It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Watermans Arms, Eton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Samuel on 18th April, 2011

Add your review
Pleasantly surprised at the change in the place having had a bad experience a few years ago. The pub is obviously well looked after and the Sunday roast was delicious and excellent value. Try the ales from the local brewery, yum!

Date visited: 17 April 2011

Review by Yvonne on 16th October, 2010

Add your review
I organised a surprise party for my husband and did manage to keep it a surprise. I am glad I chose the Watermans, the hospitality could not be faulted and the buffet was superb, we had a great evening.

Date visited: 8th October 2010

Review by R.G. from Guild of Vergers on 16th September, 2010

Add your review
We had our annual Guild Festival Party at the Watermans. There were in excess of 100 people who had a 3 course meal and it was the best we have ever had. The food, the service, the atmosphere were all excellent plus great value for money. Well done to them.

Date visited: 9th September 2010

Review by John Bowman on 13th September, 2010

Add your review
Having had a decent meal there a few years ago I went for lunch while on a day trip to Eton and Windsor. I was surprised, though, to find the large restaurant empty. However, the absence of customers should have served as a warning to turn round, walk out, and find somewhere else instead. What on earth has happened to the place over the intervening years? The lamb shank with mash that I had was appalling. It wouldn't surprise me if it had been a reheated offering from the day before. The meat - what there was of it - was dry and overdone, while the mash was congealed and rubbery with a peculiar taste that was fortunately disguised to some extent by the gloopy red wine gravy. It was all a massive disappointment. Usually I would have complained but circumstances precluded that. Sorry, but I won't be going back again until I know for sure that things are far, far better.

Date visited: 12th September 2010

Review by John Foster on 18th March, 2009

Add your review
It is a terrible shame that what used to be one of the best pubs in the Windsor area is now probably the worst. Dreadfull beer, dreadfull service, dreadfull food.

Date visited: 12 March 2009

Review by Helen Mallett on 15th October, 2008

Add your review
What better way to refresh yourself during a Thames-side walk than to stop off at the Watermans Arms in Eton, near Windsor. A charming, 16th century English pub with excellent real ales and the best homemade burger I have ever tasted! We have stopped off several times now and always receive a warm welcome. It may not be a thriving nightclub, but a real ale next to an open fire in winter, or a chilled glass of wine in the beer garden in summer is much more to my liking and will appeal to boaters and walkers alike. Oh - and my dog likes it too

Date visited: October 2008

Review by Andrew Lever on 21st October, 2005

Add your review
Great Reviews, good and bad. I would invite all who are not as pleased as they deserve to talk to us personally such that we can rectify matters, cheers !

Review by A Hanshaw on 13th October, 2005

Add your review
I went along with 14 or so colleagues with some trepidation after reading the other review for this pub. I was relieved to find a good selection of beers, good food and friendly staff. A number of people all enjoyed the Sea Bass. The Chicken and Cider pie was very nice. We tipped 20% and the landlord bought us a round of shots to say thanks. I also got had to eat humble pie having previously shown everyone else the other review.

Date visited: 12 Oct 2005

Review by G Neale on 23rd July, 2005

Add your review
Attracted by the 'fresh fish daily' sign my wife and I decided to lunch here. We both chose a fish dish and were served one of the worst pub meals we have ever experienced. My sliver of sea bass and my wife's unsubstantial smoked haddock had obviously been anticipating our arrival for some time. Both meals looked to have been cooked at least twice and left under a heater for a considerable time. The tartare sauce came in a Colman's jar and the 'best before' date was April 2005! The inside of the jar lid was congealed and looked mouldy. Comment please?

Date visited: 20 July 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Not on one strand are all life's jewels strung. - William Morris
More Quotes

On this day:
Great London Tornado - 1091, Battle of Fornham - 1173, Battle of Neville Cross - 1346, Regicides Executed - 1660, London Beer Flood - 1814, 1st Professional Golf Tournament - 1860, First Motoring Offences in Britain - 1895, First Full-Scale British Air-raid - 1917, World’s First Fully Commercial Nuclear Power Plant Opened - 1956, Hatfield Rail Crash - 2000
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages