It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Lansdowne Arms, Calne

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Andrew Cheetham on 29th August, 2011

Add your review
Words fail me this had to be the worst meal I have had in a pub in recent times. Main dish came with Jenga chips or stacked up like a game of Jenga, would of been better spent on cooking the food better. Dogs are not as welcome now as they used to be no more dog biscuits,dogs can only sit in certain areas Business card draw in the dog biscuit barrel no mention of what you win decor is really tired and the prices are really expensive. Good pensioner price meals though ideal if your of a certain age with a small appetite. Beer is good but very pricey about 30p a pint extra for the same pint elsewhere for the pint I drank. No quiz on Sundays anymore either

Date visited: 21/08/2011

Review by Miles Whitmore on 27th January, 2011

Add your review
I have eaten at this pub some months ago and was served a bottomless meat pie of some description with no potatoes. A polite request for some potatoes was met with 'yes you may have some potatoes'. They never arrived despite me reminding the staff. In fact they seemed to be 'humouring the wierd guy who wanted potatoes' or that was the impression I got. Anyway, While I would rather have avoided the pub I accompanied friends and colleagues. The '7 for 7' special offer on ham, duck egg and chips brought a large plate with somewhat diminished contents which amounted to sandwich filling without the bread! others in the party who arrived shortly after the cutoff time of 7pm ordered the same and recieved much bigger portions so the '7 for 7' is basically a rip off. The service is cold and hostile, the log fire was 'bricked up with unlit logs' the stoves were unlit too despite it being decidedly winter outside. The beer was expensive but good. Dessert was ok but a small portion and a fairly limited choice. A friend ordered espresso which took about 15 minutes to arrive. The table service is really poor with uncleared dishes and unprofessional staff. AVOID THIS PUB and go to the Lyseley arms close by! I won't darken these doors again.

Date visited: 26 January 2011

Review by john craig on 20th October, 2010

Add your review
Bar maid was so rude we left before ordering food, such a shame.

Date visited: 12.9.10

Review by Lara March on 13th September, 2010

Add your review
We really like this pub, and thought we'd try it for Sunday Lunch. We got there at 2pm (not that late considering they were serving food all day), and found that they had already run out several starters and mains, including Roast Beef and Roast Pork. The meals we had were really nice (I had a perfectly cooked Rump Steak), however they were second choice as we had really wanted a Roast. We then ordered desserts, and found that they had run out of these as well! We settled for an expresso and black coffee instead, and found no difference between the two coffees, apart from the size of the cup. All in all a disapointing Sunday Lunch experience.

Date visited: 12.09.10

Review by Joyce James on 23rd February, 2010

Add your review
James put on a Buffet for our Family after a family Funeral. He opened the pub especially for us, had on a very welcoming fire, suggested a Memory Table to display photos etc of the deceased. The food was absolutely excellent . A huge amount of food , of excellent taste and the quality was superb. The variety was a vision to behold, and after there was fresh fruit.including melon and strawberries. James and his Staff were so friendly and very helpful. We shall be visiting again, just to sample their hospitality . Well done James.

Date visited: 22/02/2010

Review by Jane Schmidt on 9th August, 2008

Add your review
This pub has changed so much, cleaner, friendlier and the food is fantastic. The new young chef has turned this place around and we will go back much more often than we ever did.

Date visited: 4.8.08

Review by Jennifer on 1st August, 2008

Add your review
Visited here for Sunday lunch and it was amazing, best I've had in ages. Highly recommend this pub to all. Can't understand the earlier comment, why would you complain about a pub being busy in the first week of the holidays when it was hot? Surely that's an achievement at this current time anyway.

Date visited: 27/07/08

Review by Steven berkshire on 31st July, 2008

Add your review
Well what can i say the food was superb..the views were amazing and the staff were very friendly.. The young chap behind the bar was very helpful and let us know which he thought was the best meal to have and right he was.. The belly pork was heavenly and my wifes chicken breast was delicious and well presented with sun blushed tomatoes.. we will both return in the near future to experience another wonderful dish

Date visited: 25th July 2008

Review by john on 24th July, 2008

Add your review
Three of us arrived hungry and were looking forward to a good evening meal and a couple of drinks. Food was un-inspiring, unloved and the service was slow. To be fair, the same people that were waiting on tables, were also working behind the bar and the bar was busy...not an ideal combination. We waited to long for sweet menu and once we got it, we waited another 20 minutes and still no one came to take the rest of our order. In the end we paid the bill and left hungry. The menu was good on paper, but the meals were dissapointing and were akin to those found in dodgy seaside cafes the world over. Outside it is nice because the views are excellent. I suspect this pub's location is what carries it through, because it aint the food, well it wasn't for us anyway, but then we may just have been unlucky. The beer was OK though...overall a poor 4/10

Date visited: 24/07/08

Review by Derek Harding on 5th September, 2007

Add your review
Home made beefburger & chips at lunch time- delicious. Attentive staff, lovely quiet garden with many trees. Must try evening meal. Highly recommended.

Date visited: 5/9/07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
O, what a tangled web we weave when first we practise to deceive! - Walter Scott
More Quotes

On this day:
Worlds Oldest Football Club Founded - 1857, Wall Street Crash - 1929, Formation of UN - 1945, Last Commercial Concorde Flight - 2003
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages