National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

August 2014: Cardigan Bay

Cardigan Bay as a destination would be a tester for a professional explorer. Not in terms of terrain, though the Cambrian Mountains backing much ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Kinkell Braes Caravan Site, St Andrews

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by sam on 28th October, 2012

Add your review
Dont believe the Web site. Very disappointed with site, everything is outdated, dirty or broken. push button showers, no toilets in showers, no grey water disposal, no lighting in elsan disposal, small muddy pitches, push button fresh water, restaurant is inconsistent, shop is overpriced and under stocked, staff unfriendly to children, and worst of all no BBQs. did speak to Mgt about issues although he agreed he did nothing . However, St. Andrews is within walking distance if you dont mind hills.

Date visited: 08/15/2012

Review by mrs a cunningham on 19th August, 2010

Add your review
this is the worst caravan site my family and i have ever been on. we have a motorhome and have over the last six years toured the length and breathe of Britain including much of Scotland.the toilet block is very old,inadequate and above all dirty, you have to press in the shower button constantly as each measure of water is less than 20 secs long the shower cubicle is too small. on our first night the electric tripped out three times, there is no trip meter on the electrical hook up post. you have to find a member of staff to reset the electricity supply from the main circuit box, which at 11:30 on a saturday evening can be quite a challenge. During our stay at Kinkell Braes the electricity tripped every day which resulted in our fridge breaking down; therefore second day into our stay my family were without the use of fridge and freezer facilities. When my husband went to complain at the main office he was met with Laissez faire attitude and was told he was the only guest to voice any complaints. The entertainment in the on site club on the saturday night was "diabolical". the prices of 25+ for a caravan pitch per night is extortionate considering the appalling facilities. It is an absolute rip off!! never managed to level up our motorhome as the groud slops considerably. Most of the staff we came into contact with were very rude and unhelpful.

Date visited: 14.8.10 to 17.8.10

Review by katy cameron on 14th December, 2009

Add your review
found caravan to be nice inside and was situated in a good place near to the park entrance, where the bar,resturant and playpark are. the staff were helpful on arrival. The breakfasts in the resturant were good. There is a path to the beach where there is a leisure centre with a swimming pool. The town centre isnt much further. Nice views from park as well. Also a bus stop at entrance to park. Overall very good and will stay there again, especially as they are adding 3 bedroomed caravans to rent and lodges for 2010.

Date visited: 23rd Oct 09

Review by B duff on 3rd December, 2009

Add your review
I go to this park every year and have been for all my life. St Andrews is a special place. Bad things about the park/ yes toilets even after upgrade are just not there, dog fouling is my pet hate and is bad, cost is getting far to expensive, electrics keep tripping, far away touring field is prone to water problems. good things, Staff in shop are great , Staff in resturant great and prices too, Cant have everything i suppose. This year however i see seasonal pitches have pinched all best pitches in touring field.

Date visited: every year

Review by Emma on 10th July, 2009

Add your review
my family have ownd a caravan at this site since i can remember. i have came here every year since birth and its like a second home. I love this site and everything in it, the staff r friendly and make a pleasant stay. I have noticed alot of complaints but most from the camping area, and often about litter. Litter is not a fault of the site but of the disrespectful people who visit. these are plenty of bins all over the site, use them y expect others to do it for u and cold toliets? its scotland wear a jacket. Kinkell is something very close to my heart and has gave me some of the best times in my life, there have been memories built here that i never will forget. for those who didnt like it, do go. for thoses who have not been, if you like beautful sights, good food, a short walk 2 a beach, town, swimming etc then try it coz you wont regret it.

Date visited: every year

Review by kevin rice on 17th August, 2008

Add your review
my wife and i and my son and in laws had 2 tourers 4 2 nights on fri sat as cairns was supposedlly full...we went up to cairns on the fri and saw at least 6 empty plots.we stayed for the bingo and returned to kinkell as there was no entertainment.we found the food at kinkell excellent..the entertainment over the week was brill..and our pitch was next to the toilets as i had asked as we had 2 pensioners could they accomodate and they did.only complaints was the bar steward was an old grumpy drawers,i had 2 ask 4 chalk for the pool table as he said the kids drew on the walls...after tellin him at 44 i dont do that anymore he relented!!!the bar staff and shop staff where excellent and nice manners...again old grumpy never smiled once...take a lesson from your staff..smile..or owners put this guy on a customer care class!!!!!!!!

Date visited: 15/08/2008

Review by Maj on 7th August, 2008

Add your review
Having just spent along weekend at Kinkells I was most impressed with the food in the restaurant and really couldn't fault it, both sitting in and taking away. I found the bar prices very reasonable. My young daughters enjoyed the playpark, however I feel the games room was a bit on the small side and I was aware I was getting in the way of a father and son playing pool, the room also lacked much for really young children. For the amount of children that visit the site I think this facilities should be improved and made bigger! I found that overall the site was clean and well kept. I will return to the site again next year and I would recommend it.

Date visited: 1st Aug - 4th Aug

Review by J Sommerville on 17th July, 2008

Add your review
having just returned from a two night stay at this site, I have to say I will never return, nor will I be recommending this site to others. The toilets were a total disgrace. The mould on the shower curtains was a health hazard. Dogs mess was everywhere, so much for dogs being on leads. A yappy wee white thing piddled on the side of my tent. (not one of the worlds dog lovers). The litter present in the park, dirty cotton buds, broken crockery and packaging, was never cleared away. Pitches were small and at 18 a night - hardly value for money. The night warden was rude and unhelpful! Staff in the office, when I returned by toilet key (and 10 deposit) did not enquire as to whether I had enjoyed my stay,I wonder if they are too embarrassed to ask!

Date visited: 15th July to 17th July 2008

Review by Alex on 4th May, 2008

Add your review
When I look at the reviews for this site I am concerned that people are being slightly unfair. I have just paid to site my caravan there for the entire season and did so knowing about these complaints.OK so the toilets are basic but the lighting in and around the toilet are more than adequate. YES it will be cold in zero degrees ( so wear a fleece!). The staff are friendly and helpful and approachable so go along and have a look round for yourself.

Date visited: 2nd-4th May 2008

Review by John on 8th April, 2008

Add your review
Having visited St Andrews several times, we had never stayed at Kinkell Braes - always preferring to stay at Cairnsmill Caravan site. At short notice, we were unable to get a pitch at Cairnsmill, so we decided to try Kinkell Braes. Our initial impression was good - we had a site at the top of the second touring field, with good views towards St Andrews and the East/West Sands. The weather had been wet so conditions underfoot were damp to begin with and after 2 nights this had deteriorated to a mud-bath. Pitches further down the hill were much worse! The toilet blocks were "basic", unheated and at times downright appalling and that with very few visitors. The toilet blocks were unheated, which with outside temperatures of zero (or just above) meant that visits were kept short and infrequent. On several occasions, our (and other visitors')electric hook-up tripped, even though the internal fuses had not tripped, meaning a long trip or a phone call to the front desk to have the connection reset. We paid 95 for 4 nights for a pitch with awning and electric hook-up. That might seem reasonable, but in view of the very poor quality of the pitches and the toilet facilities, I'd say not & we'll definitely not be going back anytime soon! Maybe it's time that Abbeyford Caravan Co (Scotland) Ltd got their house in order if they wish to continue to charge this level of fees. Maybe they should go visit some of their competition to see why their site is almost empty when others are full?

Date visited: April 2008

Review by JOyce Mathers on 15th April, 2007

Add your review
We totally agree with the visitor in 2005. Nothing has changed in the touring section. Toilet blocks are a disgrace, only two showers in the ladies and one in the mens. The emptying of the elsan toilets is still next to the tap water. The play area is a disgusting mess with bird poo which has been there for months. We took some hot water and spent some time cleaning the chute before our children could play on it. Come on owners put back some of the 46 we paid for two nights. Go to many other camp sites and see what you get there for your money.

Date visited: 13th April - 15th April 2007

Review by Joe Thomson on 13th September, 2005

Add your review
Having just returned from the above caravan site I was utterly disgusted with the state of the toilet blocks. They looked like they had not been cleaned for a long time, cobwebs were everywhere dirt was everywhere, lighting was inadequate during the day (rainy day) mirrors were so old you could hardly see to shave. Another area that I found hard to believe was the Elsan point was next to the fresh water with only a small wall between surely this is unacceptable in todays society with health and safety issues.

Date visited: 9th - 12th September

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Poets don't have an 'audience'. They're talking to a single person all the time - Robert Graves
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Winchelsea - 1350, Treaty of Nanking - 1842, Birth of Rugby League - 1895
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages