Prince

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Prince Leopold Inn, Upton Lovell

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by m Jackson on 7th December, 2013

Add your review
food on the expensive side, and drinks not cheap

Date visited: 26/10/2013

Review by zoe frais on 8th October, 2010

Add your review
What a fantastic transformation to the Prince Leopold. The bar is modern and welcoming and the food is truly scrumptious. Our bedroom beautifully decorated and most comfortable. We will definitely be coming back to stay. Take our advice and try this wonderful country Inn. You will not be disappointed.

Date visited: 14/19 September

Review by Jayne Duff on 9th September, 2010

Add your review
The Prince Leopold Inn was purchased in June 2010 by villagers and has recently been completely refurbished to offer some of the best food, drink and accommodation in the Wylye Valley. The change is unbelievable. See the website www.princeleopold.co.uk for photographs of this freshly refurbished and amazing riverside inn. John, Jayne and the team look forward to welcoming you.

Date visited: 09 September 2010

Review by P. Weaver on 27th April, 2010

Add your review
The pub itself looks lovely, in a beautiful location with a lovely garden (minus the cheap tacky furniture). The owners seemed very cold and hard to connect with, didnt seem to like customers at all really and every time we or any other customer spoke to them, recieved a look that immediatley made you feel like you had done somthing wrong or inturupted an important conversation. Food was mediocre at best, very overpriced. Shame because the pub itself is lovely, here's waiting for new owners!

Date visited: 17/4/10

Review by Mrs Pauline Hambly on 12th March, 2010

Add your review
Yesterday was our youngest sons 23rd birthday and as we had visited The Prince Leopold about a year ago and enjoyed that visit, we decided to book a table there last night to celebrate Marks Birthday. What we did not realise was that the pub had been taken over by new owners. I booked the table for our Family of 7 a week ago. On arrival we were greeted by "how can we help you" I explained we had a table booked for 7 people for 7.30am and was greeted by a blank look and the query "really?" It had obviously been forgotten that we were coming.This should have been an early warning to go elsewhere, stupidly we chose to give them the benefit of the doubt. We were eventually shown to our table at 8.30pm and served with barely edible starters Expecting our mains to be prepared while we were eating starters, we were surprised to be approached as we were finishing starters to be asked how we would like our steaks. 2 of us were having steaks, 2 of us ordered Tikka Masala, 2 orderd Salmon.Incidentally we asked for Steaks Medium. After another Hour at 9.30pm, our food started to arrive, Tikka Masala curry was not Tikka Masala but Balti !! Despite pointing out to waitress who incidentally told us she is not normally a waitress but is the houskeeper and usually makes the beds!! we were told it definitely was a tikka masala. Tasted like Balti but a very bad balti ! not enjoyable at all. Steak was overcooked - a very dry rubbery well done, chips quantity 6 were burnt, black round the edges and mushrooms covered in some sort of garlic paste, All swimming in grease!! Yuk!! Salmon on a bed of mashed potato was undercooked in places and raw in other places. No other vegetables accompanied it. As it was our sons birthday meal and we didn't want to spoil his birthday by making a fuss and it was also 9.30pm and lets face it, if we had walked out we probably wouldn't have found anywhere else open and we were hungry, we decided to put up with it, hoping it would taste better than it looked. Unfortunately not the case and we got half way through, felt sick and left the rest. On paying the chef asked " was food ok? " We told him politely that we did not enjoy any of it and explained very calmly exactly why. He said that Curry was definitely Tikka Masala and produced order ticket filled out by waitress/housekeeper which clearly said 3 x Balti !! He said salmon was meant to have hard bits in it, our son pointed out they were hard because they were raw!! After more discussion he agreed to reduce bill slightly. Meal still cost us £88 which was still too much considering it was mostly unedible. We went out to our cars at which point our son realised he had left his presents in restuarant. He popped back in and the chef and staff were discussing us very rudely. They said we were the sort of people who were never satisfied and were more suited to MacDonalds. Our Son quite rightly was incensed by this and told them that we regularly go out for meals - always spend over £100 and are usually easily pleased. We also usually leave a generous tip. We appreciate good food and the cost is never an issue.We have never encountered such rudeness before. Mrs Pauline Hambly

Date visited: 11 March 2010

Review by G Evans on 14th November, 2009

Add your review
I stayed here whilst attending a course in Warminster. The new owners are working very hard to esablish a good reputation after the tarnished one left by previous owners. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The food excellent, well prepared and presented, the T-bone steak I had one evening was superb. As was the curry I had on another occasion.The current owners and staff were friendly, courteous and efficient,nothing was too much trouble.(Even when I asked to borrow some sellotape, it was quickly provided.I plan to visit again with my partner in the new year. If you had a bad experience with the previous owners,visit again and give the new folks a chance and you will not be disapointed.

Date visited: 09-13 november 2009

Review by Dorothy Steenken on 21st September, 2009

Add your review
I was on a tour of UK with my American Grandson and his Father and came upon the Prince Leopold by chance. First impressions were not too good as a note on the door asked us to phone for service. When we finally got into the Inn we were shown our rooms which were clean and adequately furnished. Once downstairs however the dining room and the outside views were great. We learned that the Inn had been taken over in the last 12 months and the previous chef and bar manager had been replaced by the present owners. The food was excellent and presentation good. We were blessed by fabulous weather and the evening was perfect. The host and staff were welcoming and I would certainly visit again as I am sure that the place will only continue to improve.

Date visited: June 2009

Review by Ben L on 21st September, 2009

Add your review
From a previous visit a year ago we were (me, wife, sister, mother and auntie) really looked forward to a return visit to this tranquil place perfectly positioned on the river. We arrived and were greeted by very friendly staff. We ordered our starters and while the re-heated prawns with a chilli dip were passable, from this point onwards the evening became a joke! The mains were served at different times and the steaks (2 x £20 fillet steaks) were very overcooked and my sirloin (they had run out of fillet) was so overcooked I could not cut it! My auntieís burger was raw in the middle and overcooked on the outside, the final insult was my motherís fish which arrived 10 minutes later was raw!! The poor waitress was embarrassed and offered replacements which were taken up by myself and my sister. My sirloin came out this time so raw I felt I had to kill it again, and my sisters goats cheese tart was a piece of cold cheese on a raw pastry base which she took back into the kitchen to show the chef. We left to go to bed and were asked what time we would be down in the morning for breakfast, to which we replied 8am. We all went to bed hungry and disappointed, and when entering our rooms found that there was an infestation of spiders, 7 in my sisterís room and 6 in ours. We woke and arrived in the breakfast area at 7:55 to find all the lights still off and no sign of any staff! We duly waited for another 15 minutes and eventually at 8:30 went to the kitchen to raid the fridge for some milk. The chef/owner turned up and was surprised and said no one had told him. We later found out that this place has been recently purchased by new owners and if you like good food and accommodation you will stay away from this place until new owner are found! A great shame.

Date visited: 31st of August

Review by Lucy Knight on 26th May, 2009

Add your review
I went to this pub with my boyfriend for a Saturday afternoon meal.. We both had steak which was to die for! Gorgeous afternoon in the garden next to the river - very plesant! Staff were very friendly and I asked about the rooms and had a look around for future reference.. very nice and cheap too! Lovely all round 5 stars!

Date visited: May 2009

Review by Austin on 26th August, 2008

Add your review
The only two good things about this pub, position by river,(Ishall not comment on the plastic chairs,old dirty}.The beer my husband thinks was good.Food - ,1 florrete caulflower,3sml potato,dessert spoon carrot PEELINGS cold, PEELINGS done at begining of week,bad luck I was there at end,I was starving but could.nt eat it. The staff falsely over zealous and annoying, butting in messing with table,asking if we were OK,NO WE WERE NOT OK.said they had been so busy no steak left, we were the 3rd table occuplied at the time, maybe they should have gone to morrisons to get some fresh food, we would go again if they had, Its time we stoodup and said NO its not good enough, instead of saying ,well we will not go there again. CONCLUSION DRIVE ON BY

Date visited: 25th August 2008

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
When love and skill work together, expect a masterpiece. - John Ruskin
More Quotes

On this day:
Coronation of King George I - 1714, First Edition of Sunday Times - 1822, Battle of Navarino - 1827, Big Ben Winched into Place - 1858
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages