Villa Holiday Homes with a pool
National Trust
Menzies

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

October 2014: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Menzies Prince Regent, Woodford Bridge

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Shirley Achaibar on 13th May, 2011

Add your review
To the Manager. Its my birthday today and my daughter had booked afernoon tea , when we arrived our booking could not be found. Eventually we waited for one and half hours before we served. 1 Service was extremely poor , but even worse of all the scones were hard as rock and the sandwishes disgusting .Your waiter agreed with us and said that she was going to mention our complaint to the chief. I have had my daughter's graduation party at your hotel in 2010 and was very pleased but was totally unsatisfied on this occasion. I will therefore not be attending the Prince Regent in the future with this substanded service. Shirley.

Date visited: 23-05-11

Review by Lauren on 18th August, 2008

Add your review
The hotel is beautiful. Our room was lovely and clean. The view was nice, staff friendly. I cant fault it. Highly recommended, you won't be disappointed

Date visited: 16th August 2008

Review by Kenneth on 5th August, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Our room was very clean and there was plenty of space for a standard double room we would stay again unfortunately we did not have any meals as we were visiting family but the menu looked very good Bad Points: The only bad point was the entrance hall for such a lovely hotel the tiles looked dirty they need to be changed as it spoilt the appearance. General review: We would recommend it to our family and friends and we will definitely stay again

Date visited: 2008-08-05

Review by Chinedu F on 10th April, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: The accommodation was ok, only they was no clooing system (AC) and also too much money for such a room without breakfast.#95pd for a room, no breakfast. Bad Points: No AC and No Breakfast.

Date visited: 2008-04-10

Review by Ian Cuddy on 18th December, 2007

Add your review
Found the hotel lovely to stay in, the room was cosy the bed was as comfortable as home. The Bar staff very helpful and we stayed up quite late and had a late night drink at 4 am. They let us sleep in and there was no rush to check us out. Ian Cuddy

Date visited: 23/11/2007

Review by Pauline O on 3rd October, 2006

Add your review
DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL!! You would be treated better if you stayed in a dog kennel and probably have nicer facilities. Myself and my family (Approx up to 20 people) stayed here for the weekend as we had a wedding in the area. It would be a long and arduous task for me to state everything that was wrong with our stay so you can just assume that EVERYTHING was wrong with our stay. Our rooms had been mixed up, which was pointed out as being our fault as many of us had the same surname...."You O'Hara's have messed everything up this weekend"..I believe were the receptionist's exact words,....apparently we all have the same first names as well which was news to me!! About FOUR rooms had to be changed due to the stench of URINE, unmade beds, filthy carpets (large brown staines...I didnt want to know...maybe my dog kennel analogy was alot closer than we will ever know!!), facilities that did not work and general filth on curtains and furniture. Whenever there was someone on reception, (I myself managed to sit behind the reception desk with access to all the guests account information on the PC in front of me and still no -one came to stop me....whats to stop anyone elso doing so? A cleaner also let me into my room without much hesitiation, had this been someone of a darker nature, I could've been cleared out of all my money and jewellery as there are no safe's in these rooms) they were rude, ill-mannered and dis-respectful to well paying guests. In fact you are made to feel like you are only annoying them and they hoped you would just go away.The bar staff are the same...again of course thats only when they actually had someone behind the bar. Several times over the weekend I had to go and look for someone to come and serve the people in the bar. You also have to drag your luggage through the bar to get to the numerous lifts that you must take to get to your room..if you can find your room at all as it is so badly laid out. Room service is an absolute joke, it states that it is 24hr, even the menu in your room states as much, however, when I tried to order I was told that the chef had gone home, the information on the menu was a 'mis-print' and that I would have to make do with a sandwich...a sandwich that I had to go looking for after about half an hour and found it on the floor outside the room I had previously moved out of due to it being absolutely disgraceful. When I brought it back to reception to complain, they only person available to speak to was a security guard, who tried to tell me what happened when he clearly had no idea as once again, staff were nowhere to be found. Out of the 20 people in the wedding party, everyone of us had suffered either rudeness from staff (when you could find them), food orders being completely wrong due to more "mis-prints" on the menu's and idiotic and unprofessional staff, filthy stinking rooms, extremely crass noise in the bar on Sunday morning from a man playing a keyboard and only hitting the right keys every now and again and the general overall impression that you are not wanted there. I cannot stress to a high enough extent as to how much of a mistake it would be to stay in this so called hotel, not only does it charge prices which are equivalent to that of extortion, and that it is well below par of being a four star hotel, from my experience of hotel stays of all stars, I firmly believe that this would have trouble generating two stars. Either stay at home or find somewhere else, your health and general well-being may just depend on it!!

Date visited: 29/10/06 - 02/10/06

Review by Raymond on 29th August, 2006

Add your review
DISGRACEFUL - What an absolute nightmare of a hotel stay. I needed to stay in this area as I was attending a special event. This hotel was listed as 4 star, The room was dirty and smelt stale, service was poor, and on the second night there was a power cut in the Hotel - and we were left in our pitch black boiling hot room for more than 2 hours - and told canles were a hazard - while 400 people sat in a pitch black but candlelit ballroom not 20 feet from our bedroom door, - we checked with the electric company who confirmed that the blackout was isolated to the hotel - and caused by their excessive power usage. Not an apology or bottle of chilled water was offered. Overpriced, dirty and disgraceful.

Date visited: July 28-31st 2006

Review by Gary

Add your review
nicely appointed rooms

Date visited: 12/09/2004

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Courage is not simply one of the virtues, but the form of every virtue at the testing point. - C S Lewis
More Quotes

On this day:
Six Month Frost Begins - 1076, First Known Performance of Othello - 1604, The Tempest First Performed - 1611, Premium Bonds go on Sale - 1956, Channel 4 transmits for 1st time - 1982, BSE identified in UK - 1986
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages