It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Three Compasses, Deal

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by James Back on 1st July, 2013

Add your review
We have been using the Three Compasses, Deal for many years, My wife and I went on the 29th June 2013 for our aniversery, It was one of the best meals ever, I had carrot & coconu soup with a twist, it was spicy, then came the slow roast poerk belly, the crackling was to die for, the service is always second to none, Nick, the owner always makes time to say hello, The house wine is perfect and not too expensive, we had a great night with grat food and service. Jim & Glen Back

Date visited: 29/06/13

Review by Bill Edwards on 10th September, 2011

Add your review
well when i first entered the resturant me and my wife thought what a lovely resturant, and being so close too the sea. When we got too the food it was a big disapointment, along with the service from staff in there. We had a funny looking man serve us with a beard who looked totally out of place my wife had too repeat at least what we wanted too order twice, maybe they have got the wrong staff, and we went there on the wrong night, i would not recommend this resturant too anybody especially if your looking for good service and good food 4/10 sorry but i dont lie....

Date visited: september

Review by tofty on 31st October, 2009

Add your review
Well we have been back now on numerous occasions and I wanted to add another review for this year. Once again the staff and food were of the highest order, the wine list is still easy on the eye and also very easy on the pocket. Bread rolls again very very enjoyable and I felt that if I wanted a 2nd or 3rd I could without fuss. A really nice touch this time round was having the owner come out and freely chat with his diners - I even managed to get the recipe for mussels!! Again a truly wonderful experience and I have no hesitation in giving the Three Compasses not only my Restaurant of the Year but also my favourite for many a year. Like I've said before give it a go and enjoy great food at great prices. Tofty

Date visited: 30th Oct 2009

Review by Laura on 14th September, 2009

Add your review
Excellent food, friendly people. One of the best in the area!! definetely to try!

Date visited: July 2009

Review by A Jovely on 24th August, 2009

Add your review
How amazing ! Great veiw excellent food great staff !!! The best place ever!!!

Review by tofty on 28th February, 2009

Add your review
Having read the reviews we thought we'd give it a try and I can say we were not let down in the slightest. The food was excellent, the mussels for example that I had as a starter were some of the biggest I've seen, while the lamb shank ordered by my girlfriend was big enough for the two of us!! The good selection of vegetables were fresh and perfectly cooked. The wine list was equally as good - not to many to confuse you and not to pricey either. Now onto the BREAD ROLLS - if I had to sum them up in one word it would be HEAVEN...and yes you can have seconds or even thirds like I had, all being of various flavours and styles the rolls come out with a lovely bowl of complimentary olives to start your evening off. This is one of the finest and friendliest run restaurants not only in Deal but in the South East. Go on give it a try!!!

Date visited: 27/02/2009

Review by keith cavanagh on 13th July, 2008

Add your review
welcoming staff, great food, lovely wine and reasonably priced, and with fabulous views across the channel, the 3 compasses is one of the best restaurants in kent. its ownership change a couple of years ago so ignore early negative reviews!

Date visited: 4 july 2008

Review by Nicky Owen on 14th February, 2008

Add your review
Had a party of 28 for a birthday celebration and it was faultless. The food superb, the room amazing, the staff efficient and friendly. can't recommend highly enough.

Date visited: 09/02/08

Review by Jo on 7th February, 2008

Add your review
Such a cosy warm and friendly atmosphere.The food is excellent and always plentiful. The bread rolls are secod to none, i would go for those alone!! Amazing value for the quality of such gorgeous food. Occasionally waiting times are a little lengthy but it's always worth the wait. I have been visiting regularly and so far no other restaurants have met the expectations set by the three compasses.

Date visited: Feb 2008

Review by Nick on 30th January, 2008

Add your review
We have been eating here regularly, at least once a month, for the past 8 or 9 months. The food is consistently fantastic, the staff helpful, friendly, attentive without being over the top. The home made bread rolls alone are worth a visit Currently the best place to eat in Deal, without a doubt.

Date visited: 2007/2008

Review by Duncan McKenzie on 15th November, 2007

Add your review
This is the best restaurant in Deal. I am highly surprised by negative comments as the service and quality of food is superb. The feedback from 2006 need to be removed as they do this great eatery no favours. The chef/owner always delights with his high quality and superb puddings. If you want a good meal and value for money, then call in at the Three compasses Julie and Duncan McKenzie

Date visited: 13 September 2007

Review by James Rennaps on 22nd August, 2006

Add your review
This was our fourth visit to a eating place that we have recommended to many friends. This visit, however, was not very good. The staff were inattentive, the food was generally OK (the haddock was very overcooked)but uninspired. The meal took forever to come and they even tried to overcharge us. Very disappointing evening.

Date visited: 18th August

Review by Mandy Samuel on 21st July, 2006

Add your review
Fabulous food and lovely atmosphere. The staff are professional but friendly and the food is seasonal, cooked from fresh to order. Nice to see proper home made desserts rather than the usual bought-in stuff - the banoffi pie is second to none!

Date visited: July 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Work is the curse of the drinking classes. - Oscar Wilde
More Quotes

On this day:
Stirling Castle Falls to Edward I - 1304, Euston opens as 1st London Station - 1837, FA Cup is formed - 1871, Bothamís Greatest Ashes Day - 1981
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages