Old

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Old Vicarage Hotel, Bridgwater

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Michael on 7th May, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Attentive hotel staff who freely gave of their local knowledge and looked after us very well. Bad Points: No bad points. General review: Overall a very satisfactory experience and we would recommend a stay at the Old Vicarage in Bridgwater.

Date visited: 2009-05-07

Review by Anonymous on 14th August, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Very congenial owner. Extremely helpful advice about the local area. Idiosyncratic opening hours for the hotel facilities. Bad Points: Breakfast hours a little too short. Tea should be made in a pot with boiling water. Offering a tea bag and warm water is just not good enough. General review: We enjoyed staying in a hotel that was clean and comfortable in a downtown area.

Date visited: 2008-08-14

Review by Anonymous on 25th March, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: The rooms are at the back off the main road- quiet and comfortable. Although there is a strict non-smoking policy,there were facilities to allow me to smoke without feeling an inconveinience to the hotel, which I respected totally Bad Points: the energy saving lights in the lamps by the bed.The tea bags in the room were not of a great quality. Twinings might be a better choice in future General review: the layout of the hotel is wonderful; very atmospheric and quiet. the breakfast area has character and the staff were helpful and accomodating with my breakfast needs and I was given a personal service reagrding the cooked breakfast. The staff were able to provide me with information on the local area and they were supportive all the time

Date visited: 2008-03-25

Review by Eileen Voller on 19th November, 2007

Add your review
Arrival was pleasant and the receptionist was polite and efficient, however, the room was cold and we had to turn on the radiators at 6.30pm. We returned from a wedding reception to find the radiators off again - the room was very cold and this made for a bad nights sleep. The morning receptionist was not bothered and even disputed that the heating had been off !! He did not offer any discount...I would NOT stay there again.

Date visited: 17 Nov 07

Review by Paul on 29th September, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: Quirky, quite unlike the standardised quality of chain hotels. The food was surprisingly good. Bad Points: Nothing to dislike. The restrained signage made it difficult to locate in the dark, but it all added to the charm of the place. General review: The accommodation was simple, but perfectly adequate (a five-star shower!). The staff were welcoming and helpful - especially the young Australian on reception and serving, who was outstanding. He was very clear in his explanations of times, when doors were locked etc., which he gave in the pleasantest manner. He was also very helpful when it came to choosing from the menu. I was pleased to be able to get a good meal relatively late. It was altogether excellent - no luxury or frills, but honest service at a reasonable price.

Date visited: 2007-09-29

Review by Victoria, Shepperton on 6th July, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: I liked how clean my room was and the layout. I liked being able to open the window and air my room. The shower was amazing! So hot and powerful! I liked it a lot! I enjoyed my breakfast and the friendly staff. I loved the beams in my room and the wardrobe, quite an old feel to the room, which was lovely. I liked the fact that my room was in a building a fair distance from the street, as a single female traveller it helped me feel very safe. My bed was comfortable and clean, I liked the quirky platform underneath to keep the bed level due the slanty floor! Bad Points: I have no complaints about my accomodation. General Review: I am not sure I knew what time to check out when I booked and stayed in the hotel, and I discovered what time I needed to leave half an hour before I needed to go! I think it might be useful to make check in times and check out times clear to guests. I felt safe, clean and well rested in the hotel, so I am very pleased with my stay. I think most of what I needed to know I had already been told before I arrived. The hotel is amazingly well placed in Bridgwater, literally it is a couple of minutes away from a supermarket, a taxi firm, a hairdressers, the high street and various places to eat and drink. However, as I have already mentioned the rooms are off the street and feel very safe. Also, I really liked the fact that I could close my room door and put the little catch on to prevent it being opened from the other side. It felt safe and private. I did notice the pretty hotel garden from my window, however, I didn't get a chance to spend some time there.

Date visited: 2006-07-06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A fanatic is a man who consciously over compensates a secret doubt. - Aldous Huxley
More Quotes

On this day:
Scilly Naval Disaster 2000 Drown - 1707, First Plastic Surgery in Britain - 1814, Blantyre Mining Disaster - 1877, Crippen convicted at Old Bailey - 1910, George Blake Escapes from Wormwood Scrubs - 1966
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages