It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Robin Hood, Maidenhead

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by William on 24th February, 2009

Add your review
Very disappointing. Due to a two for one offer at lunch time we were subjected to the leftovers when we went in the evening. The Ostrich was sold out and only the tail ends of Filet Steak were left. The other meats very unappealing. Just one other couple in the dining room made for a very quiet occasion. Maybe people are voting with their feet. Will not be going back.

Date visited: 23/02/09

Review by Rhian Bryant on 8th February, 2009

Add your review
We went to the Robin Hood on a Saturday night and it was just terrible. The restaurant was practically empty and on one of the coldest nights of the year (-2 and snowing outside) they didn't have any radiators on and only one tiny fire was lit (with a table right next to it so no heat could get out). We asked to move 3 times in the hope that each table would be warmer. We stuck it out thinking that once we had something to eat we would warm up. I ordered the 8oz rib eye steak and my husband ordered the lamb. For some reason although the steak was supposed to come with a peppercorn sauce, they gave me a pot of tomato soup... and even though I asked for the steak to be cooked medium, it was so burnt and dry I could hardly cut it with my knife! The mashed potato tasted like plastic. My husband's lamb was also really dry and very overcooked. It came with parsnips which were raw! I couldn't even get my fork through one of them. We complained straight away as we were not prepared to eat the food. After discussion with the manager it transpired that the boiler had broken down that afternoon and for some reason no one mentioned it to us when we booked the table earlier that evening. In fairness to the manager he did apologise and agreed that we did not have to pay for the meal. He also offered us 50% off a meal next time we went which we declined as we will never be going back there.

Date visited: 06/02/2009

Review by Carolyn on 23rd April, 2008

Add your review
It was a beautiful day so we decided to eat outside under the umbrella. Service and food were very good. Will back when my friends and I are back in the area.

Date visited: 22nd April

Review by Brian Stone on 14th March, 2008

Add your review
Came for a quick lunch snack with some work colleagues and enjoyed the food. We ended up trying the counter option and loved the experience. Its different and I liked it.

Date visited: 12th March

Review by Max Smythe on 2nd March, 2008

Add your review
Marks out of 10 - 5! . We have been before, a couple of times, each time we go there is always something wrong. The staff are superficially helpful and polite but don't really do anything to fix the problems. This last time was worse than all the others. I am the first to note value rather than cost, but this is not really the standard you would expect for the prices charged. Fun to try unusual meat but don't go there for a special occasion.

Date visited: 2 march 2008

Review by Simon Greene on 29th February, 2008

Add your review
Loved the idea behind the counter and speaking to the chef. Food was good, Zebra and crocodile(although a little bland for me)were very nice if you only have a small taster between four. Watch the amount you choose as its your own fault if you go mad. Similar idea to a place in Cardif I went to a couple of years age. Overall good experience.

Date visited: 28th February

Review by Sam Gunbie on 20th February, 2008

Add your review
As this was my wifes birthday, I wanted to treat her to this concept, she had always wanted to try some Kobe beef and I had seen it advertised. I had heard some good comments about the pub, but was a little hesitant because of some of the reviews on this web site. I have to say we were not dissapointed, the food and service were very good for a Saturday night which was very busy. Our waitress was attentive and we enjoyed the banter with the chef at the counter. It is my daughters 21st in October and she said she loved it, we will definately be back then!

Date visited: 16.02.08

Review by Dean Eighteen on 14th February, 2008

Add your review
We arrived at 7.30pm for our first visit to the site, a couple of friends had recomended it to us. For an intimate occasion the ambience and food were excellent. We both liked the layout and thought the open kitchen was very informative. We would definately go back. You have to be careful how much of the meats you choose, but that is only down to you at the end of the day.

Date visited: 14.02.08

Review by Alex on 1st October, 2007

Add your review
Having only heard goods things about the lunch menu, i thought a family visit in the evening was in order. You cannot fault the ambiance and mood of this delightful little pub! I am not sure whether my expectations were too high, but for my party and i we were left reeling with disappointment. Although extremely polite, the staff did not do the place justice. I enjoyed the concept and couldn't wait to sample the delights on offer but was bitterly disappointed by the quality of the food. I was especially disgusted to receive over cooked scallops, a criminal offence in my book. At just under £180 for 4, i would have expected much more. Overly inflated wine did not help matters. I would recommend a lunch here but nothing more. If you are in the area, try the Dew Drop Inn or The Castle in Hurst.

Date visited: 27/10/07

Review by peter webster on 26th July, 2007

Add your review
We booked a table last night with business colleagues for 7:45pm. As we had arrived a few minutes early we were invited to have a drink at the bar. We did so and and the rest of our group joined us 10 minutes later. The Assistant Manager (I think) seated other guests at their tables and excitedly showed them the concept of the venue! We, however, at the bar were ignored until I politely attracted his attention to be told we had now missed the explanation of how to order and would have to wait longer for our table service. To cut a long story short we waited until 8:30 to sit at our table and a further 30 minutes until the Chef had time to see us! The starters were burnt to a crisp (honestly) My partner had "bouillabaisse" was in fact just a very simple selection of fish with a poor quality tomato sauce on it. The Green Lip Mussels consisted of just 5 of them and small to boot! When it finally arrived, the main course was only just warm enough to eat! Complaints to the Ass. Manager went in one ear and out the other side - he is so obviously used to them! It is expensive and I would not recommend it to anyone. ps. Three of the party of 5 spent an uncomfortable night struggling with angry tummies and sleeplessness! And all this for £186 for 5!!

Date visited: 25/7/07

Review by Trina on 18th July, 2007

Add your review
Wow, amazing-couldnt fault a thing.Welcome entrance and staff great. Just enough for a lunchtime meal-sausages and glazed vegetables. Just what Maidenhead needs. I will be back again very soon and will tell all my friends.

Date visited: 18/07/07

Review by matt on 10th May, 2007

Add your review
Wow what an amazing selection of food and drinks. We had a truly fantastic meal. Couldn't fault a single thing. The staff were exceptioally friendly and helpful

Date visited: 02/05/07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Gentlemen, when the enemy is committed to a mistake we must not interrupt him too soon - Horatio Nelson
More Quotes

On this day:
William Wallace is hanged, drawn and quartered - 1305, LDV becomes Home Guard - 1940, Freckleton Tragedy - 1944
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages