It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Hinds Head, Bray

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by MrCoast on 24th October, 2009

Add your review
We got there a litle before our booking time to order a pint and and it took them 15 minutes to deliver a pint and snaks (devils), the guy at the bar was unexperienced and careless. Then we moved up to the restaurant and we ordered drinks, two glasses of wine, one came 5 minutes after the other. After that we ordered food, the most expensive main course (grouse) in the menu, and we got a piece of raw poultry wich was not edible. Finally, desert trickle tart was disapointing, all costed 75 quid. We simply will definetely not repeate, and if you can avoid it do it.

Date visited: 24 October

Review by tommayers on 28th May, 2008

Add your review
Went with high expectations.The food was just about average. The service was appalling ignored by the ill trained waitresses very slow total lack of training for staff or management.

Date visited: 26th March

Review by waterpro2 on 7th October, 2007

Add your review
Last year on this weekend 4 of us dined at the fat Duck - MrB's well known restaurant. Because of this we decided to try Mr B's pub The Hinds Head. We booked online. We arrived. No booking. They squeezed us in. We ordered our food and wine. Our starters arrived. No wine. We asked for it and the excuse was they are very busy. Wine eventually arrived 3/4 the way through our starters. Waiting for our mains we were asked twice if the starters the very young waitresses were holding were ours. No - we have just eaten the ones you served us. The mains I can only describe as ridiculous. The hotpot cam out in some pretentious ramekin with a small dot of red cabbage. NOT pub food. It was full of gristle. The bangers and mash were made of what tasted of smash and the sausages were tasteless with again gristle. The triple cooked chips were good. We suggested to the waiter that the food wasnít up to scratch. Nothing was done about it and infact he continued to serve us as normal. Needless to say the service charge wasn't paid. The pub is living off the name of its owner. Shameful.

Date visited: 6th October 2007

Review by Peter Roberts on 20th June, 2007

Add your review
Having read the other reviews on this site I am pleased to say that not only was the food delightful, the service was friendly, attentive and relaxed. My server, Clinton was knowledgeable about the food & in fact passionate about how it was created. I think he actually made the food taste better with his description (if that was possible). I would go back to the Hinds Head every week if I was more local. Price wise it was no more expensive than my local Gastro but it beats my local hands down. Could it be that the service issues pointed out in the other two reviews on this site have been noted & rectified. I got the felt that this was the norm, & thank you to Clinton who made our meal memorable. Peter Roberts, Warwick

Date visited: 17/06/2007

Review by William G. Bosshard on 27th October, 2006

Add your review
Nice ambiance but their Meursault AOC 2002 at £80 is highway robbery even for normally high UK prices. The normally distinguished Meursault TERROIR taste and fragrance was totally missing; we told the waiter who just shrugged his shoulder. My wife ordered her partridge well done and - of course the bird was delivered very bloody and had to be taken back to the kitchen. When it was served again, it was, what else could you expect, quite hard. Our host was too much of a gentleman to complain but I doubt he will ever take guests there again.

Date visited: October 11, 2006

Review by James on 5th July, 2006

Add your review
Living in Berkshire we have a saying, "nice place shame about the service" and the Hinds Head is no exception. I have been there 6 times now and I keep going back because I like the food. Mr Blumenthal has invested a lot of dosh doing this place up and he is let down by the people running it. That is my experience on all 6 occasions. On this occasion we were directed into the restaurant for lunch and waited and waited while waiting staff milled around us. We got bored and retired to the bar where we had a burnt sandwich and yummy chips. Others also ate in the bar after hanging around in the restaurant to no avail. Nice real ales. Generally, excellant mains but avoid sandwiches as they tend to be minimal burnt and expensive. Expect to have wine slammed on the table and left for you to taste. If this sounds bad save up and go to the proper thing over the road, Fat Duck is faultless.

Date visited: 13 June 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Football wasn't meant to be run by linesmen and air traffic control. - Tommy Docherty
More Quotes

On this day:

More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages