Plough

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Plough Inn, Coldharbour

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Kien Pham on 12th September, 2009

Add your review
Nice pub, great location, friendly staff but food was over-priced and not great quality. We went there for other (nostalgic) reasons as we grew up in the area ... but they're really missing a trick - with such a great location they could do really tasty,authentic food - and this is disappointing; unadventurous menu and overpriced.

Date visited: Aug 2009

Review by G Bryant on 11th April, 2009

Add your review
Our local tennis club organised a wonderful outing from Holmewood Station, stopping at the Plough Inn around midday, before carrying on. Up to now and in spite of the poor weather conditions we had all enjoyed ourselves. About 40 of us turned up and bought drinks, but a few (including me) wanted to eat their own food and were forbidden to do so by the landlady. I had tried to ask permission, but failed as both ladies were busy serving and I couldn't get eye contact with them. Some of us retrieved outside, taking shelter by the stack of logs to eat their lunch standing up, but were also reprimanded for doing so! We certainly did not feel like ordering more (excellent) drinks, and bearing in mind it was raining and our party covered a very mixed age range, we felt the landlady rather lacked compassion on what was after all a rather miserable Good Friday.

Date visited: 10 April 2009

Review by Ed on 25th February, 2009

Add your review
Hello everyone, I am the Landlord and Landlady's son, and having read the last review I am quite taken aback. We have had a slurry of these reviews, and we know for a fact that at least some of them are from banned locals (not that there are that many). We are a local family having lived in the Surrey Hills for 5 generations, and we take great pride in the management of our Pub. We brew 2 of our own real ales, plus we have 2-3 other real ales on tap and a scumpy cider. Our food, please believe me is never cold, and actually we are known from afar for serving excellent homemade food. Yes we are quiet in the week....which country Pub isn't right now? The poster before me must be doing well for himself. Also, and I emphasise this point very strongly, we have never added a £10 charge for breakfast. Breakfast is always included in the price of the room. It is this point that makes me suspect that the previous poster is one of our banned locals. My Mother Anna, the landlady, used to be a nurse, and then a matron, and was voted nurse of the year 1966. So you can rest assured that the pub is shipshape, please take a look at our website...www.ploughinn.com....there you will find pictures of the rooms and the pub, and any B and B guests who feel that the rooms do not look as clean, tidy and attractive as the picture suggest, I will buy you a pint! Anyone who is reads the previous review, and may be put off, please give us a try, I may be biased, but it's my favourite pub, the locals love it, there's always a roaring log fire when it's cold, the beer (brewed by my father) is exceptionally well kept, and the food, im my humble opinion, is great homecooked food. Thanks for taking the time to read this. Edward

Date visited: .......

Review by Brent on 16th November, 2008

Add your review
Seeing as the Plough Inn was listed as a Pick of Pub in the AA pub guide we decided to stay a night there. It was a big mistake. The place was dirty and the staff were incredibly rude. We agreed a price of £60 for the smallest room and a time for breakfast. Upon close inspection the bathroom was not clean and the decor is quite outdated. We ate dinner there and the food was very poor quality for the price of the meal. For example the Bangers and Mash came out with shrivelled overcooked sausages and the mash was cold yet it cost £10.95. There was no one else eating there which should have told us something. We arrived at the agreed time for breakfast but no one showed up for half an hour. When someone eventually showed up they bluntly said that we weren’t getting a cooked breakfast because we were given the wrong price for the room but if we did want breakfast it would cost £10 each! This is unbelievably poor customer relations – if they quoted us the wrong price then they should eat the cost of their mistake especially considering we ate and drank there the previous evening. Evidently the room was supposed to be £90 which is insane considering the dated appearance and lack of cleanliness. We would not recommend this pub to anyone and we will no longer trust the AA pub guides.

Date visited: 18 Sep 2008

Review by Kevin Crockford on 13th September, 2007

Add your review
A pub in a rather interesting area and perhaps the fact that it is the only pub for quite some distance has made them complacent. We were a party of 7 who had booked for 12.30, and were very disappointed when the food did not arrive until 2.30. When it finally arrived the food was very poor quality, roast beef that had obviously been sitting in the kitchen for quite a while and had dryed with far too much gravy (presumably to cover up the beef) and the grilled fish burnt beyond recognition. Polite complaints made to the staff were received with a very poor attitude and no apologies were given.

Date visited: 22nd July 2007

Review by SB on 2nd April, 2007

Add your review
The pub will be greatly improved when the smoking ban comes in. The pub atmosphere is very basic (unpolished wooden floor) but has a certain character. Claims to have been established in 1643 and nothing makes you doubt it. Restaurant has atmosphere; open log fire; lit largely by many candles. Carpet in restaurant area in dire need of replacement or cleaning. Could not fault the food, if a little unexciting. Accommodation is well equipped, clean and comfortable. Staff friendly, efficient, and always on hand, but their English is not great, so you have to repeat everything slowly. One word of advice: don't be fooled by their website: it leads you to expect something quite different! Glad we stayed there; not sure we'll stay again.

Date visited: 31 March 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A poet is a professional maker of verbal objects. - W H Auden
More Quotes

On this day:
Irish Catholic Uprising - 1641, Battle of Trafalgar - 1805, First Women Peers Enter Lords - 1958, 1st British Nuclear Powered Sub launched - 1960, The Aberfan Disaster - 1966
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages