, 2010

Add your review
In reply to the review dated 11th July 2010. May I say how sorry I am to hear that you found your visit to the Kings Head, Tealby disappointing. There are a few things though, that I would like to point out for the sake of clarity: You used the term 'adult chicken carvery' in your review and I would like to state that we are not a Carvery, and we do not offer 'Carvery style' food. We are a Restaurant, on Sundays we offer a 'Set Menu' and it is indeed 10.95 for a Main Course, 11.95 for 2 Courses and 3 Courses for 13.95. Unlike a Carvery we provide a full waitress/table service. We pride ourselves in offering superb quality, locally sourced, well presented food at what we genuinely believe to be a reasonable price. I sincerely apologise that you felt there was little choice and I will not deny that we do on occasion sell out of things. My only mitigation for this is to explain that everything on the menu is freshly made & prepared for that day and unlike some establishments we do not cook from frozen or use ready prepared meals - that is not a criticism of those who do, just a statement of fact - so if we are very busy and I am pleased, grateful & proud to say that we usually are, things will eventually run out. We make every effort to predict customer numbers and order from our suppliers accordingly but there are times when customer numbers simply outstrip what we expected. I can only apologise that you appear to have visited us on such an occasion. I hope I have gone some way to explain ourselves to you, your family and others that may have read your review. I apologise again that you were disappointed.

Date visited: 25.07.2010

Review by Julian Soons on 11th July, 2010

Add your review
We, family of 4, my wife and our two children visited the Kings Head Inn today and were very very disappointed. As alot of people have pointed out the lack of food and choice of 'what was left' was disappointing. We all wanted a 'sunday meal' but all that was left was chicken. It was only 1:45pm. I did find the meal expensive, 10.95 each for adult chicken carvery and 2 childrens at 5.95 each. With 4 drinks which included 2 childrens lemonades it came to more than 40. I was impressed with the presentation of the food and although it tasted nice I felt it didnt fill me like a 'real hearty' home cooked sunday lunch should do. I was disappointed that the childrens chicken came with Yorkshire puddings and the adult ones did not. In conclusion I do not think we will be visiting again in the near future.

Date visited: Sunday 11th July 2010

Review by Walker on 4th May, 2010

Add your review
8 of us called in for a quick drink on Monday after a long walk round the area. We saw the set menu and we decided to stay for a meal but were told they had run out of food! The chef appeared just as we were about to leave and apologised but said he could manage to do 8 Steak and Ale pie dinners if we wouldn't mind waiting a few minutes, we said we would wait as were all very hungry. The food was absolutely fabulous and we also had the vanilla pod cheesecake and rhubarb ice cream which was to die for. The staff were lovely and finished off a lovely day with friends perfectly. Well worth making the effort to visit....Thanks again.

Date visited: 3/5/10

Review by Brenda McFarlane on 11th February, 2010

Add your review
Having visited Tealby and the King's Head and having fallen in love with both, we decided to buy the King's Head and are pleased to report that we will re-open our doors with a newly refurbished pub and restaurant (although it will still be very old since it was built in 1367!!)however, the new look food and decor will be great. Watch this space!! Brenda McFarlane

Date visited: January 2010

Review by Irene on 20th January, 2009

Add your review
It was much improved.our friends had prawn salad that was good.Tikka masal that I had was more spicy meant with gravy-well no wonder it is artificially indian dish,isn't it.But meat that our gents ahd was really exellent and very well presented with salad garlic mashrooms androasted vegs.It was pun food not restaurant sure -but sort of nice and honest pub food.we go again on 21january. I ahve to mention good atmosphera and very freindly stuff.Servis is fast.But there is one great BUT- the biulding itself...Old very old 14th century

Date visited: 5th january 2009

Review by Robert Watson on 14th September, 2008

Add your review
Twenty minutes wait for drinks to be served and forty minutes before dry and tough canteen quality carvery served. Suggest proprietors visit the Barn in Tealby to see how it can be done.

Date visited: 14.9.8

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
He who praises everybody, praises nobody. - Samuel Johnson
More Quotes

On this day:
Edward II killed at Berkeley Castle - 1327, Battle of Prestonpans - 1745, Tolkien Publishes The Hobbit - 1937, First Old Grey Whistle Test - 1971
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages