It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Four Horseshoes, Thornham Magna

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Martin Andrews on 29th December, 2011

Add your review
We dined here the week after Xmas, and travelled an hour to get there. What was once an excellent establishment is now crewed by young, rude staff. We were not even told the restaurant was closing (2.30pm) and were left awaiting a waitress for a dessert order, which of course disappeared into the black hole of lerthargic apathy. The kitchen staff then appeared in 'panda trousering' to demonstrate this apathy and we beat a hasy retreat. I felt ashamed of having suggested the place. These people desrve the recession ...

Date visited: 28/12/2011

Review by Simon Eastmead on 18th April, 2011

Add your review
Stayed during a busy weekend. From our initial arrival to departure the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The quality of the food was excellent, perfectly cooked and plenty of it. Great value. The only downside was the extremely firm mattress but was only a minor thing.

Date visited: April 2011

Review by An Enthusiastic Pub Goer on 18th June, 2010

Add your review
Visit Thursday 17th June 2010. Depressing. I used to go to this pub regularly from school as well as in the summer for a pint. I was greatly disappointed with the food having taken my wife back here in June 2010. The bar area is nicely decorated and welcoming, beer is as you would expect with a few guest ales. Unfortunately I was driving and primarily looking for some good food. Having baulked slightly at the 3.95 asked for a bottle ( small ) of Magners for my wife I ordered the game terrine (5.99) and gammon steak with egg and chips (11.99). She was having Chicken Dippers (4.99) and Lasangne with chips and garlic bread ( about 9.99 - can't recall exactly. ). Now considering this is the depths of Suffolk none of this is exactly cheap - but could well be justified if it is good quality and at least some of it home made / cooked. The good first - her garlic bread was a clever adaptation of some cheap ciabbata which was satisfying but not pungent, the gammon steak was massive. The bad, well firstly unfortunately we had an incredibly surly waitress, who brought no cutlery for the starter and then ,shortly after being gently rebuffed after trying to remove my half full plate of food, declared "finished now are you?" before clattering our plates away noisily. Blunt refusal was the response to a request for a drink. No task was too small or perfunctory for this girl who should have been at the herb factory or somerfield for the holidays instead. The menu declared all desserts to be sold out, but we weren't offered them anyway, nor coffee. The lasagne was dry and tasteless, the chips were oven ( surely no excuse for this ) the terrine bland and milky - its accompanying beetroot relish was truthfully, just beetroot. It was warm, but it was all very greasy and after the 50 bill was parted with the feeling was of money and time wasted, and a squandered precious lunch opportunity. My opinion - leave this one for the octogenarians on their organised lunches ( of which there were plently ) and head down the road to the Elsewhere Arm's.

Date visited: 18/06/2010

Review by Harrison Family on 21st December, 2009

Add your review
Having just moved to the area my family lunched at this beautiful pub on a Saturday. Quite simple the best food we have ever had- delicious, piping hot, fresh vegetables cooked to perfection - in fact all the courses would put so-called London 'top chefs' to shame. Wholeheartedly recommend the 4 Horseshoes (and believe me one member of my family is VERY picky!)-great atmosphere, excellent & friendly service, spotlessly clean, very welcoming - 10/10 for the food, Wensleydale cheese & cranberry souffle is to die for.Well worth moving to Suffolk for!

Date visited: 12th December 2009

Review by Nick Manser on 7th September, 2009

Add your review
My family visited this pub, and we have to say that the welcome and the quality of the food was really good. We literally stumbled on the Four Horseshoes, and the overall quality was so good we felt compelled to write. I'm sure that we will return the next time that we are in the Diss area - to the management and staff, thanks and keep up the good work.

Date visited: 5th September 2009

Review by Paul & Trish Strange on 20th March, 2009

Add your review
We have visited the Four Hourseshoes on quite a few occasions in the last three years and have never had a bad meal, we have had weekday and Sunday lunches. Our last visit was on Monday 16 March 2009 and our meals were superb, the service was excellant. We would give it 10 out of 10. (We are not easily pleased!) We're looking forward to a return visit soon. Paul & Trish Strange

Date visited: 16 March 2009

Review by Don Brinkley on 29th December, 2008

Add your review
A nice old world setting but the food was average. The starter was good as was the pudding in fact one of the best Christmas puddings that I have had for a number of years. As to the main turkey course, plenty in quantity if not in quality. The main thing I know these days is that vegetables are supposed to be crunchy, but these were nearly raw. The sprouts you could not cut at all, the broccoli very much the same and most of the party of 6 left these items for the same reason.The service was reasonable but could have been more attentive and gave you no chance to comment or complain. Because of the number of dinners I did feel it was rether like Butlins but with old world charm.

Date visited: 25th December 2008

Review by Alan Ferguson on 27th January, 2008

Add your review
Great ambiance, good beer & wines but oh how disappointing the food. Went here 4 times in 2007, always the same result - disappointing food with something wrong every time. Examples: Food clearly taken from the freezer served cold. Sent back - still cold Pate served with 1 small slice of white bread Should have been brown toast. Returned and represented with little change by a grumpy faced young woman with no manner or apologies. Shame as all the faults are easily fixed. Please fix them. Attention to detail is all that's needed.

Date visited: Dec -07

Review by n&s bambrick on 16th June, 2007

Add your review
very interesting lovely old inn,good staff,good service. n&s australia.

Date visited: 12/05/2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Who's ever going to write a film in which I get the girl? Me! - John Cleese
More Quotes

On this day:
Archbishop of Canterbury Martyred by Vikings - 1012, Drake Attacks Cadiz - 1587, Cook reaches Australia - 1770, Waco Siege Ends - 1993
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages