It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Walter Arms, Sindlesham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Jon Wynne-Williams on 29th December, 2009

Add your review
Dreadful. Tonight we were seated for an hour and half. We got the starter then nothing. When we finally called for the manager, there was no appology, just a bill with the drinks taken off. Bad atitude and just dreadful. Simply not to be recommended.

Date visited: 29 December 2009

Review by Nicci Hawkins on 17th January, 2009

Add your review
Excellant food, excellant atmosphere and the staff and owners are very friendly and make you feel welcome. I went with a party of 15 for our Christmas meal and we all had a fantastic night. Here's to the future success of a local pub/restaurant xx

Date visited: 22nd Dec 2008

Review by Cara on 14th January, 2009

Add your review
They've done such a lovely job with the revamp, 6 adults and one child, we were in the converted out building, and it's gorgeous, it was a lovely atmosphere, great music, great staff, fab food, very enjoyable. My husband has since sent his American boss, and I'm taking my Dad and sister for dinner there tonight.

Date visited: 21/12/2008

Review by Carol Adkins on 7th January, 2009

Add your review
We too had an excellent meal in the revamped Walters Arms - service friendly, food excellent and lovely new decor - but not too over the top. We had not been impressed with the last management or food but were interestd enough when watching the renovations to go back and try again. It was well worth it and we are going back tonight and taking the student kids for their verdict!

Date visited: 11/12/08

Review by Claire on 25th November, 2008

Add your review
Under new management, the Walter Arms has had a total face lift; it's a fresh, light and inviting interior that now welcomes you into both the main building and separate barn area. The menu is varied with something for just about everyone with a daily list of specials certain to entice. We chose the Fish of the Day special, an absolutely stunning fillet of bream with watercress, crushed new potatoes and a light creamy mussel sauce. The staff are friendly and professional and the service is polished and timed just about right. We loved it so much that we're going again with friends on Wednesday!

Date visited: 22 November 2008

Review by annette margolis on 24th September, 2005

Add your review
A friend recommended this place in the middle of nowhere AKA Sindlesham and so my 84 year-old mum Edie. Stef, friend from London and I rolled up one Fiday lunchtime to be pleasantly surprised by the fare on offer. We treated ourselves to fish and chips but this was no ordinary fish dish. They'd obviously got Pierre Marco White 'sunlightling' behind the scenes and the fish was haddock, which had been lovelingly fried in beer batter, with real chips and a side salad imaginitively garnished with mixed peppers. What's more it all arrived promptly! Unfortunately if Marco Pierre was working behind the scenes then Basil Fawlty's cousin was doing his best to keep customers away, front of house... ...Edie- Daily Mail reader ( well no-one's perfect) wanted a token from her favourite daily and rather than let her just rip away at the pub's newsapaper I took the precaution of asking the charming barman if we could do so. He told us to go ahead. Just as I was in the act of tearing out mum's token the landlord appeared as if from nowhere and tore into me for ripping something out of a newspaper. His pet hate apparently. I pointed out I'd asked, no apology was forthcoming, instead he went and checked with the barman before continuing his tirade. Lovely meal but lunch for me is an experience to be savoured and this one stuck in the throat. To sum up lovely pub grub-appalling pub landlord.

Date visited: 23rd September 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
It is necessary to relax your muscles when you can. Relaxing your brain is fatal. - Stirling Moss
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Lostwithiel - 1644, Battle of Dunkeld - 1689
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages