Bay

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Bay Horse Hotel,

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Peter Robson on 22nd May, 2013

Add your review
12 of us went on a voucher deal at 6pm could not book for 7pm already had another party booked on arrival found staff very friendly but empty of people no draught of anything for sale, all tins which were warm . Food on the steak deal only average , ran out of wine , so they had to keep popping out to the local supermarket, advertised an evening of entertainment from 9pm but told later there would be none . We were told under new management since the deal was done. Pub was empty all night apart from a dozen women from a hen party who booked expecting entertainment so could not understand why we could not get in at 7pm . Will not be back again.

Date visited: 11/05/2013

Review by Leanne Whitaker on 7th April, 2013

Add your review
Won't be returning. We had pre booked and arrived to be told because we were a party of seven we had to wait for a table, and we're made to wait for over twenty minutes. We were told the only place they could fit us was in a room where the lights did not work but would light some candles! The girl behind the bar was unpleasant. The food arrived one hour after we had come to the pub. The mashed potatoes were cold as was most of the other food and the Yorkshire puddings were full of mushed eggs. They offered to warm the food up in the microwave! The children's meals which were five pounds each consisted of runny mash and burned Yorkshire puddings. Overall the worst place I have ever had a Sunday lunch or any kind of meal. Called a gastro pub but service and food sadly lacking.

Date visited: April seventh 2013

Review by Tom Carnwath on 21st September, 2009

Add your review
Greatly enjoyed our stay. I understand it's under new management since 7 weeks ago. Very friendly unpretentious country pub with excellent food (good fresh vegetables, tender steak, excellent eggs and bacon)and comfortable rooms.And all Wearside at your feet. What more could you want?

Date visited: 17-21 September 2009

Review by jane slack on 24th August, 2009

Add your review
The Bay Horse Hotel in now under new management, with new staff who are correctly qualified in their positions.

Date visited: 27th july 2009

Review by B. Wilson on 18th June, 2009

Add your review
Very poor standard of Sunday Lunch, booked for 12o'clock, doors were not opened till ten minutes later, no smell of cooking, waitress/barmaid did not say please/thank you in entire conversation from arrival to departure, but did enquire (whilst I was still eating) if "yous are finished yet?" not a typing error. Beef was as tough & dry as old boots, pork was tender but with a strange sweet taste, carrots were bigger than I would feed to the horse (not chopped, sliced, just great big chunks. Will not return, did pass on comments to waitress but got no reply.

Date visited: 31/05/09

Review by Mandy Robb on 26th February, 2009

Add your review
Hello, This is a message to all old and new customers.The Bay Horse has had some good and bad publicity in the past. I would like to ensure you that if you come to the Bay Horse Hotel you will be welcomed in a friendly atmosphere. Bookings are approximate times and we do give leway for people arriving late. Also if you want a light meal or a full dinner you can sit anywhere in the place where you feel comfortable. We are a family run pub with years of experience and have been here 5 months. Come in and give us a try

Date visited: new owner

Review by P.Sousa on 10th December, 2007

Add your review
Went to the delightful Bayhorse Hotel for Sunday lunch and it was fabulous! The food was mouthwatering,the service efficient and the new management warm, easygoing & friendly! Wonderful experience!

Date visited: 9.12.07

Review by Tom Kinsman on 7th October, 2007

Add your review
I used to stay at the Bay Horse when working in Crook, and was so pleased with it that I took my wife there for many enjoyable breaks. In fact took the entire family there for our Ruby Wedding and the weekend was fanatastic. Unfortunately that was in 2004. Went there for a meal on Monday 5th october 2007, extremely disappointed. the atmosphere has gone, the characters have gone and the food was overpriced and my wife left almost all of her main course. Didn't stay for dessert. An excellent pub ruined, Come back Jan and Mandy, they owned it up to April 2004.

Date visited: 5th October 2007

Review by jb on 22nd September, 2007

Add your review
Turned up 3 minutes late (20.03) on our anniversary (Sunday evening) We were turned away by miserable landlord. Wont be returning Cheers Trevor.......pleased business is that good

Date visited: 02/09/2007

Review by Caroline Greaves on 26th February, 2007

Add your review
The Bay Horse has undergone a huge renovation since the photos published here were taken and it looks quite different. The establishment is much more a gastropub than a village local now though it remains very popular with local people. We have eaten there a number of times and have not been disappointed yet, the food is always absolutely fantastic, plenty of choice, seasonal and local ingredients prepared by a chef who clearly knows his trade. We always book in advance to make sure we've got a table but we have booked the same day before and still got in. The Sunday dinners are wonderful and I'm told the Thursday night steak nights are great though I have yet to try one yet. The lunch menu is varied and the specials are always imaginative and tempting on top of the regularly reviewed main menu. Worth going out of your way for if you're within 50 miles of Wolsingham! Try it and you won't be disappointed, I promise.

Date visited: Jan 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Vices are sometimes only virtues carried to excess! - Charles Dickens
More Quotes

On this day:
The Battle of Otterburn - 1388, The Samlesbury Witch Trial - 1612, Salem Witches Executed - 1692, Bonnie Prince Charlie raises standard at Glenfinnan - 1745, Storm Claims 100 Scottish Fishermen - 1848, The Hungerford Massacre - 1987
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles