Villa Holiday Homes with a pool
National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

November 2014: The Forest of Bowland

Is it sad that so few Britons know the Forest of Bowland, or great for those of us who do? Bowland covers a huge area, ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Kings Arms,

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Tony Pilcher on 4th August, 2008

Add your review
Hi, I've been a regular visitor to HPB - Askrigg for many years and noticed an issue with the general management of the Kings Arms last year (2007). I also notice a couple of "odd" reviews on this site. I've just spoken to someone at the Kings Arms - There is all new management this year - it's all up and running now. We are going there next Saturday 9/8/08. If you read nothing more, accept it is now "all good" Cheers TP

Date visited: 4 August 2008

Review by john dory on 23rd March, 2007

Add your review
Myself and my newly married wife booked a table at the charming little coaching inn, in quaint old Askrigg. Upon arrival we were greated at the bar by a friendly and polite young man who ran me through the vast choice of beers that were on offer. I found this to be of great use in deciding what I should drink. Then he aided my wife in her selection of wine. After a quick chat with the staff at the bar one of their waitresses showed me to a table, where she introduced herself and said that she would look after me for the night.(Myself and my wife found this to be a very pleasant touch). Shortly after sitting we weregiven some bread rolls while we made up our minds on what to eat from the exciting menu in front of us. I went for the Moules Mariniare and my wife the Carppaccio of Venison. When the food arrived we loved the presentation and personally I've never had such a good portion of mussel's, and I've eaten a few. The carppaccio was a real treat as neither of us had eaten venison before. The waitress then bought out what were her reccomendations for the main course. A crab rissotto for myself, and seabass for my wife. As before the presentation and aroma was fantastic. Unfortunately I was unable to get the Chef to divulge the recipe for his rissotto to me but he did allow me to buy him a drink and talk food with him for a while.(a thoroughly pleasant chap we found, who used to live in Cambridge and trained under Marco Pierre White!!) Although quite full we decided to share a sticky toffee pud which was heavenly and worthy of a food award in our eyes. We then waddled through to the bar area to have a coffee and was very suprised to see a liquer coffee section in the menu with house favourites labelled. The favourite was an almond liquer coffee and was the ideal way to finish our meals. I would like to offer many thanks to the friendly staff and look forward to going back and having many more good times in their establishment.

Date visited: 26/01/2007

Review by Kate Smith on 29th January, 2007

Add your review
We ate at the Kings Arms in January having had the eatery recommended to us by a friend. Highly disappointing. We booked to eat two nights in the restaurant, the first night a party of four and the second night a party of eight. We arrived at the Kings Arms and ordered drinks before been shown to our table. Two of our party ordered a Goats Cheese entree, one ordered Belly Pork and one ordered Moules Marinier. The Goats Cheese and Belly Pork were good but the Moules Marinier were more like mussels steeped in milk and onions, a number of the mussels were closed and some were shrivelled up and the minority were edible. For the main courses two ordered Steak Pie, one ordered Lamb Shank and one ordered Haunch of Venison. The Venison was as tough as old boot leather, the Lamb was fantastic but the Steak pie’s allegedly had a short crust pastry topping, I think not !!! It looked more like the chef had cut a circle of pita bread out and stuck it on the top of the pie. No potatoes were served with the main courses only vegetables( tiny portions served in ramekin dishes), the first carrot picked out of the vegetable portion had a 20cm hair attached to it, luckily all the remaining vegetables were so raw we could not pierce them with a fork, so we left them. We questioned if the Steak Pie topping was short crust and the waitress said she would go and check, she returned to confirm the pastry was short crust, with a simple, “Yes”. One would have thought the alarm bells would have started ringing in the kitchen by this point. I fear not. When asked if we had enjoyed our meal we said ‘No’ and went onto describe the reasons why…… We said we were really disappointed with the food we had been served and asked to speak with the Manager. We moved away from the restaurant so that we would not disturb others eating at the time and moved to a quiet area of the pub to discuss our queries with the Manager. The Manager approached us more like a rugby player settling down to a scrum, than a concern manager worrying about the reputation of the restraint, needless to say he was not at all receptive to our views and brought both the short crust pastry and the chef to meet us, the chef seemed to have dirt behind/underneath his nails this is not what you expect from someone who was “allegedly” trained by Gordon Ramsey and the chap who trained Gordon Ramsey. The chef’s pastry although wrapped in cling film when shown to us was dry as if it had been left uncovered in a warm room for some time. The top and bottom of this experience is that we: A) We were asked not to return on the second night after voicing our views on the meal. B) We did not pay for our meals C) We were not asked to give the Kings Arms a second chance the following night to prove us wrong.

Date visited: 26/01/07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Make yourself an honest man, and then you may be sure there is one less rascal in the world - Thomas Carlyle
More Quotes

On this day:
Great Storm Kills 10,000 - 1703, HMS Bulwark Explodes in Medway - 1914, Brinks Mat Robbery - 1983
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles